We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too good to be true?”
Review of Bayfield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mullins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Mullins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too good to be true?”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We have just returned from our honeymoon in Barbados where we ended up staying for 14 nights at Bayfield House. We hate the all inclusive options in the Caribbean so started off by booking 3 nights at Bayfield, (thinking we would want to move on) then 7 then 14 all in the same place as we simply couldnt find anywhere that looked better.
The whole holiday was so much better than either of us were expecting and that is in no small part down to Trevor, Pam and jason and our stay at Bayfield.
All the reviews said it would be great but i am always slightly sceptical. This was everyhting everyone states it will be.
The rooms are absolutely gorgeous with lovely white linen and a great comfortable bed, heavenly.
Rum punch - great. Trevor's cooking, also great! We ate in 3 times as it was such good food and reat value.
We had a really good time with other guests as well, obviously good people are drawn to bayfield!
We have already booked to come back in December again, and we are bringing friends, so i really think that says it all. We travel quite a bit and have never returned to the same venue twice, this is very special.
5 minute walk from Gibbs beach, a lovely find, practically empty.
Only down side for me? The monkeys didnt put in an appearance whilst i was there at all, but everyone else saw them loads, so just me then.
Still trying to perfect my cheese omlette to be as good as Trevor's at breakfast. No chance.
Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for writing your review, please follow us on social media for updates on what's happening in Barbados and any upcoming room rate specials for Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
242
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed two weeks at Bayfield House and once again did not want to leave. We arrived quite stressed after a busy year and after a couple of days of Trevor & Pam's hospitality felt totally relaxed. The gardens were looking lush and beautifiul, even more so after a couple of their famous Rum Punches. Breakfast time is always a delight, sitting ovelooking the garden with the humming birds floating in the air as they pick at the blossom on the small trees next to the breakfast tables. We cannot imagine anywhere more relaxing. The food is always excellent and I love Trevor's cheese omelette. We could go on and on with the plaudits for Bayfield House and cannot recommend it highly enough. After 3 visits, we now know that this is the only place we will stay at when we holiday in Barbados.

Room Tip: Stayed in different rooms - all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doreenbarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for writing your review, please follow us on social media for updates on what's happening in Barbados and any upcoming room rate specials for Bayfield House for that fourth visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I are frequent travelers & the Bayfield House exceeded our expectations. It's comfortable, quiet, immaculately cared for and the perfect spot to enjoy all of Barbados. You are a quick walk from the beautiful Mullins Beach where you rent chairs, there is on the beach dining etc. Yet, you never feel crowded or over-commercialized here. Back at the B&B, you'll get the rum punch of your life at Trevor's downstairs bar. Also, 2 of our best meals were prepared by Trevor. Trevor & his wife go out their way to make sure you enjoy your trip. They were happy to reserve the best table for us at various local restaurant (we recommend fish pot) & also, recommended and arranged for a day with Cool Runnings snorkeling and dining on the ocean--yet another highlight of the trip. We can't wait to visit Barbados & the Bayfield House again. It's the only place to stay on the island!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and include out door seating on the spacious patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for the lovely photos of the island that you have shared with us. Thanks also, for writing your review of Bayfield House, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
259 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Another excellent visit. Pam and Trevor's Bayfield House is simply superb. It's in a great location, close enough to the beach (3 mins) but with a beautiful garden and pool. There's great attention to detail, nothing is too much trouble and frankly you'd have to go a long way to beat Bayfield House (and their rum punch). Do try Trevor's cooking (on a Sunday and Thursday whislt we were there), he did some fabulous jerk pork.

Room Tip: Porters Suite on the first floor is definitely worth paying the little bit extra for. It's spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Surreyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for writing your review, please follow us on social media for updates on what's happening in Barbados and any upcoming room rate specials for Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I cannot say enough of good things about the Bayfield House. We had a just lovely Holiday and felt right at home. Trevor and Pam are wonderful hosts with a wealth of knowledge about Barbados. Our room was spacious and very clean. The Gardens are gorgeous and enjoyed them every morning at Breakfast. The pool is so relaxing after a day exploring the island. Gibbs beach is beautiful and is only a short walk from the property. Trevor is a fabulous cook and I really enjoyed staying in for dinner. The black bean soup was to die for. If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing Holiday then the Bayfield House is for you. My favorite time of day was going down to the bar and telling Trevor "Its Rum Punch Time". Trust me it is the best Rum Punch on the Island.

Thanks Trevor and Pam for a great Holiday!

Room Tip: The Porters Suite is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joecrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for writing your review, please follow us on social media for updates on what's happening in Barbados and any upcoming room rate specials for Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Was on a business trip but wanted to find somewhere peaceful with a personal touch and Bayfield House exceeded my high expectations from previous reviews. Clean and spacious with beautiful tended gardens to enjoy when taking breakfast outside, this is truly a very special place. The hosts Trevor and Pam were excellent and full of helpful advice on about pretty well anything one needs to know about Barbados. Trevor also mixes a fantastic rum punch on arrival and they were most welcome after a hard day at the office. Speightstown in less than 10 mins drive where we enjoyed trevors recommendation to try the Fish pot restaurant. Even nearer is the Mullins Bay bar 3 mins stroll, again serving excellent food. Liked Bayfield so much I immediately booked a holiday there as soon I got home as represents excellent value and was a pleasure to stay there. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkySailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
It's always rum punch time in Barbados! Thank you for writing your review of Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Checked in and received a complimentary rum punch to die for. The owners; Trevor & Pam have done an excellent job. Just go out there and "feel" it yourself. The grounds and facilities are great.

Trevor will tell you where to go for the best meals; he'll even get you the best table in the house if you give him enough notice.

The Bayfield serves dinner on Thursday's and Sunday's; make sure you try the pumpkin soup.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfieldHouse, Public Relations Manager at Bayfield House, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for writing your review, please follow us on social media for updates on what's happening in Barbados and any upcoming room rate specials for Bayfield House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullins
5.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legend Garden Condos
Legend Garden Condos
#1 of 1 in Lower Carlton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.8 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cobblers Cove
Cobblers Cove
#1 of 3 in Speightstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.6 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfield House

Property: Bayfield House
Address: Mullins Road, Mullins, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish > Mullins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mullins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities include a restaurant, bar, fresh water pool and complimentary WiFi connection. The wide and breezy wrap-around verandas on both ground and first floors have clusters of comfortable chairs making an ideal location to relax, read or just soak up the tranquility of the surrounding tropical gardens. Our colourful landscaped gardens with seasonal flowering trees also include mangoes, bananas, plaintains, fig bananas, limes, avacado and grapefruit. These attract a variety of wildlife including the Barbados green monkey. Arrangements have been made for our guests to use the Spa and Beauty Treatment facility "Indulgence" operated by Royal Westmoreland which is just a four minute walk away. On Mullins beach there are chaises and umbrellas for rent and a variety of water sports. Mullins Beach Bar & Restaurant is an ideal spot for lunch, dinner or maybe a sunset cocktail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayfield House Hotel Mullins
Bayfield House Barbados/Mullins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing