We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay In Dapoli”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fern Samali Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dapoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stay at Samali Resort, I stayed Lillian & Magnolia,both are fine but liked to stay at Lillian Deluxe Room. Excellent Location with View of Arabian Sea. Excellent interiors at Room, In Lillian Open to sky bath concept is excellent & unique.From the balcony of this room view of Arabian sea make our evening special.External all area good maintained & amenities also.
Staff is also very good & co-operative. Front office Desk is very quick to help & for our need. Reception Sanghapriya always give a cute smile & her talking style is very different but perfect for that profession.
Restaurant food quality is good but want to improve & service also.Professional staff is required there.
Apart from all like to stay there again.

Room Tip: Lillian Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sha9695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, General Manager at The Fern Samali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are pleased to have met your expectations in Location, Rooms & Cleanliness.

We are researching some new menu items which include some interesting mango recipes. These mangoes are from our Alphonso orchard besides the resort. We hope to also have the bullock cart rides ready immediately after the monsoon.

We look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 317 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

I visited Konkan, In that Dapoli for 3 Days. I stayed at Samali. Well situated and maintened place. Little away from main city Dapoli but near from beach and places which we can visit. i choose Lillian - Deluxe Room to stay here. Well Designed & Occupied with accesories.
That open bath area is Unique concept, from the balcony open area we can enjoy memorable evening with continuously running air with view of Arabian Sea. Property good maintained & designed. Terrif is Little expensive so u can get as u expect in that, but want to improve.
Most important staff is so good their behaviour & attitude too, mainly from front desk Reception Lady Sanghapriya is very active & her friendly attitude. She guide for road when i drive because there is no navigation or signals for resort indication. but she help very well & also suggest for various location near around. Her voice is also very nice. When we entered in Resort she welcome through her cute smile with that Konkan Famous "Kokam Juice"
Front office very active so we don't want to spend our pleasurable time for that lengthy process of Check-In. Also they take care & quick to needs. restaurant food quality is good but want to improve & service also. Buffet service idea is great one. That staff also caring.
Apart from that we enjoyed their lot & experience good with Nature.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkarim500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, General Manager at The Fern Samali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

On behalf of the front office team and all of us, thank you so much for a wonderful review.

Lilian cottages very popular for their 'open air' bathrooms & fantastic view of the Arabian Sea. During the monsoon, the sea is a treat to watch from the verandah, with its breath-taking display of the rain and sunsets.

You will have an easier driving experience on your next visit as we are in the process of installing new road signs from the Khed Junction turnoff all the way to the resort.

We look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in Cottage Lilian which has a nice concept of open bathroom. We loved it. The food was also pretty good, and so was the location and other amenities. All in all, a great holiday. It is a little pricey but worth a trip.

Room Tip: Choose Cottage Lilian over Cottage Magnolia. The price differential is about Rs. 1,000 but you get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalpesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, General Manager at The Fern Samali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are pleased to have met your expectations.

The Lilian bathroom is certainly fun with its own Lily pond. Please let us know how we can improve our 'service' score.

We look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nestled in between Nature and Mango Plantation at Dapoli an Up coming Tourist Destination is The Fern Samali--
Love the Cottages especially the Lillian Cottages--
The Resort has a lot of Colombian British Culture Reflected in its surroundings!
Excellent Interiors and Furnishings were at the Resort.
Very Helpful and Humble staff!
Special Thanks to Mr Jiwa the F&B Manager for the Hospitality extended.
Kids Loved the Pool & Landscaped Gardens.
Superb Spa!
Best Getaway for an Two Day Vacation.
Food though was Good could have been better, but Tandoori Items very Excellent!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiCk55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is one of the best places that we had stayed in Dapoli. Our family constituting three members stayed at Lillian cottage. The Resort is quite stylish with well planned villas. The view, as it was raining was breathtaking. The food was excellent and the staff were ever helpful. The place is few kilometres away from the beach, but from the villa you can see a distant view of the sea. The place has a spa and a swimming pool, though we did not try either of them. Strongly recommended for those who wish to relax and take a break from the hustle and bustle of the busy cities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manmohan_menon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thefernsamaliresort, General Manager at The Fern Samali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2017

Dear Mr. Menon,

Greetings from The Fern Samali Resort, Dapoli!

We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate, that you took the time to share your experience with us and fellow travelers.

I will certainly share you positive comments with our team for further encouragement; it is always nice to see the outcome of our efforts.

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcome you soon again at The Fern Samali Resort, Dapoli!

Yours Truly,

Sumit Rahate.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Visited the resort for 2 nights and 3 days under a package deal which included all meals. As it was my first visit to this place, should take the reviews on TripAdvisor for it. Driving to this resort was the only so called "negative" for this resort, no signs to guide you to the location, neither does the navigators help. The owners need to look into this. We had to check with the locals, easiest place to find the ST bus stand, then take the road going towards Murud beach, reach a checkpost and take the left and continue, it is easy to find on the left. A nice and comfortable check-in with the local kokum juice as a welcome drink gets the ball rolling. The resort has two types of cottages - Lilian and Magnolia each to suite your individual tastes and of course price with the Lilian being the expensive and the bigger (in terms of size). The entire property is situated on a high ground with a view of the Arabian sea at a distance. A swimming pool which is not very deep 4ft in all and a small kids pool with 2 ft depth. Good enough for a laid back fun in the water, not for the hardcore swimmers. Spa with its wide range of treatments is worth a try and very relaxing after a tiring drive. A small kiddy park for our little ones, gym for the fitness freaks and a DJ to end the day with some loud music and dance are the other facilities provided. Lunch and Dinner served at the restaurant have adequate quantity of items which were tasty and well prepared, the usual veg + salads with a couple of non-veg and desserts thrown in. Breakfast too was very good, and quite well spread. The most important and notable quality were the staff their friendliness and their attitude. Right from the persons at the front desk who were very friendly and helpful to suggest the different spots to go around to the restaurant staff who ensured that no items on the buffet table were left empty and always there to take care of the needs of the guests even if some of the guests were irritating which was the case during our visit. Great show guys and girls, you deserve a mention. Can comment only on the Lilian rooms as we had booked 2 of them for our trip. The rooms are clean, neat, well occupied and with good accessories provided. A/c cooling was also good considering the hot May heat. Without a mention of the unique bathroom, this review will surely not be complete. What you get is an open washroom with one wall opening to a garden and a small Lily pond safely secured from prying eyes with a 12 ft high wall. What is unique is you enjoy nature at all times whenever you go about your routines. Surely is bit surprising in the beginning as open air is not what we are all used to but as you start enjoying the experience you really feel with nature. Although there are times where a frog or insect may pay a visit to your private garden in the night and the occasional birds during the day but will not stay for long. A suggestion to the property owners would be to transform some Lilian rooms with this open space to a private pool which surely will have a lot of following.

Beach of Murud is around 10kms away, is worth a visit for its beach sport activities, a swim. The famed Dolphin viewing trips commence from here, please check with the locals before visiting. There are other places to visit in and around Dapoli especially the famed fish auctions for the sea food lovers but make sure you know how to carry them back lest you stink your car. 100 kms from Dapoli is Mahabaleshwar for those who want to combine another holiday. The drive is traffic free and very picturesque, we spend the day at Mahabaleshwar and returned home via the Mumbai-Pune Expressway which is a much better and stress free road rather than the Nh-17 which we took on our onward journey.

Overall a wonderful experience and worth a visit and money's worth, even though a bit on the higher side, you pay for quality and that is what you get here. Surely a place to be recommended to all my friends who wish to visit Dapoli.

Room Tip: Take the Lilian Rooms, there are bigger and has the unique open bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivekSom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I visited dapoli at that i search for Resort and i visit to Samali for stay but unfortunately all rooms are full there, but i am missing that place. Beautifully landscaped and designed.Deluxe Room Lilian is very nice to stay from that room view is excellent, open balcony and concept of open bath area is so good.If i stay there next time i would like to stay in same place.and i hope will confidently enjoy there. In open area concept of small seating area,path way, garden is beautifully designed and maintained.
apart from that banquette is also good for celebrate an event but its capacity is less than hundred mean around eighty. if it will be modify or shifted on another place in that property it will be also nice one.
It is out of from main city but that perfectly planed and situated...can say "conceptual to actual"
and staff is also cooperative and disciplined. Coz its out of city, little away from main road but security is good like main entrance to hotel.
From front office reception approach is so nice Sanghpriya shown us all property introduced all campus. she behave professionally and her approach was very working.Her talking and working style very different. She Welcome n good bye by her cute smile with her charming face. When we saw all property we decided to stay but all rooms sold out that time but we will surely visit there and stay.

Room Tip: Delux Room Lilian- balcony and view from room is so excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank fernandis488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thefernsamaliresort, General Manager at The Fern Samali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2017

Dear Mr. Fernandis,

Greetings from The Fern Samali Resort, Dapoli!

Your nice comments and your loyalty are well appreciated. For your next stay, you might consider booking a room in our newly added room categories such as Aster, Tulip and Saffron where the rooms are even more comfortable complimented with Modern décor.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again and introduce you these categories in detail.

Warm Regards,

Sumit Rahate.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dapoli
2.9 mi away
Exotic Home Stay
Exotic Home Stay
#3 of 8 in Dapoli
209 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Emerald
Comfort Inn Emerald
#1 of 8 in Dapoli
116 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lotus Beach Resort
Lotus Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Murud
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sagar Sawali Beach Resort Karde
2.4 mi away
The Mango Inn
The Mango Inn
#5 of 8 in Dapoli
69 reviews
10.3 mi away
Whistling Waves Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Samali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Samali Resort

Address: Survey No.83, Hissa No.2A, Burondi Road | Chandranagar, Dapoli 415712, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Ratnagiri District > Dapoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dapoli
Price Range: $71 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fern Samali Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the intimidating Western Ghats, accompanied by vast Arabian Sea at its feet, lies a serene hideout, capable of awakening human senses that seem to wander within the hustle-bustle of the city life. Perched on a hilltop with a panoramic view of the lush green valleys of Dapoli is where one shall find a “Home away from Home” recognized as The Fern Samali Resort. With its existence dates back to the era of British Military Camp, the resort withholds the remnants of past as means of architectural ventures. Marking its boundary in a convenient spot, the resort is easily accessible by excellent rail and road connections. The resort is at a reachable distance of 33 Kms from Khed Railway Station, 215 Kms from Mumbai, 200 Kms from Pune. Strolling from the resort for a distance of about 15 minutes, one can find the untouched beaches that radiate nothing but tranquility around. The Fern Samali Resort undoubtedly offers a haven which is worthy of rejuvenation. To further enjoy your stay at the resort, the lively surroundings offer various tourist attractions like the Dolphin show, parasailing at the beaches and the sight of Heritage temples and Historic forts. The resort constitutes 16 luxurious cottages and 22 magnificently furnished rooms to ensure that its guests have an experience to cherish for lifetime. Cottage types like Magnolia and Lillian are spacious with a touch of coziness. The rooms open into a verandah to witness the sun-kissed paddy fields. The room types, Aster and Tulip are perfect for ones who love to live in the lap of luxury. Providing every possible facility, they further overlook the beautiful town of Dapoli. The Saffron Suites have exquisitely carved furniture sets with a demarcated kitchenette, private dining and a living area, making it all the more magical. The Rooms and Cottages further include 24-hour services like Air-conditioning, Housekeeping, Hot and cold water, 32” flat screen TV with international reach, Digital in-room safe, Tea-coffee maker, Minibar, Business desk, High Speed Internet (Wi-Fi) and Ironing board on request. . Recreational Facilities: The resort has Jasalina - an Amphitheatre for leisure evenings and occasions, Amodini – a multipurpose hall for celebrations and conferences, Zillian – a multi-cuisine restaurant, Quiana – a well-stocked bar with international Spirits and Wines, Amaline – a Conference hall for business meetings, Ambrosia – a Gymnasium with steam and sauna, Flamingo Club – a place for adult bonding, Cuckoo Nest – cozy place for kids to indulge in challenging activities, Zion Spa – the epitome of relaxation and Azzure – a crystal clear amoeba pool. Ancillary services include Travel assistance, Sight-seeing tours, Doctor on call, Smoking area, Free Car Parking and Access facility for differently-abled. Thus, encircled by the Maratha backdrop and offering a typical Konkan Countryside ambiance, The Fern Samali Resort is unique in its own way. It gives away a vibe as if the Resort aims to reach the sky with its modern facilities yet stays grounded by treasuring the natural beauty and charm around it. It’s indeed a golden chance to get in touch with your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Fern Samali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing