We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Queensland home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lilybank Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Classic Queensland home”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My husband spent 3 nights at the Lilybank. We happened to be in Cairns during an extraordinary heat wave. Our room was on the second floor. We walked through a lovely commons area that was stiflingly hot and into our nice cool bedroom (although the bathroom was not airconditioned). There was an inviting veranda right outside our room, but it was too hot to enjoy except during the early mornings. Linens and housekeeping service were basic. The gardens at Lilybank are lovely and we did enjoy the birdlife each morning. Our hostess, Pat, served us good hot breakfasts each morning and she is very knowledgeable about the tours and sights of Cairns. Pat booked tours for us and they picked us up at our door. We did not have a car but we walked into Stratford each evening for dinner. We did not find anything to our liking except for the deli which had very good Indian takeaway. The deli also serves meals and barista coffee.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parallel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    26
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
76
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

2nd time with Pat and Michael here and just want to throw in my 2-cents! The enjoyment I get from staying at Lilybank B&B extends beyond the friendly , welcoming nature of these rare ( in north Queensland ) innkeepers, but to the history and proximity to my favorite Cairns park.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dpath2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

It's a 'grand old lady', she's been done up to the 21st Century and she retains all her charm and grace, just like Pat and Mike and the fabulous 'help' that were so welcoming to us! If you want pristine and modern and CBD, this is not for you -chooks crowing in the morning, a bright green frog looking like its not real, a St Andrews spider I moved off MY balcony and great brekkie conversations are what's in store. Clean, tidy and a great sleep. Taxi - $22 from the Casino @ midnight.

Room Tip: Upstairs queen bedrooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiRi6144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We stayed at Lilybank for 8 nights. Pat and Mike were wonderful hosts and we couldn't have asked for a better home away from home. Pat always made us feel welcome, allowing us to do our laundry and cooked us wonderful made to order brekkies everyday! The use of the common kitchenette was an added bonus along with our fellow B&B mates! I would highly recommend this B&B - we stayed in the cottage behind the main house. Pat also made all our tour reservations for us and was very knowledgeable surrounding the various tours available in the area.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sactogalinmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2011

I have now stayed at Lilybank 3 times and thoroughly recommend it to those travelers who are "over" the all too familiar look, smell and feel of multi-national commercial accommodation. Lilybank is a beautiful, traditional "Queenslander" - a double story Victorian timber building in large gardens with rainforest pools - one of which you can swim in - and gorgeous verandahs with stunning views of the surrounding rainforest clad hills. The rooms are exquisite - French doors and louver windows, fans and air conditioning, really - really comfortable beds with crisp linen, and very accommodating bathrooms. I have very good sleeps every night because the natural air is circulating and I am just - well - comfortable. Add to this the generosity of Pat, Mike and Jo - the BEST breakfasts including their home-made jams, and not to mention hand-made soaps, an interesting cockatoo, the BEST spaniels, very wise green tree frogs and stunning HUGE stag beetles... And now you get it. If you want excellent conversation around the groaning breakfast table with the most interesting fellow travelers, in the kind and generous company of your hosts, and all in the Garden of Eden - don't miss the opportunity to visit Lilybank. I travel a lot in my work, and I look for something restorative in my accommodation choices - Lilybank works for me every time. But Lilybank is not only for the workers - it is also for those who are hollidaying and want to experience Australia rather than a developer's return on investment.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We stayed in the cottage which was a large, very basic room. Window in bath was broken and did not close so bugs came in. We had to keep the bath door closed all the time so the bath was not covered by the AC and so it was hot. Fodors and other reviews said it was "pristine" but we found it worn and not as attractive as the internet photos which must have been taken years ago. We also felt the inside lounge had seen better days and never went there. Breakfast was not as luscious as pictured either. For our two night stay to just do the Skyrail to Kuranda, we didn't have a car and had been told the bus service was adequate. However, bus service was very limited and we had to tell the bus drivers where the B&B was in the dark. We did not feel comfortable at the bus stop after dark either. Restaurant shown nearby was closed and for sale and no food was available on Monday night. Thank heaven we grabbed a Subway sandwich at the bus stop, just before the 6:30pm bus or we would have had to wait for the 8:30 bus. Without a car, better to stay in town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We very much enjoyed the home cooked breakfasts in the unique atmosphere of their breakfast nook with indoor lily pond! Pat and Mike were hospitable and shared good sightseeing advice when asked. They gave us lots of privacy when we didnt seek them out. We enjoyed the pool and the open space of our rooms on the upper floor which were air conditioned at night. We had kitchen area , Tv area with reference books on Australia's highlights and cd's if we wanted to play music. We had nice clean bathrooms and everything we needed. We stayed three or four nights and were happy throughout.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnB-56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratford
3.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
590 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#17 of 64 in Cairns
341 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
3.8 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
3.9 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilybank Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilybank Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lilybank Bed & Breakfast
Address: 75 Kamerunga Rd, Stratford, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lilybank Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilybank is a 2 storey fine example of traditional 'Queenslander' architecture being 8kms from city centre, 6kms from airport and 1.5kms to Freshwater Railway Station for Kuranda train.We offer a happy blend of hospitality and privacy to our guests.All bedrooms are air conditioned with ceiling fans and bar fridges. There are 2 guest lounges with T.V., 2 kitchenettes, a BBQ area, salt water pool and off street parking.Breakfast cooked daily 6-10am. Stratford shopping village is easy walking distance,700m, with 2 Cafes, Hotel, Post Office, General Store, Pizza & Pasta shop (BYO Alfresco Dining, take away, delivered), Laundromat, Chemist, Doctor, Newsagent, Hairdresser, Butcher and Thai Restaurant.We can help book tours. We have a brochure stand for you to choose what you would like to see and do.We are pet friendly. Our 2 pugs (Puggles & Doggle)live in our cottage at rear of property.Unfortunately we do not cater for children under 16 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lilybank Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilybank Bed & Breakfast Cairns Region, Australia - Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing