We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!!”
Review of Grange de la Herde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grange de la Herde
Ranked #1 of 1 Camon B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The accommodation was average, one too many cobwebs and spiders for our liking. Accommodation a little too close to owners property, no privacy. Bookings are made by sending a cheque for a reasonable sum of money as a deposit which is returnable on leaving. Holiday paid for in full on arrival, cash only. As we were leaving early on Saturday morning we spoke to owners regarding arrangements for keys etc on Friday night. There was no mention of returning our cheque. We had to go back with paperwork to ask for the return of cheque. The owner wanted to check accomodation for any damage before returning it. This was fine but we were shocked when he came over and said we would have to clean all the shower cubicle glass before we could have the cheque back. He went off and came back with glass cleaner and cloths. He said our other option was to pay 40 euros for a cleaning service he provided. The accommodation was perfectly clean and we certainly didn't expect to have to polish up a shower cubicle to receive our cheque for £130 back. It was a humiliating experience but we felt we had no choice but to agree as he held all the cards ie our cheque. We had to stand by while he then checked again before he reluctantly handed the cheque over. We felt extremely uncomfortable and couldn't wait to leave. For this reason I wouldn't recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Longers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 22 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2011

We spent four nights with Richard and Catherine in Camon and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Their B&B is charming. It is in a converted farmhouse adjacent to their home, with a comfortable bed, plenty of space, a good shower and enjoyable breakfasts served in the kitchen/dining room downstairs. Richard and Catherine are both teachers and their English is very good (better than our French!). We were interested in touring WW1 battle sites as well as seeing the city of Amiens with its glorious cathedral. Richard was especially helpful in giving us information about places we wished to see and we were pleased that we were able to see all that we had planned as well as the Hortillonages, which were a surprise to us. There is a small shopping centre with a supermarket just 5 minutes walk from the B&B and as well, there are larger shops just 10 minutes drive into Amiens. We dined in the Saint Leu area one night and found this a great experience, with excellent food and the river close by. All in all, this was just what we wanted - it was quiet, private, friendly, convenient and had off street parking. We would thoroughly recommend it to other travellers to this area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jennykain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Grange de la Herde provided our first experience staying at a gîte, a self-catering cottage. We'd do it again assuming all gîtes are nice as this one in Camon, located just 2.6 miles from the heart of Amiens. Catherine and Richard Devisse, who are both math teachers, are marvelous hosts who have really thought out what it takes to accommodate travelers. The lodging is a short distance from the main square. Richard will show you how to key in the pass code that opens the wooden gate leading into the attractive courtyard. You can park here, although we chose the street and always found a parking spot nearby. Bicycles are available to borrow. The door to the gîte leads to the kitchen with large table, dishwasher, refrigerator/freezer, microwave, gas stove and oven, coffee maker, electric tea kettle, and small washing machine. There is no dryer (hint: after the wash cycle is completed, use the "essorage" setting to spin the clothes to a point where they can be placed on drying racks). Beyond the kitchen is the living room with couches (some sleep sofas, we suspect), TV, and a half bath. An open, wooden, spiral staircase leads to the upstairs bedroom with a comfortable bed, table and chair, and dresser, and a good-sized full bathroom with a good shower. We stayed a week, ate all our breakfasts and four dinners at the gîte. There is a grocery store and boulangerie within walking distance, and a big supermarket about 5 minutes away by car. We didn't eat at the restaurant in town, but enjoyed two good meals at Le Quai in the St Leu's quarter in Amiens. Don't miss Amiens' cathedral (during the day and the nighttime illlumination), boat trips on the hortillages, and Jules Verne's house. My husband enjoyed comparing notes with Richard about sites on the WWI battlefields. We brought a insulated fabric lunch pack to carry homemade sandwiches out on our battlefield tours. We drove to the coast one day and enjoyed moules and frites on the Belle Epoque promenade at Mers-les-Bains at Hôtel Bellevue, 24 esplanade du Général Leclerc. It was a much prettier setting than St-Valery-sur-Somme, although we stopped there and Eu because of their connections to William the Conqueror. We were always happy to return to the comfortable gîte.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rhinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Spent 3 nights here. Richard and Catherine made us very welcome with their warm hospitality. The room was excellent - clean and frech with everything we wanted on hand. The breakfasts were filling and generous - locally sourced and home produced. We couldn't fault it.

Camon is on the outskirts of Amiens which is a picturesque city with some good places to eat for a reasonable price. The mix of well-tended allotments, canals and the Somme - Hortillonnages - offer colourful and interesting walks of varying length. There is one restaurant within walking distance of the Grange de la Herde that is open in the evening.

Thoroughly recommended as a place to stay for a quiet break, or as a centre for exploring the Somme region with all its connections to the 1st World War.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wanderobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed two nights at this delightful B&B. Richard is a wonderful host - very knowledgeable about WW1 battlefields in the area. He speaks English and teaches it at the local school. Breakfast was downstairs and was excellent. We stayed in a large room with a very comfortable bed. The bathrroom was large and had a decent shower! From here we toured WW1 battlefields but don't overlook Amiens, there's some lovely scenery in the town. Richard provided us with maps and his recommendations for restaurants too! The cathedral in Amiens is quite beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gazza212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank genevieve v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jojozoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grange de la Herde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange de la Herde

Address: 34 rue Emile Debrie, 80450 Camon, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Camon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Camon
Price Range: $93 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camon is a little town along the floating gardens called "hortillonnages d'Amiens", two miles east of the cathedral of Amiens and near the north by-pass. In the outbuildings of a former farm, you will be welcome in the two lovely B&B. The softness of the whitewashed walls and the warmth of the half-timberings will give you well-being in a sophisticated place.On the ground floor, the room where you can be served copious breakfast looks out onto the flowered paved yard . For your comfort, this room is always at your disposal.You can visit the sites of the WW1 as Villers-Bretonneux and its Australian National Memorial or the circuit of remembrance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grange de la Herde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange De La Herde France/Camon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing