We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ship Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Belfry Hotel(Littledean)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
DeanGate Motel(Lydney)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonehouse Court(Stonehouse)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
67
27
11
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
27
11
4
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 111 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We called in to the Ship Inn for a family meal on Thursday August 2nd. There were seven of us, 5 adults two kids. We hadn't booked. We were welcomed by the hosts and offered two tables as the place was reasonably busy, this was OK by for us.. The place was spotless and the food excellent, the service was a little slow though and probably needs addressing. That said we were well looked after and were kept informed of the progress of our meal.

The house speciality is home made burgers, they were delicous as were the desserts.

We had a lovely time, the owners(?) Adrian and Carolyn were extremely helpful and attentive, good food, good atmospher and well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DingledogHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshipinnnewnham, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for the comments & kind words, sorry the service was a little slow, however, hope you enjoyed the prawn crackers while you waited. Hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We went to the Ship just for some dinner and while the pub was bustling the restaurant was quiet. Was made to feel very welcome despite being the only people that night! Just had mains and I'm glad I didn't attempt a starter as the mains were very generous portions, all homemade and delicious. I had the asparagus and salmon fishcakes and my husband had the naked burger. Was so stuffed I couldnt fit in a pudding, which is very unusual for me. Will definitely be returning to try the Dessert Burger.
All in all, a wonderful restaurant, very nicely decorated, wonderfully welcoming and attentive staff and great food. If you haven't been, give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshipinnnewnham, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Pleased you enjoyed your meal! Maybe next time you can try our homemade Ice cream. Many thanks for the support and your comments. Hope to see you both soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

What a lovely please to eat put you feet up and relax with a great atmosphere a beautiful beer garden.The staff were more than happy to help with all our needs.they made us feel so welcome Great tasting burgers to you have got to try the famous R.A.T burger. This is one of the best places i have been to for a long time.The rooms are very comfortable and clean.The ship is situated in the beautiful village of newnham a couple of minuets walk down the road and your at the river seven.There is lots of lovely walks to go on in the forest of dean.the food over all in the restaurant was great and very reasonable priced.I would really recommend you try this one.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank northenlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The Ship Inn is advertised as the only dedicated burger and grill restaurant in the area and it certainly lives up to this with large portions of freshly cooked food for a very reasonable price!

On top of this the pub staff were friendly and helpful in every way throughout the meal. The RAT (Rosemary and Thyme) burger, which is their speciality, was brilliant and something a bit different to standard pub burgers. In terms of steak, it comes cooked just as requested and will not disappoint!

Overall, highly recommended to anyone in the area and we will certainly be returning on our next visit :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theshipinnnewnham, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Pleased you enjoyed your time with us, Makes working in the kitchen worth while when customers have enjoyed the experience of good food and a great night out. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I was lucky enough to win a competition with "Explore Gloucestershire" giving us a nights accommodation and evening meal at The Ship Inn. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Everyone was friendly and helpful.

The food in the restaurant was of exceptional standard. We ordered steak and it was cooked exactly as we asked, and was extremely tasty. The portion sizes were more than adequate and beautifully presented. The desserts were also delicious, especially the trio of ice-creams (which was the best ice-cream I have ever tasted!!!). The room we stayed in was well equiped with tea and coffee. There was a comfortable sofa and television, a very comfortable 4-poster bed and a great view of the River Severn from the window.

The breakfast was also top notch. Cereals and fruit juice were offered, and tea/coffee on your arrival at breakfast. A full english to your liking was provided and this was of very high standard.

I would recommend this hotel and we will be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews