We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village historique de Val-Jalbert - Hebergement et Camping
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chambord
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were probably very lucky having the place almost to ourselves. The room was of a very high standard, clean, well designed and well thought out. The evening meal was very good in the mill and the waterfall was lit up very tastefully at night. Even better if there had been some public area for those staying overnight or a ' story telling' opportunity. My husband thinks that the old railway is crying out to be restored and would double the number of visitors if it was! Even if you do not stay over the village is very well worth a visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    54
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
75
68
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at one of the mini chalets on the camping. Nice little chalet with fridge, cooking area, little sink and equiped with pots, pans, plates and cutlery. All very clean, nice wood smell, little veranda, bed quite comfortable. You get a discount (15$ i.s.o. 26$) to visit the historic village!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soepkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The rooms are very very tasteful, clean, and stylish. One of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in. Big separate tub and walk-in shower, ipod dock, comfortable beds, beautiful location. The waterfalls are a few minutes away. This is located in a historical village, and so staying the night includes entrance to the site, dinner and breakfast. Beautiful vistas of Lac St Jean from the top of the cable car above the falls, and decent meals. Only 24 (? ish) rooms so its never busy - in the evening the park closes and only overnight guests are strolling around the historic mill town, viewing the lit falls. Very restful and beautiful. English is spoken by staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mud21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is an historic village which had been a logging town but had been anbandoned. It has now been revitalised as a tourist venue where some of the buildings have been refurbished to a very high standard to be used as accommodation.
The building we were in was the ground (first?) floor of a two-storey house, was extremely comfortable, well-appointed, and warm. To stay here you have to partake in a half-board package, as it is miles away from habitation.
The restaurant serves top-quality food - both for dinner and breakfast. We were there at the very end of the season, so perhaps this would explain why the menu wqas the same each night. As we were there only two nights, it was not a problem.
Part of the package is to see all the old mill, school and other buildings. The 'chute' (waterfall) was awe-inspiring - though not on the scale of Niagara Falls, it was equally impressive.
A wonderful experience which was well worth the money, and we would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling-man38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I had never stayed in such a place before - a historic site in beautiful Lac St-Jean. But the rooms are amazing - tasteful, fully equipped and EXTREMELY comfortable. The price is actually very reasonable when the quality of the rooms are taken into account, along with breakfast and dinner and access to the site itself. It is nice to be able to stroll around Val-Jalbert in the evening, when most of the crowds have left, and the waterfall is beautifully lit up after sundown. The food was very good at dinner, although not exceptional. One minor quibble might be that the service in the dining room could be improved a bit to reflect the general quality of the establishment, and they could try to offer more local products (cheeses etc) which the Lac St-Jean area excels in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chambord
20.3 mi away
Hotel du jardin
Hotel du jardin
#1 of 4 in Saint-Felicien
171 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel De La Borealie
Hotel De La Borealie
#2 of 4 in Saint-Felicien
146 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Chateau Roberval
Hotel Chateau Roberval
#3 of 3 in Roberval
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Auberge des Berges
Auberge des Berges
#3 of 4 in Saint-Felicien
61 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chalets & Spa Lac Saint-Jean
5.1 mi away
Motel Roberval
Motel Roberval
#1 of 3 in Roberval
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village historique de Val-Jalbert - Hebergement et Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village historique de Val-Jalbert - Hebergement et Camping

Property: Village historique de Val-Jalbert - Hebergement et Camping
Address: 95, rue Saint-Georges, Chambord, Quebec G0W 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean Region > Chambord
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chambord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village historique de Val-Jalbert - Hebergement et Camping 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel back to 1927 with the help of colourful characters who will reveal the secrets of this authentic company village with its forty original buildings. You'll be amazed by the Ouiatchouan Falls, which are higher than Niagara. On the 2nd and 3rd floors of the general store and period homes, conveniently located in the village center, you can enjoy rooms with contemporary comfort inspired by the 1920's. Accommodation offert in package includind dinner and breakfast. Enjoy a well deserved rest at one of our many camping sites, with or without service and conveniently nestled near the Ouiatchouan River. Experience with your family one our mini-cottages located nearby the river. For family, heated swimming pool and water games will delight the hot days of summer. Special rte for access to the Historic Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Village historique de Val-Jalbert - Hebergement et Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Historique De Val-Jalbert - Hebergement Et Camping Chambord, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing