We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Absolutely amazing relaxing getaway!”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Old Phil's Barn

Old phils barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old phils barn
View from barn Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
13 reviews
Old phils barn
View from barn
Living area
kitchen of open plan kitchen sitting area
bedroom 1
bedroom 1 with en suite
bedroom 2 with en suite
kitchen
1st floor kitchen and living area with patio attachwd
Local view
Ballyliffin golf club
phils barn
view from barn
Nick Faldo playing at ballyliffin
Interior from patio
Front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Clonmany, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
karen9515
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely amazing relaxing getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Just home from staying here for a long weekend! Perfect location, beautiful drives and walks every direction. Barn itself is faultless! Had the most relaxing stay. Electric blankets in bed, brand new showers, dishwasher, washing machine, sounds really modern right?? This cute little barn has been decrotared to barn perfection with little vintage antiques everywhere, great homely irish feel. No internet for a full weekend was bliss!
Will definitely be back!
Thank u ann for a lovely weekend! Karen.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison L
Malta, Europe
1 review
“A wee gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

An amazing holiday in this comfortable, cosy barn enjoying fresh breathtaking views of the country and the sea.. First time in Ireland, just beautiful ! Ann, the owner, welcomed us very warmly and everything was prepared on our arrival. The barn is very well maintained and we had everything we needed.
We are missing the peaceful scenic views we used to wake up to every morning. The village people so helpful and friendly. Thank you Ann & all the people at Clonmany / Dunaff community! A holiday to remember!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appledump...
belfast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back to Old Phil's Barn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We have just returned from a week at Old Phil's Barn, and we had the most relaxing time ever. The cottage is absolutely beautiful, as are the views. Cottage amenities are second to none and the rental price was very reasonable. We felt at home immediately and Ann the owner was so lovely and friendly; we really appreciated the welcome pack of food too; a really thoughtful touch. We had our Boxer dog with us for his first holiday, and he loved it too. I'm usually a 'have to do stuff' holiday person, but I finally got the point of total relaxation! Already planning our next visit.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location, quality of accommodation, pet friendly
Liked least: WiFi would be good to check out things to do in local area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel G
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I really couldn't recommend highly Old Phil's Barn highly enough and I'm actually worried about too many people finding out about it! The most beautiful, peaceful spot, we walked to Tullagh Bay every day and sat on the decking most evenings too. I really can't do justice to the scenery and the barn itself is perfectly equipped, Ann and Gerard really have thought of everything. Spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated we felt so at home here and are dying to get back soon. I'd really recommend Tullagh Bay Equestrian Centre too if that's your thing, we had a gorgeous ride along the beach. Thanks for a lovely stay!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyW195...
Nottinghamshire England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful in Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Have just returned from a wonderful week in this lovely cottage, it was everything and more than we expected. Brilliant accommodation in a lovely remote and beautiful setting. The cottage is furnished with everything you need to make your stay superb and the views are stupendous.
We took our dog with us and she loved her holiday here.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeeGee43
County Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“If U like luxury but in an area unspoiled by commercialism - this is the place for U!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My Partner and I shared a week at Old Phil's Barn with another couple. The place was exactly as the pics in the advert - even better, as pics cannot capture the wild beauty of the area around Dunaff Head. Two en-suite bedrooms downstairs, kitchen and sitting area upstairs with double doors leading to a balcony. Kitchen is v well equipped, even has a separate freezer while sitting area has views across Lough Swilly to the Knockalla Mounains. Very comfortable, thanks to both OFCH and a wood pellet fired stove. There is a small shop within one km and villages of Clonmany, Ballyliffin are nearby while the small town of Carndonagh is only abt 12km away. We enjoyed meals prepared from local produce - great meat from a butcher in Malin and fresh fish and crustaceans from a local fish merchant. We will be back!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Old Phil's Barn lived up to our expectations.
Liked least: Nothing really.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eléonore...
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing