We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its A Real Retreat... What A View.. What A Hospitality...”
Review of The Dukes Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dukes Retreat
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My wife and me had not had a relaxed outing for almost an year and thats when i surfed around, read reviews and decided on Dukes Retreat for our Independence Day weekend. Our purpose was to unwind and relax. The moment we entered the property my wife felt very happy. But the moment we entered the room and slided out the curtains, we were like .. WOWWWWWW. The room is excellent by any standards and an excellent view of the Valley and the waterfalls and the greenery waits for you. the people are highly hospitable and we were pampered the most. I wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone who wants to have some unwinding moments and relax from the busy schedules.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkanandnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy that you had a good stay at the Dukes Retreat.
Your feedback is very nice and it motivates us to go the extra mile.
Look forward to welcome you at the Dukes in the near future.

Warm regards

Rahul Kanungo
rahul.kanungo@keyshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 820 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel is located at the best location you can imagine. bang opposite is the Waterfall with full flow during the monsoon, every now and then the hotel gets surrounded by the mist and clouds, Rooms are good can match any 4-5 star hotels. swimming pool is good and maintained. We had buffet breakfast and lunch at the hotel, and it didn’t disappoint us . the spread is good , with variety of Veg –non veg spread available, especially in non-veg , they had fish ,lamb and chicken at the same time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABHIJIT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and the beautiful images of the Khandala specially the one of the water fall with the tree in the foreground.

We are very happy that you had a good stay at the Dukes Retreat and also enjoyed the food and services offered by the resort.

We look forward to welcome you .

Warm regards

Rahul Kanungo
rahul.kanungo@keyshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The stay at Duke's met most of our expectations. After having read the reviews on trip advisor we booked the resort for a one night break from mumbai and were not disappointed.

the resort boasts of excellent views of hills, the valley and a number of waterfalls which sprout out during the rainy season. the view from the restaurant is unbeatable. The rooms itself are very spacious and have most amenities you would expect in a star property. The staff in general is extrememly courteous, going out of their way to help you.

Even though the resort borders the highway, there is almost no noise which filters into your rooms. The beds are great and provide for a good night's rest.

Food however is not as great. The restaurants provide only buffets which is rather expensively priced. The only other option is in-room dining with a rather limited menu. The breakfast buffet spread was adequate.

The resort also needs to get the front desk sorted out. Check-in was smooth as we arrived on a friday. However, check-out was quiet chaotic. There was heavy rush owing to the weekend, and the desk was inadquately staffed to handle the same.

The hotel manager, Mr. Rahul is extremely helpful and jolly man and takes care of any requests you make.

Overall, we had a great stay and i would love to come back to stay at Dukes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank funkypratik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your candid feedback on the services offered by Dukes Retreat during your stay and beautiful narration of the property and the surroundings.

We are glad that you had a good stay at the Dukes Retreat. We also made a note of your feedback on the service offered at the Front Desk and we wanted to intimate you that we have taken necessary steps to improve the service in this front and I am confident that you will be noticing the changes in your next visit to Dukes Retreat

We look forward to your next visit to Dukes Retreat

Warm regards

Rahul Kanungo
rahul.kanungo@keyshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

View is great from all rooms including executive rooms - thanked god for having booked this hotel only with breakfast, as the spread was good but not the taste - beware about soggy bread toasts. Front desk is totally clueless - did not have our booking at check-in, did not know whether we had already paid or not during check-out, considering we had booked through Agoda and refused to give me a copy of the bill for claiming a refund (have not encountered in many international and indian hotels that I have stayed in and booked through Agoda earlier)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krishnapv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your precious time to offer your feedback and we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused at the Front desk.

We made a note of your feedback on the breakfast which has been shared with my colleagues and necessary actions initiated to enhance the meal experience.

We thank you again for your feedback which helps us to improve our services thus facilitating better services to our patrons.

We will be looking forward to your visit to Dukes Retreat in the near future.

Warm regards

Rahul Kanungo
rahul.kanungo@keyshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I totally enjoyed my stay at the dukes retreat khandala. They have very spacious rooms n the view from the room is just amazing. U can actually relax n feel good in any part of the hotel,be it the roof cafe or the restuarant or the room. Food was good,lot of variety though the veg food taste was average,not that good. But to some it up its just a perfect place for a mini vacation. And monsoon is really the time to go.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kashrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to know that you had a comfortable stay and we have noted your comments on the taste of Vegetarian food which has been shared with my colleagues in the food production department.

I am sure our chef will be delighted to meet you once you visit us and offer you the vegetarian goodies to tickle your taste buds.

We will be looking forward to your visit to Dukes Retreat.

Warm regards

Rahul Kanungo
rahul.kanungo@keyshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The view from the hotel room, restaurant, open air cafe is amazing, nature lovers wuld love this place, totally relaxing. Great experience.

Room Tip: Visit in monsoons
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank nehamanohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

to sooth your eyes,see the view from the room,to cherish the mind,go to the pool side resto bar,for adrenaline adventure,go to della adventure camp near the resort.i recommend dukes retreat to every one !!!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank physiono1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khandala
2.2 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
6.8 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
887 reviews
2.8 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
210 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
540 reviews
2.7 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Retreat

Address: Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala > Khandala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Price Range: $123 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dukes Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dukes Retreat at Khandala is not more than a 15 minute picturesque drive away from Lonavala. The resort is a landmark located 1850 ft. above sea level. Keys Khandala is spread across 11 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, valley-view and the mesmerizing Western Ghats. The property benefits from being set in the lap of the flora of the region and nestles amidst waterfalls, nature trails and winding forest paths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Dukes Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Retreat Hotel Khandala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing