We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kamats Hotel

Kamats Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Khandala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kamats Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Khandala B&B and Inns
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Service was good and can be improved further. The quality of the food was ok. Over all it was nice to spent a night at that place. The furnishings and the cleanliness in the hotel room was also good. Good and nice vegetarian foods available and the service was ok type

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArvindJaiswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thane, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

There was serious traffic jam on the express way at 8pm On 13th oct,12 when we started by car from thane at 530pm to go to Pune which usually takes not more than 3 hours with one stop at food mall. We took unplanned halt when we saw kamat hotel on the diverted route by policemen as we had very good impression 20 years ago in Nasik. Brand image of the name kamat being good we paid room rent which was asked in advance at the reception without seeing the room thinking that Rs 3000/night for an ac room will be good and clean to spend the night peacefully. We were in for a rude shock.. Toilet was stinking with frog in the comod!! Walls and doors were extremely dirty. Light fitting/ fixtures were broken/ missing. This is not something you expect. When I called to complain, I was told this is what you get for 3000 and boy will come after his dinner and clean the toilet which he came. But why u need to tell?

Room Tip: Please positively see the room before paying the room rent. It is not worth paying 3000/ night for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SujataJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

was on a relaxed n chilled weekend to kamats khandala with hubby n another couple friend...... on reaching we realised we had made the wrong choice as we were greeted with an old gentleman at the reception who seemed like he was just doing his job!!
the room was pathetic ......torn bedsheet .....stained blanket......no lampshades( on asking was rudely put off by the manager by saying that it had been stolen by the previous guest) .........dirty plastic chairs ........well i can go on and on...........
and now for the breathtaking view.......what can i say .........the minute we stepped out of our rooms we were treated to some unkept n dirty rooftop .........which sadly and badly needed repair..........n the view ??? hahhahaha.............
and not to say we paid anything less ........
a must mention is the EL TAJ RESTAURANT which definately was the saving grace....the food was excellent n so was the service !!
WAKE UP KAMATS ....................

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ronnieboman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

It was monsoon time and best place for a quick short break around pune would be khandala - we headed to the junction not realising that most of mumbai and pune would be around as well and hence shortage of good hotels. Without choice we chose to spend a night at Kamat khandala.

I got the first shock when i figured out the entrance of the hotel...right under the busy and noisy expressway (not something you expect a resort to be located at). Dark, clumsy and stinking - these 3 words describe how the hotel and the front office looked. The lady at the counter was probably a bit of relief when she alloted us a room with a valley view. We had some hopes as we started to move into the hotel building, however the dark leeways with limites small windows were a set back - i once resembled this to a mental hospital where i did a lot of community service.

The room (4 beded) was a bit of a relief consdering it was not smelly. But to our sheer surprise there way no valley view - instead, we had a magnificent view of the city drainage being released into the valley....possibly what they may have called waterfall view. The room was just OK to move in but definitely not worth Rs. 7500 / night. It had a color tv and just one split AC which could barely keep the humidity out of the room. The bathrooms were disgusting and wet with limited or not exhaust. The showers didnt work and taps were greasy - definitely not something that you wish to have in the bathroom.

We spent a couple of hours and order some meal - the food was a relief - it was good however room service compensated for all the good that meal did. Having nothing to do, we headed for the swimming pool barely realising that it adjoins with the kitchen back yard. The swimming pool was simply not maintained with broken tiles, stagnant water around it and the unbearable stench of the rotten food from the kitchen. We skipped our idea of having a dip and went ahead for lonavala sight seeing.

Good - Food (South Indian)
Bad - Everything except food.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Shubhrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khandala
1.6 mi away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Park
Royal Park
#6 of 14 in Khandala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Kamath Residency Nature Resort
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Shabana
#1 of 7 in Khandala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunrise Hill Resort
Sunrise Hill Resort
#8 of 14 in Khandala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamats Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamats Hotel

Property: Kamats Hotel
Address: Mumbai-Pune Hwy, Khandala, Lonavala 410 301, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala > Khandala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Khandala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing