We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Chilled out in the Forest

Went with Family for chilled afternoon---slow start for the grandkids but when they got into it... read more

Reviewed August 13, 2019
berniew
,
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Cafe

Arrived at midday on a Saturday in school summer holidays and was amazed that there was hardly... read more

Reviewed August 1, 2019
Amanda W
,
Oxford, England
Read all 295 reviews
  
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveler rating
104
95
55
23
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
104
95
55
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gruffalo trail wood carvings cakes local history adventure playground soup car park all ages hungry caterpillar trail on site story boards young children craft activities tea shop tea room local area bacon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 295 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2019

We stopped here on a wet day, we went into the rather dismal shop and decided no to go into the museum as it was a bit expensive, so we went up to the cafe coffee and cake fine, but we felt we were in the way as there were 2 people taking over most of the place putting up ( well discussing it really) pictures.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank headgirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

A place we've been meaning to visit since we moved to the Forest in 2015 .It was my husband's birthday so we ,plus our son and granddaughters visited .We all find lots of things to interest the various age groups .Of course the children enjoyed the trail and small play area but just as much they loved the Victorian schoolroom and the cottage .My husband and l loved the exhibits of life in the forest, as recently we'd read a history of the Dean and in fact wish to return again soon to further our interest ,without needing to . move on .We had a lovely day Highly recommended for all ages.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank deardarth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019

Had a great morning wandering around the exhibits which were interesting and engaging for all ages. We then had an excellent salad in the lovely relaxing cafe. The staff were so friendly, accommodating and welcoming. Would highly recommend this very enjoyable venue tucked away in the Forest.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Rubicon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneC3705, Manager at Dean Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2019

Thank you very much for your kind review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Our aim is for the Centre to appeal to visitors of all ages so it is very pleasing to hear your family all found it interesting and engaging. I will pass on your kind comments to the café staff too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019

During a holiday in the Forest of Dean area we visited with 3 generations and everyone found something of interest and enjoyed the Centre. Staff all pleasant and helpful, and everything well laid out. Yes, there are areas that could be improved, but they have done wonders with what they have, and I hope that they are successful in gaining more support and grants to make a good venue one that is outstanding. We would certainly re-visit if we are back in the area.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 542ChrisT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneC3705, Manager at Dean Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We have lots of ideas and plans to improve and develop different areas around the site so hopefully you will return to see them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

Went with Family for chilled afternoon---slow start for the grandkids but when they got into it enjoyed checking out all the History and spent an Hour in the Craft department
Highlight of the Day was the woodland walk with Alex who kept the kids interested throughout--worth a visit

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank berniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneC3705, Manager at Dean Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review and so pleased you enjoyed all the activities with your grandchildren. Alex is very knowledgeable and loves taking visitors out into the Forest to explore so he will be very pleased to hear that his woodland walk was the highlight of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews