We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and close to nature”
Review of The Dukes Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dukes Retreat
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Khandala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights with my family at this nice , peaceful resort amidst lot of trees , on the cliff overlooking the valley. Most of the rooms have lovely view of the mountains and valley. Rooms are very well decorated with modern interiors and are big in size. Service is also good. Breakfast was sumptous. Food is quite expensive in the hotel and I advise tourists to go to nearby eateries like Kamat's Green House, at Khandala or Ramakrishna at Lonavala or a little further to Amber Dhaba at Karla.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guru52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Dear Mr. Guru

Thank you for your precious time to offer your feedback on the products and services offered during your stay at the Dukes Retreat.

We are glad to know that you and your family have had a comfortable stay at the Dukes Retreat.

The Resort also offers a la crate options and the dishes are "meal by itself " as they are complemented by the accompaniments.

Your feed back will definitely help us to go for the extra mile to serve our dear guests and ensure that they always have a comfortable stay at the Dukes.

We look forward to your visit to the Dukes in the future and it will be a pleasure to serve you .

regards

Rahul Kanungo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 837 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2011

I have visited this place, the only so called star hotel. The price I paid was about $200/day and for that price I was expecting at least a good service and well equipped like a 5* hotels. I was disappointed to see the level of service they have provided. It's not even worth to pay $50. Customer servicing was bad. Food was ok but very expensive. Swimming pool was their just for name sake. If you want to swim, you should tell in reception and they take you to near by resort.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pac66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Dukes Retreat . I am extremely sorry to know that we could not live to your expectation in terms of the services offered during your stay . We sincerely apologies and we will request you to give us one more opportunity to serve you .

We had to repair the Swimming Pool on an urgent basis as the Pool developed a crack and we were loosing precious water in volume . We can understand the inconvenience caused to you due to the alternate arrangement at the nearby resort. We once again apologies for the same.

I request you to kindly let me know when are you planning to visit the Resort again and i will ensure that you have a comfortable stay at the Dukes .

We thank you for your precious time to offer your feedback and we look forward to your visit to the Dukes soon ( Khandala is at it's best during the monsoon)

regards

Rahul Kanungo
rahul.kanungo@keyshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Lonawala, Maharashtra: The dukes retreat
We had an internal training conference at the above resort from 10th Feb to 12 Feb 2011.
Conference facilities were to the mark and there was no disturbance from any outer noice etc so I would suggest this place for conferences for upto approx 100 persons at a time.
Location: It is located at place which is highest pick at that location. Since it is at top we can see the Express highway and the shooting point from the view deck created. I personally found easy reach from Mumbai as well as Pune, since I had to go there from Mumbai and while returning I had to go to Pune. In fact from Pune one can come by Local train to Lonavala in some Rs.18 ticket and take Auto costing just Rs.100.
Food: Lunch and dinners were very good and included complete course based buffet lunch and dinner was served. Jain food and Non-Veg both were available, I tested both and regular Veg food as well and found all awesome for our hungry stomach after long training session.
Rooms n Room service: 'Too specious' is the only word for the rooms. Roomservice was prompt.
So in all I am waiting for next training at the Dukes Retreat once again

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DYogesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2011

Dear Mr. Yogesh,

It was a pleasure to have you with us at the Dukes Retreat and we thank you for your detail feedback. We are extremely happy to know about your superlative experience at the Resort during your Conference and we also thank you for recommending the property.

My colleagues from the Kitchen are elated to know that you enjoyed the food spread both Vegetarian and Non Vegetarian and they will be happy to cook the delicacies, the Resort offer for you when you visit us again.

Looking forward to your next visit to Dukes.

Warm regards

Rahul Kanungo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

we had the opportunity of spending a weekend with immediate family and all cousins. in spite of being February the climate was good, in fact, cool under the shade. the hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious and the scene is lovely .if u have guests remember to draw the curtains of the wash room. otherwise get the pleasure of bowel evacuation in scenic surroundings, as it is all glass! the food is tasty and a variety to choose from. there's a pool, gym and massage. one can go for a walk along the highway i dont mind going often

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanchan61156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2011

Dear Ms. Kanchan,

Thank you for being with us at the Dukes Retreat and your precious time to offer your feedback . We are extremely glad to know that you and your Guests had a comfortable stay and you liked the room , food and enjoyed other services offered during your stay at the Resort.
I shared your feedback with my colleague and i can assure you that feedback like your's helps us to go the extra mile .

We once thank you and look forward to see you during the Monsoon when Khandala is at it's best if not earlier .
warm regards

Rahul Kanungo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Went there for 2 days,the view from rhe room was WOW ! we loved our stay there food was very good and the small bar area has fantastic view
Its a little pricy and the staff need a little more training on politeness........ but never the less had a great time

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for being with us at the Dukes and also your valuable time to offer your feedback. We are glad to know that you have had a comfortable stay with us .
We made a note of your feedback on the soft skills of the staff and initiated necessary steps to enhance the guest experience in this aspect.
Look forward to your visit to the Dukes again.

Rahul Kanungo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Had a chance you stay at this resort after a lot of comparison among other places in Khandala. Indeed, the resort is aptly located to view the Khandala valley. The ambience is great....Food is delicious (Due credit to the team of chefs)...Rooms are spacious and well furnished. The only 2 parameters on which Duke's Retreat fails miserable are: Over Priced (Suprisingly..Facilities like games were chargebale despite the over priced package of the resort) and Service is horrible. No proper efforts were made inspite of many reminders. The management needs to take appropriate measures to upgrade the service standards and look over providing other facilites. All in all an amazing place to relax on weekends. Cheers!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2011

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for being with us at the Dukes Retreat and also for your valuable time to offer your feedback . We are glad to know that you liked the Rooms and the food being served at the Resort. We made a note of your feedback on the quality of service and the same has been shared with my colleagues and I can assure you that you will find marked improvement in the service when you visit us next.

Look forward to your visit during the monsoon which is a great experience all togather .

with regards

Rahul Kanungo
General Manager
rahul.kanungo@keyshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Well appointed rooms with great view. Pleasant service but short on travel assistance and overall experience was that the facility is a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Jeanbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2011

Dear Guest ,

Season's Greetings and best wishes for a very Happy and prosperous New Year.
We thank you for your feedack on the Dukes Retreat , A Keys Resort.
We noted your feedback on the travel assistance and the same has been shared with the concerned executive and we are getting our Front line staff trained on the same . I am sure you will find a drastic improvement on the same .

with regards

Rahul Kanungo
General Manager
rahul.kanungo@keyshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khandala
2.8 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
2.2 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
1.4 mi away
Mystica Resort
Mystica Resort
#3 of 7 in Khandala
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#5 of 70 in Lonavala
913 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#4 of 70 in Lonavala
598 reviews
2.7 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 70 in Lonavala
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Retreat

Address: Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala > Khandala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Khandala
Price Range: $110 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dukes Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dukes Retreat at Khandala is not more than a 15 minute picturesque drive away from Lonavala. The resort is a landmark located 1850 ft. above sea level. Keys Khandala is spread across 11 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, valley-view and the mesmerizing Western Ghats. The property benefits from being set in the lap of the flora of the region and nestles amidst waterfalls, nature trails and winding forest paths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dukes Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Retreat Hotel Khandala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing