We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ship Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Belfry Hotel(Littledean)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
DeanGate Motel(Lydney)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonehouse Court(Stonehouse)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penyard House(Weston under Penyard)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
67
27
11
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
27
11
4
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 111 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We went there while on holiday in Gloucestershire. We had heard of their famous RAT burger, not a real rat of course. Its a lamb burger with 'Rosemary And Thyme'. It comes in a bun with an onion ring, rosti, and trimming. Absolutely delicious. Would recommend. Not like your usual burger meal. The puddings too are irresistable. The staff were very friendly and service was quick and efficient. So if you fancy a burger with a difference I would recommend The Ship Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We cant praise this hotel highly enough room was excelant food was fantastic service brilliant they even asked me if i wanted to park my motorbike securely in a store how thoughtful was that ????? we will be returning to try another or the stunning burgers may be even the massive titanic burger but may have to share it as no way could i eat one on my own ...... just add the ice cream was beutifull we will be back
Sue and Terry

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshipinnnewnham, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay and the food you ate. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back onboard The Ship soon!

Kindest Regards Adrian & Carrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Wow this place has an amazing selection of gourmet burgers which won't disappoint. I had the Donald (crispy duck) burger and it was a delicious change from the norm. My boyfriend couldn't resist the challenge of the Titanic burger and enjoyed every last mouthful. Leave room for the puddings though because you won't be disappointed - the homemade icecream is gorgeous and the sticky toffee sundae is simply stunning. You can enjoy all of this yummy food in relaxed, clean and friendly surroundings and all the staff took the time to chat and make us feel very welcome. This place is a must for any visit to The Forest of Dean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshipinnnewnham, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are both delighted that you enjoyed your experience at The Ship so much! We look forward to meeting you both again
Adrian & Carrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had read about the gourmet burgers made at this Resturant in our rented cottage comments book. We were not disappointed! Burgers were stunning (there is a Titanic burger available - three burger meals in one!) and puddings also just as good. They were trialling a sticky toffee sundae - ask for this, you won't be disappointed; very creamy homemade ice-cream. Nice atmosphere and easy to park. £33 for two burger meals, drinks and pudding. (14 August 2012)

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Trumno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We called in to the Ship Inn for a family meal on Thursday August 2nd. There were seven of us, 5 adults two kids. We hadn't booked. We were welcomed by the hosts and offered two tables as the place was reasonably busy, this was OK by for us.. The place was spotless and the food excellent, the service was a little slow though and probably needs addressing. That said we were well looked after and were kept informed of the progress of our meal.

The house speciality is home made burgers, they were delicous as were the desserts.

We had a lovely time, the owners(?) Adrian and Carolyn were extremely helpful and attentive, good food, good atmospher and well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DingledogHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshipinnnewnham, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for the comments & kind words, sorry the service was a little slow, however, hope you enjoyed the prawn crackers while you waited. Hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews