We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our son's Christening”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Ship is our preferred local, and so when we were looking for a venue for a post Christening event, The Ship was our first choice. We booked The Ship to cater for 60+ guests following our son's Christening and they closed to regular customers to allow us use of the premises all afternoon. The food and service was first class. We had agreed on the food beforehand and we were not disappointed with a well presented and laid out table, and many were able to enjoy more than one helping.
The weather was glorious, so the large courtyard and lawned garden was ideal. Had the weather not been so good, there was a large upstairs room which would have been our contingency, as it would have been cosy with us all in the bar and restaurant area.
Many of our friends had not been to Newnham before and although they were not staying over, they have said they will return and stop at The Ship because they had such a good time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CVMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for The Ship Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 111 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

visted the ship inn saturday lunchtime with my family, we had the chicken burgers, they were very disappointing,it was hard to believe it was actually chicken, a very flat perfectly round burger, not as described on the menu, looked and tasted like a value burger. didnt complain but mentioned we were disappointed on paying and the ?landlady or maybe she was bar staff had such a bad attitude. we will not be returning, pleasant location and decor but let down by quality of the food and the surliness of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I live on the East side of the Severn and I've always wondered what's on the other side: so for my birthday I went! The Ship has lovely rooms which look exactly as on their website. Carrie is very welcoming and friendly. The pub restaurant is comfortable and cosy: there are only a few tables which ensures you receive a personal service. The food is stunning. We had the best baked camembert I've ever tasted and a perfectly cooked blue steak.
Newnham itself is fascinating. The residents have researched the history of each building and placed blue laminated cards on some of the properties along the high street explaining what each one use to be. It makes for an interesting walk. There's a carpark on the bank of the estuary at the bottom end of the street, which has toilets and a snack van (which is open early in the morning if you're there to catch a bore). Newnham is set in beautiful countryside if you want a further walk, and there's a great circular walk for geocachers. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The room (#2) was beautiful but I found my mattress was too hard for me and £90 was a bit steep. For...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally-Anne373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We recently spent two nights at The Ship Inn. The main purpose of our visit was to witness the Severn Bore. We were welcomed and made to feel completely at home from the word go. Carrie was warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. She was flexible regarding Breakfast times to enable us to witness the Bore and view it from different venues. Very much appreciated Carrie - thank you. The hearty full English was superb and produced to a high quality. The evening meal was also first class and really good value. We will definately be returning to the Ship and hopefully next time we will be lucky enough to stay in Room 6 with the fantastic views over the Severn Estuary. Thanks again for a truly relaxing and enjoyable break.
Sheryl & Kevin Barnett

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I recently spent an night at The Ship Inn. The reception from Carrie was very warm, and the ambience warm and friendly also.

We both tucked into a fantastic English Breakfast the following morning with produce that was of very high quality, and I should no, as I used to be a chef, (albeit it Pastry!)

I would definately recommend The Ship Inn to anybody visiting the area.

I look forward to coming back. Many Thanks, Jessie Madill, Surrey

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our second short stay at The Ship Inn. The usual spacious and clean room with 4 poster bed. Very comfortable accomodation.

The menu has changed since our last stay and now focusses on wonderful and innovative burgers. The crispy duck burger was delicious as was the 'pudding' burger. Welcoming 'mein hosts', and a good breakfast to boot.

Reasonable rates add to the 'what more could you ask for'? factor. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Perhaps one away from the main road which can get busy in the early morning.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerseyJilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We made a very last minute booking for the Ship Inn and from the initial phone call got good vibes about the place. Our room was spotless with everything that we hoped for even including fluffy robes. It had a stunning view over the Severn- very photogenic.
The Inn was a well contrived mix of a very traditional bar with welcoming coal fire and a slightly more bistrot style restaurant. We enjoyed dinner on both evenings of our stay and the lasagne was memorable and that alone will certainly lure us back. We wish we had had room for more of the home made ice cream.
The cooked breakfasts were carefully prepared and set us up for the whole day ,excellent!
Above all we appreciated the friendliness of our hosts who made us feel so welcome and special. Thanks both of you. Newnham is lucky having such a good place to meet, eat and drink!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard_mitchell17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshipinnnewnham, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for the comments on your stay, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay aboard The Ship !
Was a pleasure to have your company, we hope to see you again in the future. Adrian & Carrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newnham-on-Severn
4.4 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
750 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Belfry Hotel
The Belfry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Littledean
136 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blaisdon House B&B
Blaisdon House B&B
#1 of 1 in Blaisdon
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Swan House Newnham
#2 of 4 in Newnham-on-Severn
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: High Street, Newnham-on-Severn GL14 1BY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Newnham-on-Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newnham-on-Severn
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn is situated in the High Street of the picturesque village of Newnham-on-Severn on the west bank of the river. Once well-known as a port, today the village is regarded as one of the favourable observation points for the Severn Bore. History of the village dates back to the Middle Ages.The Ship Inn with its recently refurbished rooms, all equipped with flat screen TVs, DVD players, Wi Fi internet access and superior finishes, is a great place to make a base whilst you explore the surrounding area.Some of the rooms have amazing views of the River Severn, a great place to see the amazing natural phenomenon of the Severn Bore!When you eat at The Ship Inn you’ll experience great tasting, well presented food … so good that you’ll want to return again and again like so many of our food loving diners and guests.All the food is freshly prepared on the premises and sourced from local suppliers. We endeavour to only use foods that are in season and only of the highest quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing