We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm”
Review of Bayfield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mullins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Mullins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham England
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our first trip to Barbados and in fact our first trip to the Caribbean. We didn’t want a large all inclusive hotel and decided to stay at Bayfield House after reading all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and we’re so glad that we did. Our room was lovely – large comfortable bed, tasteful furnishings, a safe, a fridge and the bathroom had a large walk in shower and two handbasins. This room was kept immaculately clean by the cheerful Carol. In particular we liked the veranda on the first floor where it was shaded and comfortable to sit and read or have a glass of wine (or two).
It’s in a quiet spot but close to everything. The buses run past the end of the road frequently to Speightstown, Holetown and Bridgetown and going on the buses is an experience in itself not to be missed, and all for only 2 Barbadian Dollars for any journey. We also got the bus to Bathsheba, again for only 2bbd – it’s on the East Coast, Atlantic side and beautiful – have lunch at the Atlantis Hotel. So really if you don’t want to drive you don’t need to.
Mullins Beach is across the road at the end and has chairbeds to hire, a shop and bar but we much preferred the quieter Gibbes Beach which is a 5 minute walk away. There is nothing there but sand and sea and not many people. There are plenty of trees for shade.
We hope to go again to Bayfield House and you can’t say better than that. Our thanks to Trevor, Pam, Jason and Maria – for all their helpful advice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your review of Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
244
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Well this is everything that every-one has positively said, we can only reiterate it all. From the moment we arrived and met Trevor we knew that we would have a great 10 days.
The location was better than we'd anticipated and so glad that we weren't on the main road! Far enough away from the main tourist hits but so easy to get anywhere. We deliberated about car hire and then left it too late as there weren't any available, but even that turned out to be a bonus as the taxi drivers were very friendly and knowledgeable.
You'll be spoilt for restaurant choices, two good ones are within easy walking distance and plenty of others are a 2 bds bus trip away. The rooms have a good size fridge/freezer too to keep snacks and cold drinks.
The acid test is at the end of our holiday we ask ourselves if we'd return when there is so much more of the world to see and this is one place we'll definitely come back to and stay at. Thank you Trevor Pam, Maria and Jason.

Room Tip: Book early and ask their advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your favourable review of Bayfield House and Barbados.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We've just had a really relaxing 7-night stay with Pam and Trevor at Bayfield House, and we thoroughly recommend them. The house is lovely, set in a beautiful garden which is kept immaculately groomed by the pleasant ground staff. Similarly, the room cleaning team work hard, and the whole place is immaculate. The layout of the house is well designed and spacious, and the standard of the fitments, comfort of the beds and quality of furnishings are very fine. All the reviews commenting on the excellent breakfasts are accurate.
Trevor's a mine of useful information on the island's attractions, and several restaurants plus a 24h minimart are within a few minutes walk. Mullins beach is excellent and has loungers and parasols to hire, but Gibbes beach a few meters further south is quiet and little-visited even in high season.
Overall this is a great place which we recommend strongly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmarkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation of Bayfield House, referrals remain a very important factor towards the continued success of our B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms, wraparound verandah, Trevor's cooking! Pam's smile, the pool , walk to blissful Gibbs beach, great tips on what to do, a very warm welcome and a rum punch with real punch! We stayed for one week and it quickly felt like "home". A great basis for exploring Barbados and wonderful place to relax. Go!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We love Pam's smile as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at Bayfield House for the first time at the end of November 2012. Having been to Barbados for many years the small hotel at which we normally stay was up for sale and so we had to find a new venue. I had researched small hotels of Barbados and was won over by all the positive remarks on TripAvisor. They were so right – Bayfield is a great place to stay and we certainly think we have found a gem.
On our arrival Trevor showed us to our room then returned a few minutes later and asked us if we would prefer to have another room as the bed in the second room was slightly larger ( ‘super-kingsize) as we are both tall he thought it might suit us better. Dead right – what a comfortable bed it was! Our room on the first floor was spacious and well equipped – no TV thank goodness) a good size bathroom (no bath but walk-in shower) a large walk-in wardrobe and in a separate cupboard a small fridge with tea/coffee making facilities.
What really bowled us over was one evening we were walking along to Bombas restaurant about (5-10 minutes away) and having just reached the main road the heaven’s opened. Next thing Trevor draws up in his car with an umbrella. We’ve never had service like that before – that’s definitely going beyond the call of duty!
We shall definitely return again this year. The breakfasts are great and as everyone says, Trevor’s rum punches are something else! Thank you Trevor, Pam & Maria for a super relaxing 10 days at Bayfield.

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms and they are all of an excellent quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 35Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing with us your experience staying at Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We rarely stay two weeks in one place but we were still reluctant to move on from Bayfield. Much thought was given to renovating the house so that it would be comfortable for its guests.

Trevor's many years in the hotel industry is evident in the attention to detail. Our bedroom was spacious with a walk in wardrobe, plentiful hangers, and room to park suitcases. Bed linen was of a high quality. The room had a fridge and fresh milk was provided daily to complement the tea and coffee making facilities.

There were shady verandahs on both floors which provided pleasant places to sit and relax.

Outside there is an attractive pool (pleasantly warm) set in an peaceful garden.

The nearest beach is Mullins (five minute) but we preferred Gibbes which was a fifteen minute walk away.

Excellent breakfasts were provided.

Trevor and family were excellent hosts and one of them was always around.

Altogether a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarkinkudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking a few moments to share with us your feedback on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just came back from a wonderful week at Bayfield House. Lovely large room with huge very comfortable bed. Hosts very welcoming. Delicious breakfast on the veranda overlooking the pool. You saw the monkeys if you were lucky! Easy walk to the beach. You are off the main road so nice and peaceful. Used local buses from end of the road. Snorkelling on Mullins beach was fab - turtles! Went on the Cool Runnings catamaran trip which was excellent. Great location, great holiday. Would highly recommend if you wanted something a bit more personal than one of the big hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your photos with us and for writing this review. We are delighted to learn that you were able to catch a glimpse of the turtles, a truly special experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullins
0.9 mi away
Legend Garden Condos
Legend Garden Condos
#1 of 1 in Lower Carlton
129 reviews
5.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,049 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best E Villas Prospect
Best E Villas Prospect
#1 of 1 in Prospect
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Halcyon Palm
Halcyon Palm
#1 of 4 in Sunset Crest
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angler Apartments
Angler Apartments
#21 of 25 in Saint James Parish
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adulo Apartments
Adulo Apartments
#18 of 72 in Christ Church Parish
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfield House

Property: Bayfield House
Address: Mullins Road, Mullins, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish > Mullins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mullins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities include a restaurant, bar, fresh water pool and complimentary WiFi connection. The wide and breezy wrap-around verandas on both ground and first floors have clusters of comfortable chairs making an ideal location to relax, read or just soak up the tranquility of the surrounding tropical gardens. Our colourful landscaped gardens with seasonal flowering trees also include mangoes, bananas, plaintains, fig bananas, limes, avacado and grapefruit. These attract a variety of wildlife including the Barbados green monkey. Arrangements have been made for our guests to use the Spa and Beauty Treatment facility "Indulgence" operated by Royal Westmoreland which is just a four minute walk away. On Mullins beach there are chaises and umbrellas for rent and a variety of water sports. Mullins Beach Bar & Restaurant is an ideal spot for lunch, dinner or maybe a sunset cocktail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayfield House Hotel Mullins
Bayfield House Barbados/Mullins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing