We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good lunch”
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bell Inn
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We really enjoyed our lunch at The Bell - there is an extensive and varied menu and the food and service were both excellent.
The Bell is in a lovely spot, on the edge of the enormous village green and has the added attraction of a small animal enclosure - with chickens, pig, ponies etc for children (and adults to enjoy).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crispin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 82 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

Noticed this hotel as we were driving past after a long tiring journey and decided to enquire about overnight accommodation. We were given a really friendly welcome by the manager (?) Gary, who offered us a choice of 2 differently priced rooms - one at £60 and one at £90, both inclusive of a brilliant continental-style breakfast which was provided in the room so that we could eat and leave at our leisure. We chose the £60 room (slightly smaller than the £90 room) as it was only for one night - everything we needed, and Gary came to check the room and breakfast items to make sure everything was as required. We had an evening meal in the restaurant - the waitress service and food quality were both good.
The hotel has a lovely and picturesque position next to the cricket pitch on the village green - we were able to sit out at one of the tables with a drink from the (very reasonably) priced bar and enjoy watching a game of cricket !
We will certainly visit the Bell Inn again and can recommend it to anyone else who enjoys a quiet and rural location away from all the bustle of a big town.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are maybe quietest from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Visited this Inn for a birthday lunch and it was a real gem. The location had a little bit of "Midsommer" about it, with a large village green and the Bell at the heart of it.
When we arrived the Pub was busy with a warm atmosphere. We did not have to wait long to be shown to our table and was made to feel welcome.
We all started with the deep fried brie and I was surprised that they did not use the cheap catering portions I would normally get in a Pub. We then went for the blackboard specials, with my Wife and Daughter going for the Sea Bass and being a meat lover, I went for the mixed grill. Both the fish and the grill was superb and the portions very generous. The puddings were of equal quality although I had to share being a little full.
This was the best pub food experience I have had for some years and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joy891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We have eaten at The Bell on a number of occasions and never had cause for complaint. However, after our meal this evening (Bank Holiday Monday) we shan't bother to return. The place was half empty which makes me think it has probably gone downhill. Our food took over an hour to arrive and then garlic bread arrived alone despite our specific request that it be served with the meal. There was then a further twenty minutes before the rest of our food was served. There were no burgers available at all. Caesar salad was a pile of iceberg lettuce with a couple of slices of chicken on top. The lasagne was completely tasteless. The steak that was ordered rare arrived medium. Just dire! To finish it all the ladies toilet was a complete mess with bits of toilet paper thrown all over the place. I don't understand what has happened to this place! Definitely not recommended!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank PippaPlumtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We make it to the Bell on a regular basis either with the kids (Teenagers) or with friends. I recommend it to every one. Work the Specials, Thursday Steak and Chips £5 proper 8oz steak no frills just chips. Friday is is fish and chips served in paper, excellent portion size (I always have to help the wife with hers...shame).
This is not a world class eating establishment just an excellent village country pub. It looks out on the village Green and cricket pitch. Large car park and kids are at the back for the little ones. Service can be a bit challenged as they on some nights are the victims of their own success.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkSouthWestGrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We visited The Bell for my Birthday because we knew it had a nice beer garden and space to play for our children. However, the service from the bar staff was awful from the beginning - unhelpful and rude. Their attitude was just unbelievable. The meal we'd ordered for our young son (should have been a plain burger but turned out to be a chilli burger) was far too spicy for him - he took one bite and couldn't eat anymore. Rather than being helpful the staff were completely rude - refused to change it or to refund any of what we'd paid for the meal. Two of the staff had a stand-up argument with my husband and I - even though the chilli was plainly visible they remained adamant that it was the meal we'd ordered and therefore they would not change it. This was despite having had a conversation with them before we'd ordered the food explaining that our son didn't like spicy food.
I've had poor meals at restaurants before - but if the staff handle the situation well you can sometimes look beyond that and put it down to an off-night - but the attitude from the bar staff here was appalling.
I would never visit here again - and would advise anyone else against eating or staying here. Such a shame as the location is good for families.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bristolsweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Beautiful, large room. Delightful staff. Lunch was excellent - the seafood platter was well worth a go. Lack of a cooked breakfast was vaguely disappointing. Location couldn't be more idyllic - looking out over the village green/cricket pitch.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Address: The Green, Frampton on Severn GL2 7EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Frampton on Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Frampton on Severn
Price Range: $103 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Frampton On Severn
The Bell Inn Frampton On Severn, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing