We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star in every respect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bayfield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mullins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Mullins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“5 star in every respect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

The rooms at Bayfield have all the facilities you would get in a 5 star hotel including very comfortable beds, air con, ceiling fan, fridge, hairdryer and lovely large bathroom. We really enjoyed relaxing on the beautiful veranda which runs round 3 sides of the property. The gardens are lovely and unlike large hotel resorts it was great being able to get a sunbed whenever you wanted and not having to share the pool with lots of other people.

Breakfast was very extensive and freshly cooked - far highter quality than most hotels and the evening meals Trevor cooked were superb. The attentive but unobtrusive service and personal attention shown by Trevor, Pam and their daughter really made the holiday. It is not often nowadays that you get such personal service and genuine hospitality.

We were sorry to leave this beautiful small hotel and hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlysonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for writing this review, we enjoyed reading the feedback from your vacation. Please follow us on social media to find out what's happening in Barbados and for the latest available room specials at Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
242
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

Reluctant to pay the inflated prices of the older ,'posh' establishments or to encounter the crowds at the all inclusive resorts, but seeking something a little more than self catered accommodation my friend and I chose Bayfield House for our "meet half way" vacation (she from Guernsey and me from Phoenix) on the basis of the Trip Advisor reviews. Pre-booking and pre-arrival emails to the owners were answered promptly and informatively and set the standard for our stay. Arriving from the airport fairly late, Trevor had taken the initiative to reserve a table for us at the nearby beach restaurant and the rest of our stay was characterized by such helpfulness. Everything about Bayfield House, from the thoughtfully equipped, air conditioned rooms (fridge, wine glasses, corkscrew, hairdryer, large mirrors), to the modern bathrooms, free wi-fi, and tranquil but convenient location close to amenities (including spa, beach, restaurants) is clearly a culmination of Trevor and Pam's years of experience in Bajan tourist hospitality. Their total dedication to ensuring their visitors have the best possible stay, both in terms of accommodation and experience of Barbados is evident in every aspect of the property and the level of service. Their knowledgeable and freely offered advice on day trips and restaurants was matched only by their easy friendliness and the pleasure they seem to derive from helping their guests enjoy their stay. And of course, Trevor's rum punch is now almost legendary. I'm certain both of us will be back, this time with our husbands in tow and my only qualm is that by then, the word will be out and this place will be fully booked for months in advance. Thank you again, Trevor and Pam.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahwatukeebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for writing this review, we enjoyed reading the feedback from your vacation. Please follow us on social media to find out what's happening in Barbados and for the latest available room specials at Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

We echo all the excellent reviews for Bayfield House, especially the warm hospitality of Trevor and Pam, nothing was too much trouble for them and they went out of their way to make our holiday special. The location and facilities were perfect we could not have asked for more. The setting is peaceful and tranquil and the gardens are exceptional, it was a joy to relax in the area around the pool. The rooms are all very individual 5 star standard and the verandah areas around the house give a comfortable sitting space to just relax and read.
The nearby beaches are like a paradise island, white sand and turquoise sea, we just relaxed but there were lots of opportunities for water sports. We especially enjoyed visiting Huntes Garden and Andromeda Gardens. Harrison caves are a must, just breath taking and a visit to St Nicholas Abbey for your rum to make the rum punches is worth a visit.
Night life and restaurants are within easy reach and we enjoyed using the local buses which was certainly an experience!
We returned home relaxed and refreshed having met some lovely people. If you are thinking of a holiday in Barbados then we cannot suggest anywhere better to stay than Bayfield House.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HummingbirdReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for rating our B&B as a 5 star establishment and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didmarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

Fantastic B&B, which is outstanding value. Great location just a few minutes walk to the beach. The room was large and comfortable with an enormous bed complete with egyptian cotton linens. The breakfasts were hearty and satisfying with a full cooked english accompanied by fruit etc. The hosts were very accommodating, welcoming and helpful. They were both full of suggestions for restaurants, tours and activities although much time was spent on Gibbes beach, which we preferred to Mullins, due to the more secluded sands. Would gladly go back and would, of course, recommend highly to others. A very relaxing stay was enjoyed by both.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyorks28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for writing this review, we enjoyed reading the feedback from your vacation. Please follow us on social media to find out what's happening in Barbados and for the latest available room specials at Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

We stayed with Pam and Trevor in September to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. In summary, we could not have been happier with our stay and would not hesitate to recommend Bayfield to our closest friends. On arrival, we were greeted by Trevor who helped us to our room, reviewed its features, and invited us down for a rum punch when settled. Over the course of our stay, Pam and Trevor were always available for advice, to arrange reservations, or just to chat about the island and their experiences on it.

Our room was very clean and comfortable, on the second floor, with a large shared veranda perfect for an afternoon book or evening cigar. The location on the west side of the island provides quick access by car to Holetown and the smaller Speightstown for meals and shopping. There are 2 restaurants within walking distance - the Mullins Beach Bar (good but overpriced) and a small Chinese restaurant (good). Trevor also offers his own cooked meals on select nights (in addition to a very tasty daily breakfast). On one particularly rainy night, while eating dinner at the Chinese restaurant, Trevor drove over with 2 umbrellas to make our walk home drier. A large resort owner wouldn't have know you had left, let alone hand deliver umbrellas...

Overall, our experience at Bayfield was very memorable and enjoyable. Whether day trips around the island or a lazy afternoon by the pool, we honestly felt like we had a home away from home. Daily vists by hummingbirds and Barbados green monkeys made this home even more special. On a side note, I have been surprised and disappointed to read a couple of negative reviews of the property and the hospitality shown by the Ramsays. Again, we could not have been happier with Bayfield nor more impressed with the personal attention given by Pam and Trevor. On returning home, we felt as if we were leaving family and are already looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoodahMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

We returned two days ago from 6 nights at Bayfield House and very much enjoyed our trip. I can attest quite strongly to Trevor's rum punch being the best you'll ever taste; I was sure it was just sugary goodness until I stood up and wondered where my legs had run off to.

We stayed in room 203 (I think it is called Fairfield on the website) and loved it. Huge updated bathroom, great closet, lots of hot water, no real problems with bugs and such. We were on the corner of the far side of the house and it was nice and private. I read a complaint in another review about the rooms being dark; we noticed the same thing (I think we had the room upstairs from that one) but preferred it as the room stayed cool, plus we are grouchy New Yorkers so maybe that's just appealing to us. Rooms have mini fridge, electric kettle for hot water, utensils and tea/coffee stuff, plus very good housekeepers who come in every day (Andrea was wonderful).

All of the food was really excellent--both at Bayfield House (thank you Trevor for my tomato and cheese omelets, I don't know where you get those tomatoes but they are sinfully good) and at the restaurants we visited nearby for dinner. Trevor cooks dinner twice weekly (I think Thursday and Sunday, and it is very reasonably priced) and we stayed in for the Thursday meal. I am a fussy vegetarian and Trevor created a veg menu for me that was awesome.

Some experience in the surrounding area--

For restaurants, we tried (all for dinner):
- Mullins Beach Restaurant - 5 minute walk; super super pricey but the food is excellent and it is literally on the beach. We went here twice.
- Nishi - took the bus 10 minutes to Holetown; we LOVED this place and wish we'd found it earlier so we could have gone twice. Also expensive but the food was fantastic; try the mushroom crepe appetizer.
- Scarlet - took the bus 20ish minutes to Payne's Bay; it was only OK, not really worth the price but decent food and fun setting.
- East Moon - casual Chinese spot about 8 minutes walk from Bayfield House; I wasn't feeling well one night and we tried this place to stay close to the B&B--food was actually pretty good! Inexpensive and incredibly fast out of the kitchen.

We didn't really get up to much sightseeing as we are obnoxiously busy people in "real" life and just wanted to lie around like vegetables during vacation, however there are many sites to see all within 20 or so minutes of Bayfield, with very little on the island being more than 30-40 minutes away. We spent a lot of time at Gibbs Beach and one day at Mullins Beach, though we much preferred Gibbs, as we nearly had the whole thing to ourselves and nobody tried to sell us jewelry, jetskiing, or weed (though the guy selling the weed was very polite, haha) like at Mullins. Both beaches are just down the street and you can walk to Gibbs from Mullins.

It's ultra convenient for Bayfield guests to book treatments at Indulgence Spa at the Westmoreland, which is right down the street, across from Mullins Beach. I went for a facial and manicure and can recommend it highly.

The only thing I'd say negatively might apply to those looking to be super active (we were not) -- you'd probably want to spend on car rental unless you're OK with the expense of taxis. Taking the bus, while conveniently located, can get tiring and the main road along the coast is not so friendly to walkers, as the sidewalk frequently disappears. Also, this is a cozy B&B, if you're looking for people doting on you and want to be fawned over and waited upon, you'd probably want to opt for a resort.

This was a very lovely stay for us, and for the price, excellent breakfasts and lovely rooms, Bayfield House is a great choice for people looking for a low-key vacation near gorgeous beaches where you can do your own thing.

Thanks Trevor, Pam and staff! ~Miranda & Gerry

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miranda_nash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for writing this review, we enjoyed reading the feedback from your vacation. Please follow us on social media to find out what's happening in Barbados and for the latest available room specials at Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed for 6 nights for our Daughter's wedding which was taking place at a hotel on the beach. Her and her now husband's comment on meeting us at Bayfield was 'Wow' to our room and the House. Trevor and Pam cannot help you enough with a lift into Paynes Bay and the bus station when needed. The breakfast was excellent and I am told Trevor's evening meals are very good also. It is so peaceful and the large verandah is excellent with comfy sofas and armchairs for every room. The pool is lovely in beautiful gardens. Only a few minutes to the beach and bus stop. You must visit and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MogilBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for writing this review, we enjoyed reading the feedback from your vacation. Please follow us on social media to find out what's happening in Barbados and for the latest available room specials at Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullins
5.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legend Garden Condos
Legend Garden Condos
#1 of 1 in Lower Carlton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.8 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cobblers Cove
Cobblers Cove
#1 of 3 in Speightstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfield House

Property: Bayfield House
Address: Mullins Road, Mullins, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish > Mullins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mullins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities include a restaurant, bar, fresh water pool and complimentary WiFi connection. The wide and breezy wrap-around verandas on both ground and first floors have clusters of comfortable chairs making an ideal location to relax, read or just soak up the tranquility of the surrounding tropical gardens. Our colourful landscaped gardens with seasonal flowering trees also include mangoes, bananas, plaintains, fig bananas, limes, avacado and grapefruit. These attract a variety of wildlife including the Barbados green monkey. Arrangements have been made for our guests to use the Spa and Beauty Treatment facility "Indulgence" operated by Royal Westmoreland which is just a four minute walk away. On Mullins beach there are chaises and umbrellas for rent and a variety of water sports. Mullins Beach Bar & Restaurant is an ideal spot for lunch, dinner or maybe a sunset cocktail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayfield House Hotel Mullins
Bayfield House Barbados/Mullins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing