We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pie on the earth”

The Three Horseshoes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic small country cozy pub with real ale and fire (and small dog basking in front of it), traditional home cooking and a warm welcoming atmosphere. Under the new management of Jessica O'Gorman.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pie on the earth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Landlord makes great pies (including one called steak and landlord, which contrary to my expectation did not contain cuts off mein host but an ale called Landlord). They provided a take away service as we were eating in friends' self catering accommodation in the nearby Orangery, part of the Frampton Court Estate.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    39
    10
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traditional Country Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This really is a wonderful find if you like an unspoilt country pub. No frills, lovely people, cracking ale, terrific location and a mean pie served fresh. One of my favourites; just wish we could get there more often. Thanks for keeping this pub as a reminder of village life as it was, and as it should be and is here right now.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Such a welcoming place! Dog friendly and service beyond anything u would expect from a small country pub.
THE PIES!! wow! I will be coming here again for one of those!
Amazing value for money, no skimping on portions and served by a lady who looks like an illustration from a children's book.
Anyone who rates this pub as being 'poor' is obviously suffering from attention seeking issues.
Great place. Amazing food. Decent people.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonerlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Warning signs were there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived here at just before13.45 and felt we could not search any longer for some lunch. This was a mistake as the warning signs were there, cigarette butts on the ground around the outside tables, a full and filthy ashtray on one of the tables, shabby and tired frontage, string hanging from a hanging basket bracket and unkempt tables. Everything suggested "We don't know what we're doing and we just don't care".

We struggled to order food from the somewhat strange selection of three in one "pies" and opted for an egg mayo sandwich (which proved the better option of the bunch), a mushroom omelette which came with chips and a turkey sandwich. The omelette arrived with no garnish and was terribly overcooked, resembling rubber. The chips were the best part of this meal and even the dog had to be coerced into tackling the omelette. The turkey sandwich consisted of compressed turkey roll (my partner had assumed he would receive carved turkey breast from a home-cooked turkey although I'd tried hinting by facial expression that I thought this a bad choice!).

This is one of the worst pub lunches we've ever had. It was embarrassing as the pub clearly thinks it's offering good food - astounding in such a wonderful setting. More alarming are the previous reviews claiming to have eaten such wonderful food in this tragic establishment. Reading them it seems that quantity impresses regardless of quality, Imagine that any vegetables served here would be horribly overcooked, as would roast beef or lamb. Thankfully we'll never have to face this challenge.

As if the apology for food was not enough to drive customers from the door, the refuse lorry arrived and proceeded to reverse virtually through the front door of the pub, a huge stinking industrial wheely bin was delivered to it and with all the accompanying noise and smell the lorry swallowed up previous culinary disasters.

Subsequently an old black BMW then drove up and stopped next to our table, vomiting out copious toxic exhaust fumes. Two less than appealing "locals" got out and approached a door next door to the pub. There then followed a foul mouthed conversation revolving around various drinking habits and over indulgences and then the female of the party came back to the car, opened the bonnet and proceeded to investigate the workings of the engine - just too local and too revolting...

What a sad waste of what appears as a rather attractive building (from the outside because the inside is depressingly dark and oppressive\). This is a tragic apology for a country pub and we were shocked this was acceptable service in any way on what appears the model village green.

This pub represents all that is bad in British pub food. The girl serving was pleasant enough but quality and excellent service are clearly alien concepts in this establishment - it's not acceptable to serve food of this poor quality and to charge for it. It's as if this place is totally unaware of the push there has been over the last few years to improve qualilty of food, presentation and service.

Dire and disgraceful, slovenly and third rate. This sort of place should stick to serving drinks and crisps only. We've had several disappointments over the last few days and have decided not to risk any further disasters and will be dining "chez nous" during the rest of our holiday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeShoesPub, Public Relations Manager at The Three Horseshoes, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Jane,
Our sincerest apologies if you felt the standard of our food fell below what you would expect. However as I was the person who served you I would like to have a chance to respond to your criticisms...
Our pub would usually shut at 14:00 and the kitchen at 13:45, when you arrived at 13:45 we did explain that this was the case, however as you mentioned you had been searching for lunch we agreed to accommodate you. The chef came out to personally explain the composition of our best selling 'three shu pie', and to ask if there were any dietary requirements or if you had any particular preferences at which point he elderly lady accompanying you ordered the omelette and requested "not too many chips as she wasn't that hungry". I personally delivered the sandwiches first, complete with crisps and garnish. I returned to the kitchen to fetch the freshly cooked omelette and upon my return to your table asked if you were getting on ok with your sandwiches (an emphatic yes if I remember correctly). I fetched the lady having the omelette salt, pepper, vinegar and mayonnaise and again checked if all was ok. Again I was assured it was. I am extremely dissappointed that despite both my and other staff members presence and I like to think friendly manner you felt you needed to write such a review rather than complain directly, ask for an alternative meal or your money back? Having cleared the plates I also note they were empty.

Unfortunately during your time outside our pub the scheduled waste disposal arrived. As much as we go above and beyond to recycle and compost, running a pub does produce waste, waste which was scheduled to be picked up at a time the pub would usually have been shut, so as to not disturb customers. It is also a shame that you felt some of our locals undesirable, although they weren't patronising the pub at that time, many of the villagers are patrons and we treat them all with equal respect and do not judge. The driver would have undoubtedly accommodated you had you asked him to pull forward slightly to avoid the fumes. Too local?

We use the string to secure the hanging baskets and prevent accidents, unfortunately the basket in question had been removed that morning as part of our spring planting and was replaced later that day. I do however apologise for the cigarette butts outside, on that day we had been unable to complete our usual full cleaning schedule as the landlady was in bed with severe tonsillitis and as such we were short staffed.

Again, please accept my apologies for standard you feel you received. Would you please contact us either on 01452 742100 or email threehorseshoespub@hotmail.co.uk to discuss your issues and how we may improve for future customers.
Thank you and Kind Regards,
Beccy O'Gorman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is the ultimate Sunday lunch - it's like your favourite Aunt cooking all your favourite stuff and the service is terrific. We counted seven veg, the beef we had melted in the mouth, the Yorkshire pudding was perfect and we even got extra gravy in a jug. We couldn't believe that people weren't queuing out of the door for this. It's a two course job for about £11 and both courses were lovely - we had bread and butter pudding surprise for afters and it was great....lovely custard and wonderful surprise (it was yummy apple.) The beer was excellent too.

They only do Sunday lunch once a month and i am sure they would do it more often if enough people put the word around about how great this is. We spoke to another couple and they said it was the best pub Sunday lunch they had tasted - it's not just us saying this.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobMc321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Horseshoes also viewed

Frampton on Severn, Cotswolds
Stonehouse, Stroud
 
Frampton on Severn, Cotswolds
Gloucestershire, England
 
Whitminster, Cotswolds
Slimbridge, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Three Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing