We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hidden treasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandton Chateau De Raay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandton Chateau De Raay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baarlo
Certificate of Excellence
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a wonderful small vacation we had in this idyllic hidden spot. An original mansion with lots of art and spacious gardens. The restaurant with the sky as roof serves delicious food. Excellent rooms with real fine beds and a landscape view. The touristic information in this area is perfect and there a lots of ways to explore the region of North Limburg. We biked the Maas tour and on a sunny day in autumn you will hardly find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monica-jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    208
    48
    11
    4
See reviews for
55
335
11
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We booked this hotel becasue we wanted to be near the Floriade. We didn't expect much but we were very pleasantly surprised--at the hotel, the service and the restaurant in the hotel. Chateau De Raay is just out side the littel village of Baarlo on a beautifulpiece of property. Some of the hotel rooms are actually in the old chateau. We had a lovely, modern room in the newer section--a good sized room, nice bathroom and comfortable beds. A basic continental breakfast was included in our rate.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. I doubt that we would go back to the Floriade but we wold for sure go back to this hotel and have dinner in their restaurant.

Only issue is that our room was not air conditioned but the windows did open. It was cool when we were there but I can imagine that the room might get warm/stuffy during very hot weather.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The rooms are huge, and so is the toilet. Each room is a little different. There are even a few special rooms such as the "pink room". The dining is under an atrium which makes breakfast great.
The only downside of this hotel is the driveway up to the hotel is quite long, and its paved with cobble stones. Its only wide enough for a single car, so if there is approaching traffic you need to wait until the other car goes by. This makes entry and exit very time consuming. TO get to the hotel you need to pass through a very modern residential area, which adds more time to any excursions.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousGeorge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

the rooms were large and very cozy. unique style, thanks to the age of the building. the only drawback would be that the beds are incredibly soft. some may like this but my sister did not and called it the 'bowl bed' throughout our trip! the building is old, but with modern refurbishment, and thank goodness the bathrooms were very modern also! we had dinner at the hotel restaurant the one night that we spent in baarlo (venlo for FLORIADE 2012) and thoroughly enjoyed the set dinner. good free WiFi connection. very picturesque grounds with outdoor garden and conservatory, perfect for the summer. a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: some of the rooms are near the hotel housekeeping's service area which didnt cause us any proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed here for two nights, according their web site the rooms, we had de suite, have te comfort for noe a days. For me it was a long time ago i saw a mobile ventilator unit insteed of airco. But the staff is verry friendly and the place is clean. Don't try the kitchen if you don't have to. My advice, there are much better castle hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenglober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We visited the nearby Floriade and were recommended the Sandton by a Dutch work colleague, I'll seek their advice again, because this was a great find. We booked a Floriade D,B&B package with a basic room, but on arrival we were given a room upgrade, result! If you like fine dining, good food, but with no pretentiousness, then the De Raay serves it up in fine style. Excellent service, given with a smile and very good English by all. Lovely room with a massive bathroom and double bath, but no where to hang towels, minor point though. 'Public' areas are spacious and comfortable, while it's great to stroll round the lovely gardens and visit the on site Art Gallery. We'd recommend the De Raay to you with no hesitation and would stay again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LancasterHopwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nexoe, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had this hotel by chance, because the other hotel was overbooked. So we came in the dark night and didn't know what to expect. Is was a very good surprise with this nicely renovated chateau and when we got one of the art rooms we were even more pleasantly surprised. We didn't expect such a rich decoration in a classical building. Even the toilet was filled with art.
The beds were big and very soft - in a good way - no back problems, it was just like floating on air. The best beds I ever tried. (But maybe I was just very, very tired)

Room Tip: The art room is inspiring and funny but if you should live in these overwhelming colors a long time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baarlo
21.4 mi away
Carlton De Brug Hotel
4.3 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Bovenste Molen
2.4 mi away
Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Het Arresthuis
Het Arresthuis
#1 of 7 in Roermond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
10.1 mi away
Van der Valk Theaterhotel de Oranjerie
9.9 mi away
Hotel Dux
Hotel Dux
#2 of 7 in Roermond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Chateau De Raay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Chateau De Raay

Property: Sandton Chateau De Raay
Address: Raayerveldlaan 6, 5991 EN Baarlo, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Baarlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baarlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Chateau De Raay 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandton Château De Raay is a deluxe castle hotel in Northern Limburg. Where both art and culinary cuisine play a significant role, and authentic features are perfectly complimented by modern design. From the moment you enter the estate, you realise that you will have a great stay, business meeting, or dream wedding! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandton Chateau De Raay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Raay Venlo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing