We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pocket Friendly”
Review of Jungle Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jungle Camp
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Choosing a property in the jungles of Central India has become a daunting task nowadays!
This time I was travelling with a big group & my brother being a travel agent specialising in jungle safaris & tours, made my job easier! I can say, without a doubt that the Madhya Pradesh tourism has done a commendable job as far as accommodation is concerned. All their retreats/resorts/hotels in MP are a)affordable, b)excellently located, c)food paradise & d)excellently serviced.
Therefore, our first choice keeping affordability in mind was the MP Tourism's Jungle Camp, & I must say, will never regret it!

They basically have tent like cottages, spacious enough for a family of 3. With play area for kids, garden for adults & old.....the property is family friendly!

One of the most important thing to consider when choosing a hotel in the jungle is its location! This property is very well located.....hardly minutes away from the jungle gate. Another most important noticeable thing is their safaris & drivers, who themselves are well equipped with their wildlife knowledge & are best at guiding!

The food is the USP of all the MP Tourism properties! The staff was very kind & catered to our needs & delighted us with meals of our choice. It was local food that we asked for every time but they specialise in all kinds of cuisine be it Indian, Tandoori, Chinese, Italian or Continental.

Last but not the least mentionable is the staff & their service. We ordered room service, which was quick & prompt. Laundry service is good.

I would like to mention a little something about the Panna National Park also. I have travelled to almost all the national parks in Central India & Panna NP is one of my favourites. It is a paradise for nature & wildlife lovers. It offers such exquisite varied landscapes from dense forest to one of the most longest rivers in India, The Ken River. Loads of birding opportunities as well. Do not go there if your only interest is to see the Tiger(of course there are Tigers!), but go there for the bountiful scenic marvels, go there for the sheer pleasure of enjoying the forest. It is simply MAGIC!

P.S: The booking was made in my brothers name, Deepak Rai & my husbands name Malay Jhaveri.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the restaurant so one need not walk a lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monica j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Located right next to the main entrance to the Panna NP, this state tourism hotel provides tented accommodation. The floors are all tiled and solid, and they have brick walls about a foot high, over which there is a tent, so it is not a camping style tent. There is a fully functional bathroom, with hot water etc. We made our booking for this hotel at the Khajuraho railway station at the MP State Tourism booth. Due to the Xmas season, there was a 20% surcharge, but we went for it anyway. The place is right next to the NP, and when we arrived our tent was the one right at the very end of the complex. We were welcomed by a loud cacophony of bird alarm calls which were caused by the presence of a large predator very close by. This got us excited at the prospect of seeing or hearing some wildlife close by, but it all died down shortly afterwards. The room itself was reasonably clean and tidy, with TV, portable room heater etc. Due to a faulty phone, when we dialed the reception for room service, they could not hear us speak, but they were used to it as some staff came running to the door within a minute to ask what we wanted. The food was basic but hearty Indian fare, such aloo parathas pakoras and pickles etc. A basic breakfast was included in the tariff. As we were settling in after dinner for a quiet night broken only by jungle sounds, we were interrupted by loud bollywood music. Went outside to find that the hotel has a full set of movie projectors etc which they use to project against the white walls of the tents, and there was a party in progress with some guests eating dinner around a campfire. I did not want to be a spoilsport but had to tell them to keep the racket down a bit. It was around 11pm by the time quiet returned to this part of the woods. Being on the main highway, there is also the traffic noise to contend with, so this is hardly a jungle idyll it is made out to be.

Next morning we spent some time hanging around the complex, they have a raised tree house/platform which allows you to relax half way up the teak trees. Thereafter our plan was to spend the day along the banks of the beautiful river Ken which runs through the NP. From the hotel, the banks of the river can be reached by a 20-30 minute walk through a village and fields. The hotel staff was very helpful in advising us on further travel options etc and letting us use their mobile phones to make local calls, as our phone had broken down.

If you want to stay very close to the Panna NP, you cannot get any closer than this.Also, this is by far the cheapest option to stay near the NP, the other private hotels are dearer but also provide a better service and are located further away from the road and are on the river bank. So you get what you pay for, I guess,

Room Tip: Ask for tents which are away from the road, and towards the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtravelplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The room(tent)was good with a clean bathroom(though small).There is power supply problem in this area but rooms are fitted with inverters which are sufficient.Tent opens in the face of jungle.You can relax atop a paltform on tree.Campfire may be ordered by paying for wood.This MPTDC facility is located by the side of Panna Reserve Forest Gate and Safari Gypsies are easily available.
A real nature experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KRISHNARANJAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harold E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panna
10.5 mi away
The Lalit Temple View Khajuraho
1.6 mi away
Camp Panna Resort
Camp Panna Resort
#2 of 6 in Panna
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Panna Tiger Resort
Panna Tiger Resort
#1 of 1 in Panna Tiger Reserve
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ken River Lodge
Ken River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Panna Tiger Reserve
175 reviews
0 mi away
Pashan Garh
Pashan Garh
#1 of 6 in Panna
115 reviews
0 mi away
K Raj Tiger Resort
K Raj Tiger Resort
#2 of 2 in Panna
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Camp

Address: Madla, Panna 400022, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Panna District > Panna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Panna
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing