We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location - Rooms could have been much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MTDC Holiday Resort Bhandardara
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This your typical MTDC resort, with excellent location and pathetic maintainace. We stayed in a cottage room. The room was not very clean and more natural light could have helped.
The beds seemed very old. The over all humidity in the rooms was very high.
We reached at around 13:00 The person at the reception told is there is not much that we can do or see in bhandardara for the rest of the day. He was totally wrong, we hired a local guide and he made the rest of our day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HrishiSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 232 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at MTDC bandhardara between 12-14 January 2013. The location as told by all is the best however it leaves you with much to be desired in terms of overall experience.

The rooms are bigger that what you would see in most places but they are begging for some upkeep and maintenance. The conditon of the bathroom was better than expected i must say. Looked like they recently renovated it. We stayed in a standard room (did not get any lake view ones or cottages). However they offered us a lake view room on 1st floor of their main building as some people had checked out earlier than expected. However we felt the standard room was in a better shape and closer to nature. It had a private porch and a small garden common to all standard rooms around it with benches and lots of trees (one anjeer tree was right outside ours).

They have an onsite restaurant but was different from other MTDC restaurants we have eaten in. The food was very spicy and oily. They also take at least 15-20 mins to serve up anything (even tea). Not highly recommended but then you are not exactly spoilt for choices. We tried Vaibhav restaurant in their main town area which was even more time consuming.

The staff is not bad at all I must add. Our dishtv connection was not working (they actually have an LCD tv in the rooms) and they promptly changed the set top box and got it working just in time for me to see the bigg boss finale :). Some earlier guests had left specs in some room which the reception staff asked us to take back with us as those people lived closeby. They seemed pretty concerned about it and were very polite in their request.

The place has become quite commercial overall I felt with boatkeepers pestering you for boatrides anytime you go close to the lake. They had a Sunday market going on (not sure if it happens every Sunday) which was fun. We had some local pedas and shakkar pares. Very delicious. Also bought onions, potatoes and garlic at steal-away prices. We clicked the vendors and they posed with enthusiasm. Next day we trekked up Kalsubai which is hte highest peak in Maharashtra. There are quite a few well known mountains around this area so a real heaven for hiking enthusiasts. Kalsubai was also very crowded. There is actually lot of pile-up on the various ladders to visit the temple on top. And this was in non-peak season.

There is a Buddhist temple right outside the property but you can easily miss it if you are not looking closely. Anandvan is also right opposite. On our return back we visited Randha falls. It is huge and we saw this in winters so it must be a real treat in monsoons I bet. We stopped at Vitthal Kamat on our way which was a pleasant surprise.

Overall a nice experience considering the cost is as minimal as it can be (1600/day, food-300 for two). The MTDC resort is quite busy so you should book well in advance.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are value for money with nice greenery all around. Try to get a corner one to avoid c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gl0balDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We take a short 2 day trip to Bhandardara. Not much of a choice exists for one to choose a resort here - Anandvan and MTDC are the only decent ones with amazing view of the lake. The MTDC resort is huge, with various room options available, including some lake facing cottages with great view of the scenery.

The cottages are huge in size with large beds, ample sitting area, bath and a separate dressing area - it is difficult to find rooms of such size. The rooms are, however, in a state of neglect and the maintenance is poor. Airconditioning does not exist but it was not missed as the temperatures are quite low, especially during the evenings. The on-site restaurant serves mediocre dhaba style food and as there aren't any other eating options around so one is stuck with it.

The lake itself is only a small walk down the cliff from the resort and offers some boating facilities. There is nothing much to do in this town - just sit in the lawn soaking in the pure, unpolluted air from the lake and enjoying fantastic view of the lake from the rooms. This is a good place for spending an idle weekend.

Room Tip: Choose the cottages facing the lake for breathtaking views. Avoid rooms near the restaurant to escap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Direct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

its perfect gateway to the people who wants the serenity and calmness. it beautifully located near the lake and from all rooms you can see the entire lake. the rooms are good but the service of food is not as good as it should be. the best time to travel is in rains.

Room Tip: book the villa for 6 ppl or room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivekvivago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The resort has excellent location overlooking the lake. We took rest there after our 8 hour trek to Ratangarh fort. We arrived late in the evening and got one room at decent price. The room quality was not good, a typical scenario at government run resorts. Most of the stuff will be either broken or outdated. The place definitely needs a renovation given its excellent location.

Apart from rooms, restaurant was average. We were very tired after the trek, so it was anyway better. The village does have small restaurants where you can have hot bhajji with tea on a monsoon morning.

Overall, I would recommends this place if you are coming back from the trek or even just want to relax on a weekend.

Room Tip: Get a room with lake view! Great view from the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lostroadwonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had gone to Bhandardara during our Engineering days around 3-4 years back. The hotel is located on a small hill directly opposite the famous Bhandardara lake. The rooms are pretty decent and the hotel service is also good. When we had visited the restaurant's food was pretty good, however my mom recently visited the place and mentioned that the quality has deteriorated. They have a good garden space outside the rooms and direct access to the lake. Overall a good place for a couple of days of stay.

Room Tip: Advanced booking is a must as the place gets booked during the season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruddin_hd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

MTDC Bhandardara is just like any other MTDC Resort - Location to die for, awesome views and huge property... but poorly maintained rooms, lack of cleanliness, overall shabby look and feel... you end up checking out with a feeling of 'This could have been so much more better, had they just maintained the resort well'.
The property location is awesome, just overlooking the Arther Lake and its spread across a good area. We went in for a Standard Room - Its a pretty small room with not much space to move around, but a huge balcony. Not all rooms have the Lake View, so check with the Resort Manager about the Room Numbers that give you the view, otherwise the stay will be quite sad, as the rooms with the views are really to die for. The rugs provided on the bed will actually give u a dust alergy if you try to beat them out with your hands, so please keep them aside. Towels and Bedsheets are best to be avoided. Thumbrule while staying in any MTDC property is - "ALWAYS CARRY YOUR OWN BEDSHEETS AND TOWELS".

The Canteen provides good food and even the Room Service is quite fast, much to our surprise. Go in for the Thali which is a complete meal and Value for Money. For Non-Veg Lovers, you can explore Hotel Sonali, which is just below the MTDC Resort in the village. You have to place your order in advance over here. They serve good Mutton with the traditional Bhajri Bhakri. Every Sunday, there's a Weekly Bazaar, which is fun to watch in the market for local village stuff!
Local Guides are available for sightseeing, its useful to get one along if travelling with family, so that you cover the places like Randha Fall, Wilson Dam, Arthur Lake, Konkan Kada, Table Land, Mount Kalsubai, etc.
Overall, would wrap up this trip to be good in terms of the natural beauty and sights, however the stay at MTDC could be much much better, if they just pay more attention to overall cleanliness and maintanance of the place.
Warning - There is frequent and long load shedding at this place, so go equipped with a handy torch.

Room Tip: Standard Room, opt for Room No.33 for Lake View and Canteen accessibility. Lake Side Cottages are ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmrutaEnjoyinLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahmadnagar
16.1 mi away
Dew Drops Boutique Retreat
14.7 mi away
Tropical Retreat
Tropical Retreat
#2 of 10 in Igatpuri
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anandvan Resort
Anandvan Resort
#1 of 7 in Bhandardara
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wanderlust Resort
Wanderlust Resort
#1 of 1 in Bhandardara
31 reviews
16.1 mi away
Manas Resort
Manas Resort
#5 of 10 in Igatpuri
444 reviews
71.6 mi away
Iris Premiere Hotel
Iris Premiere Hotel
#1 of 25 in Ahmadnagar
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MTDC Holiday Resort Bhandardara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTDC Holiday Resort Bhandardara

Address: Post Shendi, Ahmadnagar, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Ahmednagar District > Ahmadnagar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Ahmadnagar
Price Range: $44 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your MTDC Holiday Resort Bhandardara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MTDC Holiday Resort Bhandardara Maharashtra/Ahmadnagar, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing