We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice weekend”
Review of The Dukes Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dukes Retreat
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A nice weekend”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Me and my husband decided to get out of mumbai on a saturday and we zeroed down on the dukes retreat.. We took the all meals package and booked ourselves into the deluxe room.. the meals are not bad and there is quite a bit of variety for both the vegetarians as well as the non vegetarians.. the property is nice (though there was some renovation going on) and the staff is helpful.. the pool is small but they have a nice table tennis, carrom and video game room which ensures that the patrons have a pleasant evening.. it is recommended to stay in the deluxe room as these rooms have a direct valley view.. the only issue being the staff keeps on roaming outside the room which leads to slight invasion of privacy.. the hotel provides for various activities (barbeque, trekking, yoga...obviously at a cost) which is an added benefit.. the hotel also has a kids pool and a kid play area which is a bonus if u are traveling with kids.. overall a nice experience and a complete recommendation to anyone who wants to stay there..

Room Tip: chose the deluxe rooms... they are slightly expensive than the executive rooms but have a better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitali w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSGuleria, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community .

We are glad you explored the hotel and sincerely appreciate you taking time to share your feedback . I am pleased to note that you had an overall nice weekend with us. We regret to note that we were unable to meet your expectations in a few areas. We have shared your concerns with the relevant teams.

The team and I eagerly await your next visit and assure you of your best services and attention at all times.


Best Wishes,


Rakeshwar Singh Guleria
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    388
    82
    26
    31
See reviews for
354
189
5
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nagpur, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Khandala being close from Pune and Mumbai, Dukes retreat is a very good weekend getaway for people of both these cities, though it can be enjoyed by others as well. Surrounded by rolling mountains and greenary around ,this place is a nature lovers dream come true. Variety of quisines is not much but the food is decent. Lovely and engaging facilities for the children makes this place a hot favourite for families as well as couples!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salonidab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSGuleria, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

I am pleased to note that we were able to make your stay comfortable and the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction. I have shared your feedback with the Food and Beverage team who would be delighted to enhance and add value to your dining experience on your next visit for any specific requirements that you may have on your next visit.

We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times and make Dukes your "getaway" home whenever you are in Khandala.

Best wishes,

Rakeshwar Singh Guleria
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hotel Rooms are very good, but beware of Theft in the room. I had my Samsung Galaxy note stolen from the room. The hotel management did not seem too interested in moving with speed and finding, from their staff, who had done it. We went through the motions of a police complaint etc. but, it was a big lesson, that even if it is a star facility, keeping all valuables in the room is not the brightest thing to do in Dukes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 935Ramesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSGuleria, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with Trip Advisor community .


We truly regret that you lost your cell phone from your room. During and even after your stay we have investigated this loss through an internal inquiry and our surveillance system. Whilst we encourage all our residents to use the electronic safes provided in each room for storing their valuables we also have a very robust investigation MO in the event of a loss of any valuable that may have been left around in or outside the room.
I can assure you that despite our best efforts we have not been able to find it. The matter is still being revisited and we will continue to update you via your email.

Warm regards

Rakeshwar Singh Guleria
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had been to this hotel for almost 4 times during different seasons .The view from the restaurant and the Bar is amazing,Especially during the rainy season ,you see the rain ladden clouds , the waterfall (though not perennial) ,a few monkey's (dont worry, there are big glass walls in between).
There was a good variety of food served at the buffet with lots of deserts to choose from.
The rooms are really spacious and secluded.
The hotel authorities used to bring in various artist to entertain the guest.There was a magic show while i was there.It was entertaining, especially for the kids .
Though the pool is clean,its not big .
There are many beautiful locations that are at walk able distance from the resort.But Lonawala city is bit far from the hotel.
Altogether it was a pleasant experiences and i would suggest this place to travelers who look forward to have a relaxed and unwinding experience at lonawala.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kannan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSGuleria, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor community.

It gives us infinite pleasure and joy to note that you had a comfortable stay and were able to take back fond memories. Our team is our strength and your appreciation inspires us tremendously . it is feedback from esteemed guests like you , which motivates the entire team to strive towards excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of making your home whenever you visit Khandala .


Best Wishes ,


Rakeshwar Singh Guleria
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel for two nights to attend a wedding. I left it with very mixed feelings. As a wedding location it left nothing to be desired: Nice sorroundings, beautiful decorations, spacious.
But as a hotel it wasn't as good. I got the impression, that someone wanted to build a very classy place here, but suddenly ran out of money and had to finish the construction fast&cheap. For instance the bathroom features very beautiful tiles, which are layed out poorly. The bedroom has a nice and original stone wall but a cheap fake-wood floor with even some nails pointing out.
A quite spacious room with comfortable beds, but you never get more than half a roll of toilet paper.
Further, it was impossible to get a second keycard for our double room, which meant that both of us had to return to our room at the same time at night.
Also, it took us three calls and half a day to get hold of a hairdryer and the next day the reception called my room at 7am to ask it back.
Internet, by the way, is terrible slow.

To wrap it up: The Duke's has the potential to be a very nice hotel indeed, if it was run properly

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSGuleria, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and regret that we were unable to meet your expectations in a few areas. Let me assure you that we have shared your feedback with the relevant teams and corrective action is initiated. I would request you to give us another opportunity to serve you and offer you a better experience on your next visit.

We look forward to your return.

Best wishes,

Rakeshwar Singh Guleria
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

One of the best property to get a great view of Khandala. Staff is very courteous and friendly. The Game of Tambola in the evening is good fun. Buffet is strictly ok, preferable order for room service.
The cafe is very good place to unwind.
Rooms are spacious, very well maintained and clean. Opt for room with valley view..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khush156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSGuleria, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your memorable experience with the TripAdvisor community.
I am glad you explored the hotel and delighted to note that you had a relaxed and comfortable stay with us. It is rewarding to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.
We look forward to your visits and every endeavor will be made to ensure that Dukes becomes your home whenever you visit Khandala.

Best wishes

Rakeshwar Singh Guleria
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is the third or 4th time I am coming here. Came with my family this time and currently I am writing in from Duke's only. Nice staff, hospitality is good, Staff is courteous, friendly. The ambience is good, serene and quiet. Only the food is not something to be raved about. More oily and less tasty. It has always been like this here. Wish they would look into the quality of food here. Otherwise I would recommend this place for a weekend stay. Not very far from Thane & Mumbai. Must come every monsoon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_Alok_Modi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSGuleria, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor community .

We appreciate you taking time to share your feedback which helps us to review and improve our services from time to time . It was pleasure and honor to host you again at the Dukes Retreat .
I sincerely regret that your dining experience was not up to your expectation . I have shared your feedback with chef and let me assure you that corrective action has been initiated.

We request the pleasure of serving you again and an opportunity of offering you a better experience . I look forward to meeting you on your next visit .

Best wishes

Rakeshwar Singh Guleria
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khandala
2.2 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
6.8 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
865 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
195 reviews
2.8 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
1.4 mi away
Mystica Resort
Mystica Resort
#3 of 6 in Khandala
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Retreat

Property: The Dukes Retreat
Address: Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala > Khandala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dukes Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dukes Retreat at Khandala is not more than a 15 minute picturesque drive away from Lonavala. The resort is a landmark located 1850 ft. above sea level. Keys Khandala is spread across 11 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, valley-view and the mesmerizing Western Ghats. The property benefits from being set in the lap of the flora of the region and nestles amidst waterfalls, nature trails and winding forest paths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Dukes Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Retreat Hotel Khandala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing