We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahh..!!! BEAUTIFUL....”
Review of The Dukes Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dukes Retreat
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The property is on the top of the khandala ghat giving you the most beautiful view of the valley , the mountains , the sky , the rains, the waterfalls and the greenary ... The rooms (Deluxe Rooms) are nicely designed to give u a perfect view and are also very clean..The food is absolutely gr8 but with less amount of options in the menu...The staff is very courteous and on toes to give u their best (Mr. Yuvraj at the Dutchess ).... The reservation was also handled very nicely by Mr. Abhishek.S... Sp thanks to Athena K and Mr. Rakesh for managing the hotel and the staff so effeciently and making our stay memoreable for the life time.. Keep up the Good work guys... and send in some good DISCOUNT PACKAGES ;-) ...

Room Tip: Guys Def go for the Deluxe Rooms....
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arpitmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaGM, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

It was indeed a pleasure meeting you both. We feel rewarded to know that you had a memorable stay with us and we were able to make your experience special. Your appreciation for our team members is truly very inspiring, which will motivate them to achieve greater heights of excellence in service.
We look forward to welcoming you back. Please contact us when you plan your next visit.

Best wishes,
Athena Kaul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
There are newer reviews for The Dukes Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 817 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Have been to Dukes Retreat on 7th july 2012 with my female colleagues. The first expression that we had after seeing the place was WOW!!! from the time we entered and when we left their premises it was a wonderful experience. The view from their open coffee shop facing the valley is superb and having breakfast over there is like icing on the cake because there was clouds all around.. The staff is very chivalrous & friendly and ofcourse they always serve you with a smiling face. The Lunch buffet was also nice though breakfast could have been little better. But overall its an amazing place for a great weekend!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seemu1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor.

We feel inspired and proud to read your wonderful review. Your appreciation is truly rewarding for each one of us.We are glad that you and your colleagues could take back delightful memories of your experience. We have taken note and shared your feedback with the relevant teams.

We look forward to your return and await the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best wishes,
Athena Kaul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Its a beautiful place to be when in lonavala or khandala. pure serenity. All the staff are very friendly and always helpful. The GM of the Hotel, Mr. Rahul, was available at all times and had become good friends with us. with his support our stay at the dukes was comfortable and memorable. Though breakfast could be improved but all in all a better place to be.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the valley view and trust me it is just amazing. please go for the valley...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sanjay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and have shared it with the relevant teams. The team is delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. I have shared your feedback with Rahul who was my predecessor until May this year. It would be my privilege and pleasure to meet you on your next visit.

We look forward to your return and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Best wishes,
Athena Kaul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Drove down Sunday morning from Mumbai towards Lonavala with family .Decided to drop by at Dukes on an impulse for lunch. We were hoping it would rain but it didn't though the clouds did start to hover by the time we reached. We reached the hotel and were ushered to The Duchess restaurant where they have have Brunch served on Sundays. However, before that we walked towards their deck area and took in the most breath taking view of the lush green landscape. The most relaxing sight for sore eyes. We just stood their captive until our stomachs started making noises. We headed to their restaurant. We were lucky to get a view facing table. The food was delicious and we binged on the huge variety of desserts. the entire team at The Duchess was fabulous, being prompt and attentive to our needs. loved the little musician figurines placed on the buffet. Lazed over cappuccinos by the pool side. Got a chance to interact with the GM Ms. Athena Kaul, always ever ready with a warm smile and a,"how may i help you?". Kudos to her for maintaining this establishment at such great standards.We hope to uphold our promise to her of visiting again and experiencing the lovely rooms recommended for perhaps a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 649Raj_M649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

It was indeed a pleasure meeting you and your family. We are extremely happy and excited to know that you had a memorable Sunday with us. Your appreciation for our team members is truly very inspiring, which will motivate them to achieve greater heights of excellence in service.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a longer stay.

Best wishes,
Athena Kaul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

we were looking to take a weekend with family and kids and dukes came recommended online..
its a decent property. but the rooms are nicely done and well maintained. the staff is kind and always believe in service with a smile. they were very kid friendly. the food deserves the special mention as the buffet was an excellent choice of breads, fruits, salads, indian, continental and most impressive desert and we are a family that loves to eat . hence it was brilliant.
the 2 things i wished more for would be that it is not at a major elevation , not very cut off from the main roads, hence that feeling of a total escape did not come.
on the weekends it was on a slightly more expensive side than one would expect to pay for a resort but on the whole.. a great weekend and that makes it all worthwhile.

Room Tip: the suites have the best layout and view. but on chosing executive rooms, ask for rooms closer to t...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nidhirungta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

We are glad to know that you have explored the hotel and really appreciate you taking time out in sharing your experience. On behalf of the entire team I would like to mention that your review is truly rewarding for each one of us.
We are extremely happy to know that you and your family were able to take back fond memories of your visit.

The team and I eagerly await the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best wishes,
Athena Kaul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

acording to me this is very good property i n khandala i visit one day back
my family enjoy there compalete trip at the same time june & july weather is very good

stroy of property :-

this property on hill top u can see all khandala at the same time its on pune express highway
so its very easy to travel any where mumbai or pune u can go from both place but u must stay at list two days at dues than u can enjoy

Room Tip: norath room r very good
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuldeepc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community.

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,
Athena Kaul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

I had arrived at Khandala from Mumbai with a lady friend for a two day getaway in the first week of July 2012. Its a hr and 45 mins drive from Mumbai and feels like a completely different world altogether. The Duke's Retreat had been highly recommended by one of my friends. Our two days of stay here has attested to the fact. The location of Duke's is one of the best I have seen. Set high in the hills of Khandala, most of the rooms have a breathtaking view of the beautiful and picturesque landscape of Khandala/Lonavala. We had stayed in one of the deluxe rooms which was beautifully designed and had a huge glass window facing the landscape that we literally seemed to be amongst the clouds. The services of this hotel are top notch.. The lovely swimming pool and an open air restaurant deserve special mention. Nothing like dining amongst the clouds and the greenery. There seems to be a problem of frequent electricity outages in Khandala but this hotel has a solid backup available, so no issues there. The GM of Duke's, Athena Kaul, personally interacted with us and took suggestions to make the already fabulous experience better. She deserves accolades for leading such a fine and dedicated team. The only probable downside of the trip was that it came to an end after two days. Will definitely come back here at the next given opportunity.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitvyas2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

Each of us at Dukes are overjoyed to read your heart warming review.Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom this will be a tremendous source of inspiration. It was indeed a pleasure meeting you and we have shared your suggestions with the relevant teams.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Best wishes,
Athena Kaul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khandala
2.2 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
6.8 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
521 reviews
2.7 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
663 reviews
2.8 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Retreat

Address: Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala > Khandala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Price Range: $126 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dukes Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dukes Retreat at Khandala is not more than a 15 minute picturesque drive away from Lonavala. The resort is a landmark located 1850 ft. above sea level. Keys Khandala is spread across 11 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, valley-view and the mesmerizing Western Ghats. The property benefits from being set in the lap of the flora of the region and nestles amidst waterfalls, nature trails and winding forest paths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Dukes Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Retreat Hotel Khandala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing