We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go. Make the trip. Get Blessed.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ganpatipule
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MTDC Beach Resort Ganapatipule
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ganpatipule
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotels and Resorts plays a major part in the development of a place and with MTDC resort offering affordable housing, has given boost to the temple town of Ganapatipule.
Ganapatipule is situated in the town of Chiplun (Ratnagiri district) on the Konkan coast of Maharashtra.
The whole of Konkan region is a treat to travelers for its sea and the mountains.
Ganapatipule came into reckoning for the Hindu god Ganapati who is said to have sprung up from the soil.
This temple town has attracted both pilgrims and tourists.
MTDC Ganpatipule Resort was our obvious choice for its affordability (AC rooms @ Rs. 3000/-), spacious layout and the vintage view of the beach.
Although, the resort offered both vegetarian and non-vegetarian dishes but we settled for pure vegetarian food since, most from our group members were on a pilgrimage. For breakfast we had toast with butter/jam and hot cup of tea. Lunch and Diner was 'Khichdi' (preparation made from rice, clarified butter, green gram, cumin seeds, cauliflower florets, carrots, peas, etc) but it was delicious.
Ganapatipule could be reach by flights, by trains and by roads.
If you are a traveler and would love exploring places, than I would recommend you to travel by road. Your seven hours journey back home would remain itched with scenic view in your memory for ever.
Go. Make the trip. Get Blessed.
Now you know there is a wonderful place to stay that will suit your budget.

Room Tip: Every room is good, choose the ones facing west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ashish s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 558 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

MTDC – Ganapatipule
Myself and my wife (Senior citizens) had visited Ganapatipule from 27th Sept’12 to 2nd Oct.12. From the various reviews viewed, we had selected this resort,as we wanted a very peaceful place. We had reserved online MTDC Resort, one non AC Delux room. We were given room No.44 and the location was just as we had wanted. Once you open the Balcony an amazing sea view just few meters away mesmerizes you. The gentle sea breeze and the soothing sound of the waves non stop throughout the day and night just takes you to some other world.
Since we had stayed for five days,we had good opportunity to see other lodges also. Our tips for new visitors is given below:
Ganapatipule can be reached from Mumbai, or other places either by: Train (Ratnagiri Station on C.Rly Konkan Rly) or by many private or ST buses to Ratnagiri Depot.
From Ratnagiri Rly.Station you can get plenty of autos to Ganapatipule. They charge Rs.400 or Rs.450 as the season demands. But they all are good and autos all are in good condition . A seashore ride takes exactly one hour. They will drop you near the reception office of MTDC.
All the rooms – non AC Delux, Delux AC, AC Cottages are facing the sea only.
The Konkan huts are little away from the reception and restaurants. You MUST have a vehicle to enjoy this place.
Rooms are cleaned everyday and washed beddings are given everyday to your satisfaction.
The restaurant at MTDC has non veg and veg combined restaurant. So if you are a pure vegetarian (like us), you have number of hotels (Bhojanalayas) just outside MTDC gate, eg. Joshi restaurant, Dhurvankur, annapoorna etc.etc. Our tips is”Dhurvankur” they supply Konkani type veg. thalis (Rs.80). they also serve breakfast – Pohe, sheera, missal, batata vada etc. Joshi restaurant give you only lunch and dinner. During season time only they offer snacks.
If you don’t get MTDC resort, the next option is “Dhurvankur” hotel. It is decent, clean and not far from the beach.
Ganesh temple is just opposite MTDC main gate.
The beach is simply stunning. For senior citizens, who want peaceful and spiritual time, THIS IS THE RIGHT PLACE.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank vidyasagarMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This resort is bang on the beach and that is the biggest plus. We stayed in the cottage which was quite spacious. There are plenty of dinning options outside the resort, the restaurant in the resort itself is pathetic. Overall dont expect great ammenities. 2000Rs for a cottage on the beach was a great deal in itself.
Reccomended !

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CMandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We wanted to visit Ganapatipiule and searched on internet for options to stay. MTDC ganapatipule was our obvious choice to stay just because of its excellent location and value for money proposition and we were lucky to have the rooms available.
Positives:
1. The resort is located beautifully right at the beach, so you can see the sea right in front of you if you book the sea facing rooms. No other hotel has this luxury.
2. The rooms have basic amenities and decent for bachelor stay.
3. The charges are very nominal compared to other hotels in the vicinity. Definitely a value for money.
4. They have a very good dining option in open area just besides the beach. We sat there for hours in the evening feeling the sea breeze and having food.
Negatives:
1. Diffcult to get the booking if you dont book reasonably in advance.
2. The rooms are not that clean and wud have loved to have some more amenities in rooms and in resort.
Overall a decent and value for money place to stay if you don't mind a budget stay.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing rooms or cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManojSinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was our first visit to ganpatipule.As we were travelling from mumbai so we took the late night train (kokan kanya) which departed at 11.40 pm from thane and reached sharp at ratnagiri near 6.30am next morning.The weather in ratnagiri was awesome in rainy season. Inquired about buses and autos till ganpatipule. Buses were available from the main road
which was some half a km to 1km from rly stn. Autos take 300-350 Rs till ganpatipule.We agreed to go by auto as we were 2 couples and we had some luggage.One was adjusted in front of auto.But locals also say buses do come till rly stn but you need to see the timings in advance.

The journey from ratnagiri to ganpatipule was scenic with good view of beaches on the way through hills and small bridges.Occasionally we stopped auto and took snaps of excellent scenery from hills.While talking with auto driver he told that this time it had not rained much here or else the bridges get overflowed by water in rainy season and vehicles get stuck on for hours till the water on bridges declines.We were lucky as we didn't face such situation.

It took near about 35-40 mins to reach mtdc resort.The auto stopped inside the reception area of resort.It was nice to see smiling faces at reception.Processing of rooms were done fast but we had to wait in large area at reception till10am which were the official time for check ins. Additional 100Rs were taken as a security deposit per room.Cards are accepted at the reception.The rates were cheap considering the excellent location also rainy season are off seasons due to heavy rains in this region.

We had booked Super Deluxe AC Rooms for 3D & 2N,i was surprised to find very clean & decent rooms comparing the standards of mtdc.It was one room cottage with LCD TV and split AC,attached bathrooms,nice sit out in small developed garden and having majestic view overlooking blue ocean.One can sit for hours gazing at the ocean.Immediately thought about venturing in ocean.Before going on the beach had south indian breakfast in the restaurant which was good.You can buy beer bottles/cans from the restaurant.No cards (Debit/Credit) accepted in restaurant.

Beach was safe,unspoiled &clean,very few people on the beach.Could see the famous ganpati temple which is walkable distance from beach.Water was clear so ventured in shallow ocean played,swam,enjoyed the waves hitting back on us.We were in water for more than 4 hours. Had a good time there.After while walked through empty stretch of beach,sat on rocks seeing small crabs climbing.Could see youngsters having liquor on beach.It is an offense to drink on beach due to temple beside by.If caught you have to pay fine ranging from 200 to 500 Rs.No guys... i was not caught but the lone security person told me.So it is advisable not to drink on beaches.

Feeling hungry we decided to explore some restaurants for some authentic konkani food nearby.We went to joshi restaurant nearly 1km from mtdc which provides good food. Ate lots of fried fishes at cheap rates.Fried fishes were very good in taste with solkadi.There are lots of food joints nearby which are good.

MTDC resort is centrally located.Nearby the resort you can find atm's,bus stops,auto stand,small markets,lodging etc outside the premises.For wine shops there are few but if you really want then there is one i remember which is near abhishek resort.In this case auto drivers can help you out.There are many lodging options for group or youngsters which provide decent rooms for 500-700Rs per day which is 100m from gate of mtdc.

Next day had been to the ganpati temple which is besides the mtdc.We had our darshan quickly as not much crowd was there.The temple is quite old and advisable to visit once.In the temple saw lot of couples doing abhishek of idol in their traditional dresses.If you want to do abhishek then you need to wear a saree for woman and kurta pyajamas for men or any traditional dress.These are compulsory for abhishek or else the priest won't allow.This is 400-year old Swayambhaoo temple.Must visit spot.

While exploring more had been to 'Prachin Konkan' a museum where many artifacts related to konkan were shown.This is a guided tour where one can see and experience konkan handicrafts,paintings,wooden toys and life about the previous people of konkan.You can even buy if you like some.Worth a visit if you have time.

Coming back to our resort one can see lots of trees planted in the mtdc premises.You can see (betel nut,mango,cashew nut etc.) trees planted in whole premises.The night here up is special and amazing, feels like heaven.You get to see millions of stars above you, a fantastic mesmerizing view of blue ocean.Murmuring sound of oceans all through night.As the cool breeze flows,you can sit out on chairs outside have long chats while having beer.It feels absolutely romantic.Even the atmosphere here can turn a non romantic man like me to romantic one.A nice place to be with your partner.A place recommended for everybody.

Summarizing our stay for 3D/2N
a) Rooms were very good(Super Deluxe AC Rooms) not the service.
b) Food inside the premises is OK you can explore outside the premises to have some very good authentic konkani food.
c) The famous ganpati temple is near by and highly recommended to visit once.
d) This resort certainly can boast of having excellent views of ocean from top.
e) Location next to the beautiful beach.One can reach beach in less than 5 mins.

Staying here has been a very pleasant experience for us.Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Super Deluxe AC Rooms are good options for staying. Ask one which is ocean facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank sliver18th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed at this resort for one night. Had booked the Deluxe Non A/C rooms. Very spacious. The bathroom itself is equivalent to a room in some other resorts :) The location is perfect. Can watch the sunset from the balcony itself if you are too lazy. The Hotel Tarang inside the resort is expensive for the quantity served. The taste is quite OK. Very convenient to both the beach and the temple.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShweNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I do travel Ganpatipule every year, as its my monther's fav place for holiday and pilgrim...and always we stayed in MTDC resort since 1996.
MTDC location is ideal as always; as its Govt owned, just 5 mins walk to temple, what else you want. They have huge variety to choose from Kokani house (which is bit far) to deluxe and cottages, but if stay in kokani house its 1.5km from main entry, so need your own transport and near to kokani house restaurant service also is limited.
About room, dont expect much, they have lot of excuses just to maintain it, pathetic cleaning, rooms and bathrooms are big but you will sometime fear to use it, it depends upon who is manager that year.
Restaurant is another big challenge to use, every year new caterer, so first try and you make your own decision, my experience was great sometimes and useless another time.

Room Tip: Kokani house is at bit remote location, need you own transport, other all rooms are big and near to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sachin_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ganpatipule hotels
0.8 mi away
Abhishek Beach Resort and Spa
11.4 mi away
Blue Ocean Resort and Spa by Apodis
1 mi away
Greenleaf The Resort
Greenleaf The Resort
#4 of 8 in Ganpatipule
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Durvankur
Hotel Durvankur
#5 of 8 in Ganpatipule
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shreesagar
Hotel Shreesagar
#7 of 8 in Ganpatipule
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaular Atithi's The Grand Kokan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MTDC Beach Resort Ganapatipule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTDC Beach Resort Ganapatipule

Address: Ganpatipule, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Ratnagiri District > Ganpatipule
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ganpatipule
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Mtdc Beach Resort Ganapatipule Hotel Ganpatipule
MTDC Beach Resort Ganapatipule Ganpatipule, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing