We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal out in ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best meal out in ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Eat out quite a bit, went with friends on a Groupon voucher on Fri evening, the food was outstanding, can't wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    54
    45
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rude female staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My partner, his sons and I went here with a groupon voucher.
The food was ok, but our visit was overshadowed by the rudeness of the female staff!!! With the voucher we got four glasses of wine. Because we had two teenagers with us, we asked for two wines and two soft drinks. Which was very rudely refused by one of the barmaids ( the manager )?
She didn't even give us a reason and was very unfriendly and obnoxious.
We definitely won't go back!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kika999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“disappointing meal in a chilly restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The service was poor, we waited for ages for a dessert order to be taken, then got the wrong one! the food mediocre but it was cold in the room. Don't think we will be back

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
161 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food and Servicex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Excellent meal - we went twice - lunch and dinner. traditional and modern. Good range of beers and wines and a lively atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank aquarianmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pub well worth a visit!! Pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed at this fantastic village pub/ inn/ restaurant whilst on a short break. I have read a few of the comments on here and for someone who travels the whole country this stay has been my best yet! The food, staff, villagers, and the pub in general was all fantastic I have never felt more welcome. Not only does the staff treat you as a friend but also so do the other customers. Whilst I was in there having a drink a couple also staying here commented how fantastic it was and they will be returning as soon as they can as I will be too with family. The service was very quick when arriving for food I was shown to a table very quickly and after I ordered My food it came out very well presented, hot and a beaming smile from the waitress which I haven't experienced this kind of service in a long time. The villagers that I spoke to told me that it is very rare that they go outside of the village for a meal the one comment was "why spend money on petrol when there is no need to with a pub like this!". The owner and his wife who was very friendly and welcoming whilst chatting with them at the bar, I did like this that the owners aren't afraid of mixing with the customers and chatting (very welcoming again). Fantastic pub you would be a fool not to eat here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

Frampton on Severn, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Berkeley, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing