We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place,Fantastic Host”
Review of Villa Resen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Resen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Resen
luton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place,Fantastic Host”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I stayed at Resen Lodge as one of a group of 8 walkers from Dunstable and we stayed for what proved to be an extremely enjoyable week.
The Lodge itself is in a perfect location for exploring the fasinating and unspoilt Bulgarian countryside. Its situated about 15 minutes drive from Veliko Tarnova and is on the outskirts of a small village which has bars, shops and a restaurant. There is also a small general store about 5 minutes walk away.
I had one of the 6 air conditioned double rooms, it was extremely clean and spacious with modern furniture. The bathroom was excellent with a very efficient shower. The lodge has a small and very comfortable bar and restaurant which is operated by the owner , Ronnie.
Probably the greatest asset of the place however was Ronnie . He devoted himself to the group, initially picking us up at Sofia at 3 in the morning for the 3 hour drive to the lodge. Cooking meals to our request or driving us to various locations, including some excellent restaurants. Using his extensive knowledge of all things Bulgarian he was able to set up and facilitate a number of first class walks. A more genial host you would be hard pressed to find.
I can totally recommend Resen Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LutonSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
3
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Devon, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I stayed here for 5 days with my son who has purchased some property in a nearby village, so it was a kind of business trip with a bit of holiday thrown in. My son had stayed here during March whilst property hunting and found it perfect for his needs (he moved to stay here from a hotel in Veliko Tarnova), so he booked for us both to stay here whilst I had a look at the houses he had purchased.

We arrived at about 2.00am and the owner Ronnie had very helpfully left the room (with key) ready for us without the need to disturb anyone. I think the best thing about Resen Lodge has to be the owner who is a really friendly and helpful Scottish guy who makes you feel so welcome. The rooms are a good size and are well appointed with everything you would need; we had a double bed and a single, with en-suite. The weather was getting hot at the end of May/early June so I was glad the air conditioning worked well. There are TVs and DVD players in the rooms, with a selection of DVDs and also some books. Our room felt very secure with 3 double glazed windows and door, though the whole area felt incredibly safe. We had no problems with wireless internet access in the room and it was faster than where we live in the UK!

There is a very comfortable bar and restaurant with large flat screen satellite TV. There is a further covered area for games etc but we didn't actually go in there as it was fairly quiet whilst we were there. We had breakfast most mornings and what a treat that was! Ronnie happily made whatever we asked for and is an excellent cook; the huge breakfast set us up for the day and I can honestly say that we did not need to eat again until the evening.

The location is about a 15 minute drive from Veliko Tarnova and a very easy and pretty drive. Ronnie took us into the city and also kindly took us to one of the nearby villages (and collected us).

We walked down to the centre of the village one evening, which took about 10 mins. We stopped in one of the bars there and were warmly welcomed. There is also a restaurant in the centre, which we didn't eat at (though my son ate there on his previous trip and said it was good), but to be honest you don't need to eat anywhere else as Ronnie is a great cook.

You won't go far wrong if you book Resen Lodge - it's a very relaxed place and I'm sure Ronnie will go the extra mile to make sure you have everything you need and a happy stay, whether on holiday or for business purposes. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluejuliette4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

a great place to unwind and see the beautiful countryside.
i was instantly at home and was regaled by ronnies stories and exploits.
his highland kilt is never far away. a true Scotsman.
long may he serve!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcgaboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I stayed 3 nights at Resen Lodge and found the accommodation very comfortable and the owner welcoming and helpful. Service was excellent, breakfasts good, and my need for peace, rest and quiet was respected.
I can heartily recommend Resen Lodge as very good value for money; lovely clean and comfortable room and great welcoming service with a smile.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Resen Lodge is a nice place with only 5 rooms, a bar/restaurant, a nice swimming pool (about 8 by 4 meters), a jacuzzi, a garden and two rabbits (Rabbit Pie and Rabbit Stew). Ronnie, the owner, is Scottish and very welcoming and helpful. We stayed 5 nights and very much enjoyed it. The restaurant works upon guests requests, you can get a great roasted chicken, or pizzas or other snacks. There's a large satellite TV in the restaurant room, and plenty of beer in the fridge !

Resen Lodge is a the entrance of Resen village, about 15km North of Veliko Turnovo. If you have a car it's an easy 15 min drive, otherwise Ronnie will be pleased to help you reaching his place ! A very quite surrounding in the countryside.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etienne_Plas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldershot
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Had a brilliant time at your place, was worried about my elderly parents but they actually showed me up, especially in the pool. They also expressed a desire to write and say how much they enjoyed themselves so thank you for all your help making this holiday a most memorable one. Will be recommending you to all our friends and family and anybody else that wishes to here about our holiday.

Mick and Tammy (the Spencer clan)

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank grizzlyAldershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We would thoroughly recommend Resen Lodge as being a great place to stay if you have small children, as we were there with our child and other family members with little ones. There is a great garden area for children to play in and of course the swimming pool. The rooms are tastefully decorated with comfortable beds and ensuite. The bar / eating area is within easy walking distance from the rooms and has a very comfortable and relaxed atmosphere.
The owner - Ronnie - does a great breakfast and at least once a week there is a curry night which is not to be missed.
If you are thinking of going to the area of Veliko Turnovo then Resen Lodge is an ideal base. It is about 10 - 15 minutes away from the city by car. There are lots of lovely places around the area to visit and Ronnie is very helpful in advising where the good places are.
We were only supposed to be at Resen Lodge for 1 week, but ended up staying for 2 because of the Volcanic Ash. I am so pleased we were stranded there as we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Even though it is a great place for families, it is not exclusively for families and anybody from backpackers to honeymoon couples would enjoy staying there and making the most of the warm, friendly, relaxing environment.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadybirdCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Resen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Resen

Property: Villa Resen
Address: Dubrodja street # 2 | Veliko Tarnovo, Resen 5060, Bulgaria (Formerly Resen Lodge)
Location: Bulgaria > Veliko Tarnovo Province > Resen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Resen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six double bedrooms with air-con or fan, Summer kitchen (bar), Barbecue, Table tennis, Billiards, Volleyball, Badminton, Bike hire, Children's play area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing