We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Knowles Lodge

Knowles Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Appletreewick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knowles Lodge
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Brilliant Stay”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were staying as we were guests at a local wedding.
Chris made us so welcome and at ease we arrived late to the wedding reception, tea on the terrace, was very refreshing arriving on one of the hottest days of the year. The Lodge is set in 17 acres of land which Chris gave us a mini guided tour of.
The room was spacious bed very comfortable and very clean.
Breakfast first class, hot fruit compote, freshly squeezed orange, and top quality produce for the full English breakfast. Would recommend this place to stay, would have been lovely to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We had room at the top, views could not be bettered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosyposy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were looking for accomodation for the night of my son's wedding in Appletreewick. Knowles Lodge was one of our options and we were tempted by the location and the photos available on the internet.
The Location really lived up to our expectations. The rooms were decorated beautifully and everything was of a high standard.
It is just a pity we did not have longer to enjoy the comfortable bed but unfortunately the breakfast window was only available until 9.00am. Perhaps this could be extended to take account of the guests' reason for their stay - that is in our case , a wedding finishing in the early hours of the morning.
Everything was definitely 5 star, with freshly squeezed orange juice and hot compote. Bacon and sausage perhaps could be improved. Poached egg was perfect !
Room rather cold - perhaps heating could remain on a little longer - however the bed itself more than made up for this.
Our hosts were very interesting and we loved our guided tour of the fantastic art work with Pam.
Wish we could have had a longer stay !

Room Tip: Ouir bed was probably the most comfortable and snuggly I have ever slept in !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeedsAsset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a 1 night stay at Knowles Lodge on 8th September whilst attending a family wedding. We received a warm welcome from Chris, who came to greet us from our car, and brought us tea to drink on the verandah. Our room was clean, spacious and had everything we might have needed for our short stay. We were a little worse for wear following the wedding, and were served with a wonderful breakfast that helped bring us round. The gardens are beautiful and peaceful, and the views are fantastic. We were made to feel at home, and enjoyed chatting to Chris and Pam. Chris is very funny! We would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend Knowles Lodge to family and friends. Do try the hot fruit and yoghurt for breakfast, but leave room for the equally delicious full English!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markandgaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My partner and I stayed 9th June 2012 for 1 night as part of our Dales Way walking holiday. The accommodation was immaculate and the breakfast 1st class.
Room for improvement: a TV in the room (although I suspect Chris likes to chat away with the guests in the lounge), biscuits in date, and the cold tap not running warm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Attended our friends wedding at the weekend and had a very pleasant stay at Knowles Lodge. Stunning setting and amazing views from our bedroom window. The hosts were eccentric in a good way and very welcoming and great to talk to. Breakfast was great and just wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GenTojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We have just had the pleasure of stopping in one of the nicest B&B's I have ever stayed in, the place its is beautiful, wonderful gardens and views to die for.

The owners Chris and Pam are first class, very welcoming and a pleasure to talk to, the breakfast was amazing, freshly squeezed orange juice, home made hot fruit compote and some of the best bacon I have ever eaten.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyAndHisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Great points:
1. Attractive large wooden chalet type building with lovely outside terrace to sit and look over the garden and distant views
2. Chris is a very entertaining host - a true raconteur
3. Breakfast is absolutely superb - only the very best ingredients were used. The house speciality hot fruit compote was fantastic and the sausages (which are bought by mail from the "Ginger Pig") were the best we had ever tasted.
4. We were given a lift to the nearby pub for our evening meal
Not so great points:
5. Our bedroom (the twin), whilst good, did not live up to its 5 star billing and felt a little ordinary and cramped.
6. Our request to change the feather bedding for foam pillows and blankets was responded to rather negatively and abruptly, although the change was then made without problem whilst we were out at our evening meal

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appletreewick
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
763 reviews
0.0 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grassington Lodge
Grassington Lodge
#1 of 21 in Grassington
565 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Knowles Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knowles Lodge

Property: Knowles Lodge
Address: Appletreewick, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Appletreewick
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Appletreewick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing