We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location, Badly maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MTDC Holiday Resort Bhandardara
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Probably the best location for a resort in Bhandardhara with rooms overlooking the dam. As with most MTDC resorts- Best Location, near to worst maintenance and service.
But if luxury stay is not what you care for then a good value for money and budget vacation destination. The breeze by the evening is just intoxicating.... carry warm clothes no matter which month you go....fabulous location. Closeby restaurants are great for some local fish dishes.

Room Tip: Dont take room close to the canteen, can be noisy. The view from the old buildings is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girishgudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 234 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Really Bad condition of even deluxe rooms
Hotels and restaurants suck
But Place is good
Better go to another to another resort
The experience is killed by the non working fans and really bad dorms and rooms

Room Tip: Choose only Super Deluxe rooms or go to another hotel or resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akiratoriyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I needed a break from my hectic travelling and constant running around. Just had 1 day in hand so chose drive to Bhandardara with my wife. (This was also my first experience with the (M.T.D.C). The drive to Bhandardara and back home was one of the things I enjoyed most. There was a rough patch in between but the good roads otherwise wont really give you a chance to complain. I had traveled from Poona to Bhandardara and back.

Bhandardara is best enjoyed in the monsoons. The dam gates need to be open and waterfalls running for one to enjoy during the trip. I was very lucky to have both these when I traveled. Someone whom i gave a lift on my way near Sangamner said that he was not very happy when he visited Bhandardara 2 weeks back because there was no rain and the dam gates were not opened. The gates were opened on the only day when I was there.

As soon as you check in you will have a guide asking you if you want to go around. We chose to explore the hills on our own so we did not hire a guide. They charge Rs 300/-. If you are looking fora romantic time then you will have to carry the guard wherever you go. Umbrella falls and the Spilio gate are good places to visit. Boating @ Spilio gate is amazing if the climate is at its best. The boat operators ask for Rs 300 for a rowing boat and Rs 400 for a speed boat. Do not take the speed boat because it is not worth the money. We picked the rowing option and bargained to Rs 150/-.

The resort- Let me make this simple and point out some pro's and con's of staying at the resort.

Advantages-
1. Beautiful location. The monsoon drizzles make it even better.
2. Location of deluxe rooms and cottages are appreciative. The lake view is perfect.
3. Food is nice. If you are a non-vegetarian try the chicken masala and bhakari.
4. There is room service if you are feeling lazy and don't want to leave the room. They charge a little extra for that.
5. The evenings are quite and cold during monsoons. If your neighbors are not drinking and singing item numbers, you will want to come back here every year :-)
6. The room service staff is helpful and will guide you if you need any information. they will warn you not to roam out or near the edges once it gets dark as it is very risky.
7. The room is neat & clean when you check in but do not expect a 5 star feel.

Disadvantages-
1. Bathroom- one word- PATHETIC!. The fittings desperately need repair. A change rather. make sure you check the flush tank and wash basin tap when the room service guys checks you in.
2. The staff at reception is typical (frustrated government servant). The room service staff is an exception though.
3. Carry your drinking water to the room. Buy a bottle for the night.
4. Electricity cuts- very frequent but I think one should ignore them and enjoy the peace.

The have a mosquito repellent machine in the room. Don't forget to ask for a refill mat from the management before nightfall.

My stay of 1 night was memorable because I found the peace and quietness which i was looking for in this trip.

Room Tip: The only difference in the lake side cottage and deluxe room is the size. The amenities are pretty m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ammar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I am an avid traveller. All over india, MTDC has the best of locations, but sadly. they just cant seem to get it right. why do we have to contend with 3rd grade unhygienic standards? why settle for less..because..here in india..''... chaltha hai'' attitude prevails? And no one gives a damn? . Someone has to take the blame...someone is getting paid for nothing. I stayed at MTDC in Bhandardhara last week, the place is host to stray dogs- abt 20 of them- rooms had dirty glasses, dirty towels..stained sheets and well..dirty mirrors , smelly curtains that havent been washed for years i think...a small rag they call a mat....bathrooms were a tad clean..(but they somehow forget to scrub behind taps as usual) .. webs lined the ceilings..i mean come on! ..i could go on.. ALL it takes is a
L I T T LE effort..and a manager who does his job... with people on his staff who are serious about the tourist trade- where cleanliness and hygiene rate high. . is that too much to ask??? The cafeteria or eating area needs to be shut down. i wonder how they have a licence to run. YOU PEOPLE have no idea how to run one! Your stained tea cups is enough to give me an upset stomache. (as well as the attitude of your staff there!) Lets not go further.
With a little effort- all MTDC's can be turned around into ..well..3star rating at least. We dont mind paying more..but give us a good deal. Clean and neat . does anyone know who the BIG BOSS is..who will listen to my rantings??? I am heading to Tarkarli next.. lets see what awaits me there...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thefudgelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Being a goverment property , this place enjoys the luxury of having the best location in bhandardara. However , the other factors all go for a toss.

Location: It is located on the banks of the lake and you can enjoy beautiful sahyadris around.

Food: If you are not hygiene conscious then probably you might not have a problem. The food is not at all good.

Service: There is no service whatsoever.

Rooms: The lake side cottage is the only liveable room The rest of them need a lot of upgrade.
There is also electricity problem in the resort, but thankfully due to the weather in monsoon you pretty much can do without the fans .

After reaching the place, we made arrangements with our room service guy to take us around for 2 days to local sightseeing for Rs 400. There are also locals who would clean your car every morning for Rs 100 a day.

Overall, the place is the only place to be stayed in bhandardara compared to anandvan(10000 per night) and yash resort(5000 per night) since it has the best view.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
5  Thank binals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Bhandardara is a beautiful place with some very picturesque surrounding, the MTDC just makes it better. Do not expect 3/4 star hotel luxuries and comforts. The location of this resort is outstanding. I stayed in a standard room and still had the most beautiful view of the lake. Staff is very friendly and the food was amazingly good too. Try their egg masala and chicken do pyaaza, slurrp.

Do remember to book in advance on their site. Besides the first time I stayed there, the resort was always booked. If you're lucky, do not stay anywhere else but here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have wanted to go to Bhandaradara for quite some time specially after seeing the pictures posted on various websites. The scenery in those pictures always had some mystic magic that I just wanted to see for myself. So finally, this June I decided to chucked it all including work & booked a night at MTDC Special Room. The online pictures were ok & I was skeptical but just went through the whole online booking thing. All booking are to be done online & the MTDC site is pretty ok & user-friendly for a change.

The road from Mumbai to Bhandaradara is fabulous as your take the Eastern Express Highway to Thane & then towards Nashik & take a turn at Ghoti towards Bhandardara, however a word of caution

DON’T NOT USE GOOGLE MAPS IT FOR SOME REASON SHOWS THE INCORRECT ROUTE & WILL MAKE YOU TURN AT IGATPURI.

Check-in at the resort was pretty easy & we were shown our rooms within 15 mins. The best part of this resort is that your car is parked behind your room & the rooms are huge, palatial by Mumbai standard. The room we took had a lovely balcony & the view of the lake in front of us, which at nightfall was just mesmerizing. MTDC has the best view & location in Bhandaradara sitting right on the banks of the Wilson Dam & is far cheaper than the competition.

There were no mosquitoes when we went but the resort did provide with All-out, so you vacation should be relatively mosquito free :-P. The room also has a flat screen TV with a TATA Sky connection (limited channels) but I don’t think anyone would end up seeing it. The Bathrooms are clean & simple.

The food is not good at times & around 100 – 150 per dish & they serve Indian Chinese & Snacks. Ice cubes cost 25 bucks a tray. The electricity supply does fluctuate so you might never be able to use a hot plate that some wise folk out there might try. I wouldn’t even suggest a hair dryer as you might screw the entire wiring in the resort. Also there are a few restaurants here & there but do not expect to get anything better.

Weather here is absolutely fabulous. When we visited it was just before the monsoon & in the evening cool strong winds blew across the resort making the temperature pleasant. Afternoons are hot but not humid & the Wilson Dam is just a walk away through the market.

Room Tip: Choose the Special Rooms / the Cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boomtangboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahmadnagar
0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Chanakya
#4 of 5 in Ahmadnagar
1 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anandvan Resort
Anandvan Resort
#1 of 7 in Bhandardara
326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wanderlust Resort
Wanderlust Resort
#1 of 1 in Bhandardara
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71.6 mi away
Iris Premiere Hotel
Iris Premiere Hotel
#2 of 26 in Ahmadnagar
54 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Abhay Palace Lodging
Hotel Abhay Palace Lodging
#7 of 26 in Ahmadnagar
5 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yash Resort
Yash Resort
#3 of 26 in Ahmadnagar
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MTDC Holiday Resort Bhandardara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTDC Holiday Resort Bhandardara

Address: Post Shendi, Ahmadnagar, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Ahmednagar District > Ahmadnagar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Ahmadnagar
Price Range: $61 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your MTDC Holiday Resort Bhandardara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MTDC Holiday Resort Bhandardara Maharashtra/Ahmadnagar, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing