We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accomodation”
Review of One Battaleys Mews

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
One Battaleys Mews
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mullins
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Lovely clean, smart accomodation just a short walk from Mullins Beach. Staff are friendly and were quick to respond to any queries we had. Wifi in each house is great and pleased to have clean beach towels each day. A taxi to Holetown (where there are a few more restaurants) is US$20 each way however we partly chose Battaleys as we fancied self catering. There is a large supermarket about a 10 minute drive down in Holetwon. As others have said having a car is useful although I would recommend this anywhere in Barbados if you want to get out and properly explore the island. Wouldn't hesitate in recommending Battaleys - perfect for a chilled out week.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank SMUK001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 66 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

I'm writing this from our massive living/dining room at Battaleys Mews. We love the house and have found it very relaxing staying here - much more so than being cooped up in a hotel room.
A few small things are starting to look a bit tatty (water-stained blind in the bathroom, torn drapes on our 4 poster bed, and dare I say the toilet brushes really need replacing) but those really are minor gripes and don't detract from the overall high-end feel of the development.


We've hired a car as we love to explore; you could probably survive without one if you're happy to stay by the pool and mainly visit the local beach, and the local buses seem pretty regular and easy to navigate (north to Speightstown, south to Holetown and Bridgetown).
But if you do want to hire a car - book early! We tried booking 3 weeks before we arrived and found all the cheap/small cars booked up so we ended up with something bigger (and pricier!) than we needed.

Room Tip: We stayed in house 10, which is south facing and away from the pool area so quieter - a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ijh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, Guest Relations Manager at One Battaleys Mews, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for posting your review of Battaleys Mews! We're glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and will return to beautiful Barbados and our resort again soon!

--Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just got back from Barbados, our first visit. I couldnt be more impressed with this place. We had a 3 bed villa, but they close 2 of the bedrooms becuase we'd only paid for the one which left us which around 1500-2000 square feet to play with HUGE!! 2 bathrooms (we only needed one) both were huge, the main bathroom was immaculate, walkin rain shower, big tub all limestone flooring, very nice. Balcony which we didnt really use but was a nice touch. Lovely huge kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine everything you need. Little plunge pool overlooking a park where you could see little monkeys play most days. The pool is a 2 second walk as are the immaculate tennis courts. Our wifi didnt work initially but the resort manager saw to it that it was sorted and seemed to be on the case with any problem we had. We felt safe as it was gated and security on the desk at all times. One suggestion would be to rent a car as the shops and town are a taxi or bus ride away, so i think a car for a couple of days to get supplies would be a good shout. the garage at the end of the road can provide your basics bacon, bread drinks, ice cream the usual stuff. It would have been nice to have some extra pillows but in fairness i didnt ask for any so i cant complain, they provide plenty of towels and clean your villa daily. The beach at mullins is a 5 min walk and is lovely, pretty green and blue caribean waters. i will deffinately be returning, we went 16th november to 26th and weather was awesome.

Room Tip: we stayed in 22 which overlooked a park which no one used, was south facing so got the sun all day b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank armourtillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at Battaley's Mews in unit 22 for 3 nights beginning on September 18th. You will definitely want a rental car if you stay here; it is not really walking distance to anywhere but Mullins Beach. There is a restaurant there and a small bar onsite, but it was closed most of the time for low season. Holetown is a short drive south and there you will find a grocery store and many other restaurants and shops. Overall we found this place to be a great value; we had so much room in our unit and it was very clean. It does show signs of neglect (peeling walls and a few rust stains), but nothing that made me feel like it wasn't clean. I don't think these have been used as often as they should be with it being the low season, so initially I noticed a bit of a musty smell from it being vacant. Inside you will find luxurious fixtures and a bright, inviting space. The bed could be made to be more comfortable (all we had was a sheet and two firm pillows). Fortunately there was an air conditioner up there. I wish there had been one downstairs as well... for such a nice place it seems weird that there isn't one on the main living level too. Overall we were happy with the stay for what we paid!

Room Tip: Ask for a unit that has been used more frequently to avoid musty smells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Battaleys Mews was amazing. Although it is not right on the beach, the property offers a calm, cozy environment and is perfectly located. The shower was amazing and powerful and the bathroom was about 500 square ft. with a jucuzzi tub. We ventured out during the day and had such a beautiful place to come back to and relax during the evening. It is close to some really awesome shopping and beaches. The staff was awesome, get to bar on the property for breakfast or lunch and some really awesome rum punch. It is located on the nicer side of the Island close to Sandy Lane and all the fancy resorts.

Room Tip: the room we stayed in had houses behind it. If we went again we might request one with a different v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bellabee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Battaleys Mews in July this year. The house was so spacious for just the two of us, with everything we needed (although, as others have said, A/C would've been good downstairs). Staff were helpful, if not always available. The location is great, we hired a car and were able to explore the entire island during our 2.5 week stay. We left no stone unturned! It is a quiet, relaxed, friendly place, probably more suited to couples and families, with great amenities close by. I would recommend it to others in a second. Our only con would be that we'd have liked our own safe, rather than having to use the communal one and second guessing when the staff would be there to open it for us.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nicely finished town home on two levels. Marble floors, big living room, big kitchen, nice master suite with rainhead shower. The big plus here are the staff, very friendly concierge, maid and resort manager. They went out of their way to help us! The only negative is the lack of air conditioning downstairs, and it got very hot. You need to leave windows open to get a breeze, so pack your bug spray to ward off mosquitoes! Also, Could stand to spend some money outfitting of the kitchen, more glasses, corkscrew, working can opener. This place could be a five with some new bedding, pillows and bedspreads for the bedrooms. Overall, we loved it! Great Value.

Room Tip: Bring mosquitoe repellant, pack a corkscrew, and enjoy the wonderful people and surroundings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tvteacher50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullins
0.3 mi away
Saint Peter's Bay
Saint Peter's Bay
#5 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
110 reviews
5.4 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
637 reviews
14 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
786 reviews
3.3 mi away
Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Battaleys Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Battaleys Mews

Address: Mullins Terrace, Mullins BB24017, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish > Mullins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mullins
Price Range: $211 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — One Battaleys Mews 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Battalyes Mews is set amidst beautifully landscaped grounds with indigenous trees, plants and water features, creating a stunning exotic environment. The luxurious finishes are complimented by the upscale facilities and hotel-grade services ensuring ultimate comfort. Whilst remaining easily accessible to restaurants, shops and entertainment along the West Coast, property exudes tranquility, nestled in a quiet neighbourhood in the parish of St. Peter. Mullins Beach is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your One Battaleys Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One Battaleys Mews Barbados/Mullins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing