We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service!”
Review of The Dukes Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dukes Retreat
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Its a super place to get refresh yourself. Complete tranqulity around, lovely food, amazing view, good staff! A great experience at a visit of the hotel is inevitable. It gives u a complete comfortness and proves to be a great stress buster.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chiragt604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay with us. The team and I are delighted that you have carried back fond memories of your stay with us.

We are very happy to learn that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel and that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations. It is the encouraging feedback from patrons like you which keeps us motivated to strive for excellence in all aspects.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next vacation.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
There are newer reviews for The Dukes Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 817 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

My first visit to Dukes Retreat was a great experience. Would advise people to visit this lovely resort. Mr Rajesh Guleria (AGM) and team were very hospitable. Food is great too. Great geatway place with family. Kudos to the entire team at Dukes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterThane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit and for taking time to share your experience with us. I am so happy to know that you got to experience the best of our hospitality.

Our hotel offers an excellent setting for our guests to relax and unwind in serene surroundings and this is what our guests appreciate the most. We believe in exploring all opportunities to make the guests feel special and we did exactly that to ensure that you remember us fondly.

Thank you once again for your recognition and we hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is arguably the best Hotel in Khandala, and is located at a beautiful location right on a ridge. The best time to visit would be during the monsoon season from June to September or in the winter.
The mountains are clad in all shades of green, a pleasant sight to the travel weary visitor.
The rooms are spacious, quiet, and have all modern amenities like hot cold water, central airconditioning, etc. The swimming pool, while small, is clean, and they have a small jacuzzi too.
Negatives though few were:
Wifi was not free.
Some of the rooms are at quite a distance from the lobby and stairs
Conference hall and grounds are at a distance, one has to walk downhill and then descend a few dozen steps to reach them.

Room Tip: If you do not want to walk too much, chose rooms close to the Lobby and stairs.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSPMathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Dukes_Retreat, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent business trip to Khandala and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor with fellow travellers.

It fills us with immense delight to know that you found our services and the overall ambience of the place par excellence. In the lap of nature, Dukes Retreat is an ideal place for business or leisure travel.

We have also noted your feedback about the Wi Fi and the distance and are initiating appropriate actions to address the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of an even better experience.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The view from the room is amazing. .. room was amazing with a step down to a section with sofa and a big balcony overlooking the verdant hillside greenery and waterfall (monsoons only I guess though not sure)...... though the expressway below disturbs the quiet, the overall feel still remains amazing. . Just wish that the highway didn't go from below the same hillside. .. then it would have been perfect.

Very clean rooms. .. good service. .. restaurant spreads are also good and tasty. ..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HNK_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dukes, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing to patronize The Dukes Retreat and taking time out to share your experience.

All of us at The Dukes Retreat are delighted that you enjoyed the experience with us as much as we enjoyed being at your service.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of ensuring an even better experience.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed during long weekend with my family. My kids enjoyed every bits of stay. The best part was magnificient ghat view, one can lietrally see and hear the waterfall sound while relaxing in the sit-outs. Suman at reception Salim at Room Services was very cooperative and helpful. Athena Kaul was very effective Manager. But other guy at Recetion was arrogant amd non-cooperative, hence 1 star less !

Room Tip: Room No. 105 and all other adjoining Rooms was with the best view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akil Ahmed I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dukes, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing to patronize The Dukes Retreat and taking time out to share your experience.

All of us at The Dukes Retreat are delighted that you enjoyed the experience with us as much as we enjoyed being at your service.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of ensuring an even better experience.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wanted to take a break and looked on net for a place with excellent view of cliff and waterfalls. Also asked friends and most of them suggested Duke Retreat as we wanted to stay in the room and enjoy the view from there.
As soon as we entered the room, first thing that strikes is the size of the room, it is really big and made in two layers. First the bed room and then the sitting area with sufficient space left to use it as you want it :) Sitting area is enclosed with floor to ceiling glass window.
As requested Crib was made available as soon as we checked in (Many thanks to the mgmt).
When we reached there it was raining cats and dogs and visibility was very poor. But slowly and gradually clouds cleared and Boy!!! we had 5-6 water falls. So we had mountain tops surrounded by clouds, valley filled with waterfalls and we can enjoy them without getting wet. In the evening we went to the terrace and beauty of lonavala can be enjoyed 360 degree (Well almost) from this place.
But next morning we went to the restaurant for breakfast and we were spell bound the the view it offered. Please remember that we already had spent few hours admiring the view from room. Spread of breakfast is good, staff polite willing to offer help for infant (Milk, etc.).
I was so impressed with the restaurant view that next time I took my extended family for breakfast. :)
One point that needs to be mentioned is that some corporate meeting was going on and we saw lot of people but there food arrangement was done in a different restaurant so we were not impacted by such a large group.

Room Tip: Select Valley view on room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ViewWOCrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dukes, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing to patronize the Dukes Retreat and taking time out to share your experience.

All of us at The Dukes Retreat are delighted that you enjoyed the experience with us as much as we enjoyed being at your service.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of ensuring an even better experience.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for just one night on a corporate off-site. The rooms have been upgraded which is a nice move. The hotel is also undergoing a major refurbishment but that will take another year I guess. I was upgraded to a deluxe room and it was very nice. See pics. All the modern amenities, good bathroom fittings, large flat screen TV, separate seating area, balcony.

We had a full board package so ate the buffet all meals. The food was good and the spread was fairly extensive. Ended up paying about Rs. 8.5k for a single occupancy which included all meals and taxes.

The only downside was that it rained non-stop the entire day/night so I couldn't enjoy the view from my room or from the bar. Will have to visit again I guess.Check out is at 10am which is a little odd but worked out OK for us. I guess most people drive to the Resort from Mumbai (1.5/2 hours) or Pune (45 mins) and therefore the earlier check out time than most hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dukes, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you very much fro choosing to stay with us at The Dukes Retreat and taking time out to share your experience.

All of us are delighted that you enjoyed your experience as much as we enjoyed being at your service. We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of an even better experience.

On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen of The Dukes Retreat

Peter J. Pulliattu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khandala
2.2 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
6.8 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
521 reviews
2.7 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
663 reviews
2.8 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Retreat

Address: Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala > Khandala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Price Range: $126 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dukes Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dukes Retreat at Khandala is not more than a 15 minute picturesque drive away from Lonavala. The resort is a landmark located 1850 ft. above sea level. Keys Khandala is spread across 11 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, valley-view and the mesmerizing Western Ghats. The property benefits from being set in the lap of the flora of the region and nestles amidst waterfalls, nature trails and winding forest paths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Dukes Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Retreat Hotel Khandala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing