We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short stay but a sweet one!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ship Inn
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A short stay but a sweet one!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were made very welcome, even though we arrived to check in just when the owners were resting after a busy lunchtime in the restaurant. And they found room for us in the bar in the evening when the restaurant was almost overflowing (an we hadn't booked a table!) so that we could still enjoy a very good meal.
Our room was clean and pleasant and well supplied (even, unusually, botled water to complement the tea/coffee-making equipment) We were in Room 2 situated above the bar/restaurant, but even with a lively crowd on Saturday night all was quiet by 11.15.
Special mention for the gluten-free adjustment to a full-English breakfast, as well as to the evening meal.
Unfortunately the TV reception was poor - and the tide was out on the Severn (just visible through the rooftops from our window).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fisher-and-friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    27
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
66
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Deux-Sevres, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

V pretty place; v friendly welcoming staff (so far so good!).....we went for lunch, I had the wild boar burger which basically tasted like a flattened sausage; my daughter had (enormous) roast chicken. She said the gravy had no taste, the chicken was ok, everything else was indifferent. My burger was ok-ish, certainly not the ***** we were expecting from other reviews. My dessert I think came out of a box, the cream was from an aerosol, the coffee was instant - very disappointing. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank potterer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Ship is our preferred local, and so when we were looking for a venue for a post Christening event, The Ship was our first choice. We booked The Ship to cater for 60+ guests following our son's Christening and they closed to regular customers to allow us use of the premises all afternoon. The food and service was first class. We had agreed on the food beforehand and we were not disappointed with a well presented and laid out table, and many were able to enjoy more than one helping.
The weather was glorious, so the large courtyard and lawned garden was ideal. Had the weather not been so good, there was a large upstairs room which would have been our contingency, as it would have been cosy with us all in the bar and restaurant area.
Many of our friends had not been to Newnham before and although they were not staying over, they have said they will return and stop at The Ship because they had such a good time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CVMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

visted the ship inn saturday lunchtime with my family, we had the chicken burgers, they were very disappointing,it was hard to believe it was actually chicken, a very flat perfectly round burger, not as described on the menu, looked and tasted like a value burger. didnt complain but mentioned we were disappointed on paying and the ?landlady or maybe she was bar staff had such a bad attitude. we will not be returning, pleasant location and decor but let down by quality of the food and the surliness of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I live on the East side of the Severn and I've always wondered what's on the other side: so for my birthday I went! The Ship has lovely rooms which look exactly as on their website. Carrie is very welcoming and friendly. The pub restaurant is comfortable and cosy: there are only a few tables which ensures you receive a personal service. The food is stunning. We had the best baked camembert I've ever tasted and a perfectly cooked blue steak.
Newnham itself is fascinating. The residents have researched the history of each building and placed blue laminated cards on some of the properties along the high street explaining what each one use to be. It makes for an interesting walk. There's a carpark on the bank of the estuary at the bottom end of the street, which has toilets and a snack van (which is open early in the morning if you're there to catch a bore). Newnham is set in beautiful countryside if you want a further walk, and there's a great circular walk for geocachers. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The room (#2) was beautiful but I found my mattress was too hard for me and £90 was a bit steep. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally-Anne373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We recently spent two nights at The Ship Inn. The main purpose of our visit was to witness the Severn Bore. We were welcomed and made to feel completely at home from the word go. Carrie was warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. She was flexible regarding Breakfast times to enable us to witness the Bore and view it from different venues. Very much appreciated Carrie - thank you. The hearty full English was superb and produced to a high quality. The evening meal was also first class and really good value. We will definately be returning to the Ship and hopefully next time we will be lucky enough to stay in Room 6 with the fantastic views over the Severn Estuary. Thanks again for a truly relaxing and enjoyable break.
Sheryl & Kevin Barnett

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I recently spent an night at The Ship Inn. The reception from Carrie was very warm, and the ambience warm and friendly also.

We both tucked into a fantastic English Breakfast the following morning with produce that was of very high quality, and I should no, as I used to be a chef, (albeit it Pastry!)

I would definately recommend The Ship Inn to anybody visiting the area.

I look forward to coming back. Many Thanks, Jessie Madill, Surrey

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newnham-on-Severn
4.4 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Belfry Hotel
The Belfry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Littledean
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Littledean House Hotel
Littledean House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Littledean
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Brayne Court Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: High Street, Newnham-on-Severn GL14 1BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Newnham-on-Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newnham-on-Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn is situated in the High Street of the picturesque village of Newnham-on-Severn on the west bank of the river. Once well-known as a port, today the village is regarded as one of the favourable observation points for the Severn Bore. History of the village dates back to the Middle Ages.The Ship Inn with its recently refurbished rooms, all equipped with flat screen TVs, DVD players, Wi Fi internet access and superior finishes, is a great place to make a base whilst you explore the surrounding area.Some of the rooms have amazing views of the River Severn, a great place to see the amazing natural phenomenon of the Severn Bore!When you eat at The Ship Inn you’ll experience great tasting, well presented food … so good that you’ll want to return again and again like so many of our food loving diners and guests.All the food is freshly prepared on the premises and sourced from local suppliers. We endeavour to only use foods that are in season and only of the highest quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing