We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing...”
Review of Zara's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zara's Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This used to be one of the premier hotels of Lonavala & Khandala about a decade back. Visited it 2 weeks back and was disappointed to see that it has degraded. If you do have to stay then insist on the villas and not the rooms in the main hotel.
Had chinese food for lunch an although it tasted great, I fell sick couple of days later due to loose motions.
We had a family get together in the night and the dinner served was again low quality. A lot of the dishes are not available and they really need to maintain the property. Just being located in a beautiful location and having cheaper rates wont help as the nearby Dukes Retreat is stealing all customers.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ankeet_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaal M, Public Relations Manager at Zara's Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

We regret the inconvenience caused to you, Sir. We have taken into account all the points of discontent mentioned by you in your review and are committed to make the necessary changes. We request you to please give us another chance and we assure you will not be disappointed.

Thank you so much for your valuable inputs. We will work on them and assure you the best of service at your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    62
    45
    17
    16
See reviews for
83
28
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were at zaras for our annual training program for 1 week

Super deluxe rooms are upto the mark and good open views of the garden.

Food was good,but buffet needs more variety.

Overall the service was prompt

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaspalwalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaal M, Guest Relations Manager at Zara's Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Sir,
We are pleased to know that you had a great time at our resort.
We thank you for your views & will make sure changes are made accordingly.
Thank you for reviewing our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, Gujarat, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

After a fantastic tour of Goa i am having a Business meeting at Zara's Resort Khandala.
i haven't found any thing good to write about Zara's Resort Khandala. as starting from reception.... Reception guy has no time for guests. and he is just busy with his work.
after waiting for half an hour we got room keys and you know when we enter the room smell from a room has make us half unconscious...... and one thing i just want to write is a old man waiter . he is very polite and help ful person and before asking anything he is ready with food you will ask... and even his smile is like a family person.'

Dont ever spend a 1000 rs for Zara's resort as its just waste of your money.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vimal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaal M, Public Relations Manager at Zara's Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2015
Dear Mr. Vimal,

We regret the inconvenience caused to you, Sir. We have taken into account all the points of discontent mentioned by you in your review and are committed to make the necessary changes. We request you to please give us another chance and we assure you will not be disappointed.

Thank you so much for your valuable inputs. We will work on them and assure you the best of service at your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Khandala hotels

Navi Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I Stayed there with my family on first week of July 2013.
Condition of room was very poor. There was a awful smell in the room.. !! They used room freshener for that ...
You can see the cracks in the wall !! That's not at all acceptable for a more than 4000/- room.

There was nothing really bad about the food but nothing that was particularly exciting either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deatanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaal M, Guest Relations Manager at Zara's Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.
We have corrected our mistakes and would be pleased to offer you a memorable experience with a brand new room on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were a group of 30 friends & visited Zara's for our College Reunion party. The rooms are very spacious and we loved the whole feel of the Resort.
They arranged our party in their banquet hall adjoining the lawns which was very well organised & the climate was at its best. The location of Zara Resort is perfect to experience Khandala's real climate.
The garden is refreshing & swimming pool was clean but could not make full use of it as we were there for just 1 night.
Thank you Zara's ,we will be back for a BBQ party by the pool soon.
Cheers !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 241pratik10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaal M, Guest Relations Manager at Zara's Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings !
It is our pleasure to know that you had a great time at Zara's Resort, Khandala.
We would love to have you at Zara's on your next visit to Khandala/Lonavla.
Assuring you the best of attention &services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We are a family of four & our kids loved the gardens and the swimming pool. We had booked a super Deluxe room and it was absolutely worth every penny. Our room had fantastic garden view with lots of fog coming right into the room, it was just picture perfect. The location & open spaces of Zara's Resort is undoubtedly best in the Lonavala & Khandala region and we felt very close to nature during our stay. Thank you team Zara's for making our stay memorable one, see you soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Femina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaal M, Guest Relations Manager at Zara's Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings !
It is our pleasure to know that you had a great time at Zara's Resort, Khandala.
We would love to have you at Zara's on your next visit to Khandala/Lonavla.
Assuring you the best of attention &services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed in Zara resort on 14 and 15th August 2013 . Room was very clean with clean wash room attached. Location situated on valley is amazing as there was rain on the day and we enjoyed fog in our room balcony which we had never experienced . There are 2 swimming pools but due to rain we can’t enjoy in pool. Open restaurant is another good place in resort where we had excellent food with lot of fog around us. When we entered restaurant we were welcomed by head chef with warm regards and we were sure that food quality would be best by this chef. We ordered different types of meal during our 2 days stay and found all variety good and tasty .
In short I can say we never enjoyed our holiday in past in khandala lonavala in any other resorts as we enjoyed this time in Zara .

Room Tip: ground level with balcony facing open to sky
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashok_jainestate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaal M, Guest Relations Manager at Zara's Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings !
It is our pleasure to know that you had a great time at Zara's Resort, Khandala.
We would love to have you at Zara's on your next visit to Khandala/Lonavla.
Assuring you the best of attention &services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khandala
0.2 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
796 reviews
2.4 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
1.9 mi away
The Orchard Resort
The Orchard Resort
#12 of 67 in Lonavala
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Valvan Village Resort
Valvan Village Resort
#18 of 67 in Lonavala
93 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
854 reviews
2.9 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zara's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zara's Resort

Property: Zara's Resort
Address: Near D. C. High School,Pune Mumbai Road | Pune-Mumbai Road Tal.Maval,District Pune, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala > Khandala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zara's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zara is all about a serene yet fun-filled stay.The surrounding green spaces and the 50 rooms in their embrace are a picture of peace. Walk the length of the verandahs, feast your eyes on the flowers and enjoy the sound of silence. Recharge yourself. Forget the noise and chaos of the city that you just left behind. Spend time with your loved ones and let them know how much they mean to you by showering them with the luxury that our resort offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Zara's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing