We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Country House Accommodation”
Review of The Glen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Glen House
Ranked #1 of 2 Clonmany B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bearley, Stratford on Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Country House Accommodation”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

From the moment we arrived, the proprietor Sonia could not have been more welcoming or helpful. The room was lovely and bright and the breakfast was delicious. The surrounding countryside is absolutely stunning. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Owner at The Glen House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you Pauline for your lovely review. I was delighted to host you and your family while you visited the Inishowen Peninsula. We are so lucky to be situated in such a beautiful part of Ireland and I'm so glad that you enjoyed the surroundings here at The Glen House. I hope I have the pleasure of having you stay again in the future.

Many thanks Sonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
50
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have stayed at the Glen House three times in the past year and each time has been a wonderful experience. Sonia is such a warm and welcoming hostess who is so accommodating and friendly. It is such a special place with beautiful rooms and wonderful food and breathtaking surroundings.

Room Tip: The front rooms are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen H, Owner at The Glen House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Roseanna d it is always my pleasure to have you and your family stay with me here at The Glen House. I am so glad that you liked the place enough to spend you 3 visits here with me. Thank you so much for taking the time to sit and write your review and I hope its not too long before you and the family return for a 4th visit !!

Yours kindly
Sonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We found that we were made very welcome by Sonia and enjoyed our stay, the breakfast was first class and will most certainly be making further bookings. Plenty to do close by, walking in the mountains or strolling on the many beaches that are only a few minutes away. Its a must !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A true guest house, wonderful welcome, spacious room, superb decoration. Great location between stunning hills, and a pristine beach. Sonia, on top of providing lots of information on what to see and do, also has the excellent idea to run a tea-rom and the food is just perfect. If you go to Donegal and the Urris montains and don't stay at Glen House, you truly miss something ! We cannot wait to be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Partner and I called here when out for a drive on a lovely sunny afternoon in September. I had been past the Glen House in the past, but had never stopped. This time I did, as we wanted to sample the tea room and have a "nosey" around. It was rather hot in the glass walled tearoom so we went into the house itself. Magnificently refurbished from the old house I had seen years previously! She had Victoria sponge, I had Carrot cake, both served with ice cream and real cream. Cakes were home-made, delicious! Total bill 10 Euros - good value for the experience! Afterwards we asked to see the rooms for future reference. They were really beautifully furnished in the rather period style that we love. The place was spotlessly clean, the loos had Molton Brown toiletries, proper towels. We look forward to spending a weekend there some time. Beautiful!

Room Tip: Best rooms cost a little more but have great views to front of house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeGee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were very pleased with this accommodation during our weekend trip through County Donegal. Our upstairs room was very large, with large, comfortable bed to match, and a peering view of the Atlantic Ocean in the horizon. It was clean and spotless throughout.

Yes, a delicious breakfast is served thus "B&B", but this is a better guest house -- proprietor Sonia does make you feel as though you are a guest in her house, home even. Her charming manner reflects her obvious love of running this excellent guest house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrulster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arrived on a very hot day and our host Sonia made us very welcome with drinks on the patio. The Glen house is more like a small hotel than a B&B with it's own bar and restaurant.
The rooms were spacious and well maintained with all amenities provided.
Sonia told us about all the local sights including a nice waterfall only a short walk away.
After a long drive we chose to eat in the hotel and were delighted with the delicious home cooked food, the breakfast was just as nice and there was plenty of choice.
Our only gripe was that there was no wifi reception in the room but we were able to pick it up in the lounge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmany
1.8 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
1.8 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen House

Property: The Glen House
Address: Straid, Clonmany, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Clonmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clonmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the valley between Rachtion Mor and the Atlantic ocean on the Inishowen Peninsula the Glen house has something for everyone. It is a perfect location for lovers of history, hill walking, bird watching or just exploring the fantastic countryside and beaches on offer. We are within a 5 minutes driving distance from the renowned Ballyliffin championship golf club. We are a family run guest house with 9 en-suite bedrooms. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, TV, direct dial telephone, and hair dyers. The rooms offer beautiful views of the surrounding countryside and our two executive rooms have ocean views, with room 1 even getting a glimpse of Malin Head! Rose Tearoom at the Glen house offers guests the chance to relax over tea and cream scone while taking in the beautiful local scenery. Glenevin Waterfall, which is entered via a connecting bridge from Glen House is a beautiful forty foot waterfall which has to be your must visit while staying at the Glen House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Glen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing