We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation close to a paradise beach”
Review of One Battaleys Mews

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
One Battaleys Mews
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mullins
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I visited Battaley's Mews with a friend in Feb 2014 and was very impressed. The apartments were huge and well maintained in a lovely complex. We had a spacious living room, spiral staircase, large kitchen, two bathrooms (one on each floor) and a private jacuzzi in our garden. There were only two of us staying there so we only had access to one bedroom, but this apartment would easily fit a large family. The pool area is nice and relaxing, although I only spent one day there given how famous Barbados is for its beaches.

There were a few issues - only one plug socket seemed to work in the kitchen area and the toaster, hairdryer and fridge were all faulty. They were all fixed when we asked but it did seem odd that all of these things were all faulty in the same apartment. The air con broke too but there was an engineer out that day to fix it.

The complex is a 5 minute walk away from Mullins Beach which is picture perfect paradise. We spent most of our time there. Car hire is a must if you want to explore the island easily. We hired one for a few days and got to travel to the East Coast, and to the South of the island to spend time on other beaches - although Mullins was our favourite. There is a bus which takes you all the way from the hotel down to Holetown, Bridgetown and Oistens for only 2BDS. Taxis are considerably more expensive but quicker!

I would definitely recommend Battaleys to anyone visiting Barbados - it was excellent value for money and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hall284002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 66 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

Gorgeous and super spacious accomodation in a beautiful resort. We were blown away by how nice this place is and the jacuzzi in the garden is a really nice touch. We had a problem with the fridge, air con and hair dryer not working but these problems were quickly resolved and we were given late check out at no extra cost which was very helpful. The house was spotlessly clean and my only gripe would be that there's no air con in the living areas. It would be a good idea to supply guests with basics like salt and sugar, and more than one bath towel, but this really is nit picking. We had a fantastic stay and having explored Barbados, I can say that you have the best beach on the island right on your doorstep! There are lots of great restaurants and bars nearby and any bus journey only costs $2. It can take a while to get to the south of the island so if you're planning a trip to Oistins or The Gap I would recommend taking a taxi ...this will cost about $80 which is around £25. Make sure you go to the Mullins beach bar for a sunset cocktail and you won't regret splashing out for a night at The Cliff. Barbados is an amazing holiday destination and if you book accomodation here you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, Manager at One Battaleys Mews, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for the great feedback on Battaleys Mews and Barbados on the whole! We are delighted to hear you had a fabulous time at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The accommodation is stunning with two of the rooms having giant 4 poster beds with white draps. The ensuite is huge and all the bed rooms have air-con. The massive well equips kitchen and lovely lounge area with Tv, sofas, and dining for 8. The houses have 2 large cupboards for storage. The the rear garden have a jacuzzi. This is really superb accommodation.

Mullins beach is just a 10. - 15 minute stroll down the hill. We walked passedMullins beach and used Gibbs Bay which is a little paradise. There are no facilities on this beach but the surroundings are breath-taking.

The neighbourhood is relatively unspoilt and there's is a fabulous Chinese restaurant,East Moon within walking distance. The food is really very rather nice and at an excellent price. A short bus ride towards Hole Town takes you to The Sea Cat restaurant which again has wonderful food at a reasonable price - be warned - for this reason it is very popular and you won't get a table unless you book I should think.

In conclusion Battalleys Mews is the most brilliant place for a holiday. I really can't praise it too much. We had villa numbers 13 and 14 and from the bedroom terrace you could see the sea. But all the villas are well located. The staff are very friendly and helpful and made our stay enjoyable.

We are desperately trying to hurry back soon.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book early! (Take some dishwasher tablets as they are expensive to buy in the supermarkets). Speigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeniorTravelTutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I came to Battaley Mews caBeautiful surroundings very well kept gated community. Very clean,quiet, spacious and fresh looking apartment. Someone comes round everyday to ensure you have fresh towels and a little tidy. There's a little pool. However the beach is right next door, less than 2minutes walk to the Mullins Beach which is amazing to see. There's a clean tennis court, which we used.The apartments are also located in-between Hole Town and Speightstown. the manager is extremely helpful. This is a beautiful little apartment will definitely be coming back here.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Browns82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I came to Battaley Mews caBeautiful surroundings very well kept gated community. Very clean,quiet, spacious and fresh looking apartment. Someone comes round everyday to ensure you have fresh towels and a little tidy. There's a little pool. However the beach is right next door, less than 2minutes walk to the Mullins Beach which is amazing to see. There's a clean tennis court, which we used.The apartments are also located in-between Hole Town and Speightstown. the manager is extremely helpful. This is a beautiful little apartment will definitely be coming back here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aphrodites M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

First time to Barbados and booked Battaleys on back of Tripadvisor reviews - certainly not disappointed and our whole Mullins area experience was wonderful and something we will always remember. Would really recommend staying here and there is so much space.
Pros
- 5 mins to beautiful local Mullins beach which has a beach shack and Mullins Bar (but you do get hassled by the local beach chaps offering jet ski umpteen times though the guy with the Hobie Cat was excellent when he took us sailing),
- Local garage/gas station where you can buy essential provisions - also has an ATM/cashpoint,
- Battaleys is in quite a local area and very quiet but close to the busy main road where you can get a local bus to the supermarket/restaurants in Holetown (Speighstown pretty down at heel),
- Staff were very helpful - late check out, car hire 'hunted down' and the bar server at the great pool very diligent and the food excellent over lunch,
- Houses so spacious and incomparable to a hotel (cabin fever) when with kids,
- Bombas local restaurant good but fairly expensive - need to book. Chinese also OK,
- Local taxi was really helpful, turned up on time as was the car hire that was delivered to the property at no extra cost.

Cons
- Would suggest hiring a car to get around if nothing else for 3 or 4 days - driving very easy and the locals considerate (they flag you down to ask if they can help!), but you can quite easily get around on buses though difficulty with small children,
- There is not an abundance of local restaurant/bar choice if that is what you want,
- The kitchen was good and spacious though a little under-equipped (easily resolvable with some mugs for coffee, better glassware and decent knives),
- A welcome/starter pack could go down well - milk, bread, tea/coffee, cereal….
- Take some mosquito spray - they aren't numerous nor large but the bites aggravate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This place has to be one of the finds of the century. If you are looking at value for money then surely you can't get much better than this. 3 of us went over at the end of Jan, My girlfriend and my best friend. The apartment is huge. If I had known how lovely and how large it was I would have looked to bring another couple of people out then we really would be looking at value for money! I have stayed at the coral reefe before and whilst it is lovely I would certainly choose this place over it if i went back. Staff all very friendly and the furnishings for a rental were brilliant. The four poster bed was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BenandEmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullins
5.4 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,121 reviews
5.2 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saint Peter's Bay
Saint Peter's Bay
#5 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels
Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels
#19 of 26 in Saint James Parish
13 reviews
2.9 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
15.5 mi away
Inchcape Seaside Villas
Inchcape Seaside Villas
#5 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Battaleys Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Battaleys Mews

Address: Mullins Terrace, Mullins BB24017, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish > Mullins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mullins
Price Range: $211 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — One Battaleys Mews 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battalyes Mews is set amidst beautifully landscaped grounds with indigenous trees, plants and water features, creating a stunning exotic environment. The luxurious finishes are complimented by the upscale facilities and hotel-grade services ensuring ultimate comfort. Whilst remaining easily accessible to restaurants, shops and entertainment along the West Coast, property exudes tranquility, nestled in a quiet neighbourhood in the parish of St. Peter. Mullins Beach is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
One Battaleys Mews Barbados/Mullins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing