We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highland fling”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Resen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Resen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Resen
Elena, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“highland fling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

a great place to unwind and see the beautiful countryside.
i was instantly at home and was regaled by ronnies stories and exploits.
his highland kilt is never far away. a true Scotsman.
long may he serve!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcgaboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
3
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

I stayed 3 nights at Resen Lodge and found the accommodation very comfortable and the owner welcoming and helpful. Service was excellent, breakfasts good, and my need for peace, rest and quiet was respected.
I can heartily recommend Resen Lodge as very good value for money; lovely clean and comfortable room and great welcoming service with a smile.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

Resen Lodge is a nice place with only 5 rooms, a bar/restaurant, a nice swimming pool (about 8 by 4 meters), a jacuzzi, a garden and two rabbits (Rabbit Pie and Rabbit Stew). Ronnie, the owner, is Scottish and very welcoming and helpful. We stayed 5 nights and very much enjoyed it. The restaurant works upon guests requests, you can get a great roasted chicken, or pizzas or other snacks. There's a large satellite TV in the restaurant room, and plenty of beer in the fridge !

Resen Lodge is a the entrance of Resen village, about 15km North of Veliko Turnovo. If you have a car it's an easy 15 min drive, otherwise Ronnie will be pleased to help you reaching his place ! A very quite surrounding in the countryside.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etienne_Plas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldershot
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Had a brilliant time at your place, was worried about my elderly parents but they actually showed me up, especially in the pool. They also expressed a desire to write and say how much they enjoyed themselves so thank you for all your help making this holiday a most memorable one. Will be recommending you to all our friends and family and anybody else that wishes to here about our holiday.

Mick and Tammy (the Spencer clan)

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank grizzlyAldershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

We would thoroughly recommend Resen Lodge as being a great place to stay if you have small children, as we were there with our child and other family members with little ones. There is a great garden area for children to play in and of course the swimming pool. The rooms are tastefully decorated with comfortable beds and ensuite. The bar / eating area is within easy walking distance from the rooms and has a very comfortable and relaxed atmosphere.
The owner - Ronnie - does a great breakfast and at least once a week there is a curry night which is not to be missed.
If you are thinking of going to the area of Veliko Turnovo then Resen Lodge is an ideal base. It is about 10 - 15 minutes away from the city by car. There are lots of lovely places around the area to visit and Ronnie is very helpful in advising where the good places are.
We were only supposed to be at Resen Lodge for 1 week, but ended up staying for 2 because of the Volcanic Ash. I am so pleased we were stranded there as we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Even though it is a great place for families, it is not exclusively for families and anybody from backpackers to honeymoon couples would enjoy staying there and making the most of the warm, friendly, relaxing environment.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadybirdCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Resen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Resen

Property: Villa Resen
Address: Dubrodja street # 2 | Veliko Tarnovo, Resen 5060, Bulgaria (Formerly Resen Lodge)
Location: Bulgaria > Veliko Tarnovo Province > Resen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Resen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six double bedrooms with air-con or fan, Summer kitchen (bar), Barbecue, Table tennis, Billiards, Volleyball, Badminton, Bike hire, Children's play area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing