We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the Top luxury. Great Experience”
Review of Pashan Garh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pashan Garh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in December 2013. The rooms are amazingly beautiful, the staff is totally friendly, and the food is fabulous. My daughter said, "The staff is like that at Downton Abbey" in that they all greet you on arrival and on departure. There is not a lot to do here except to go on a game drive looking for animals in Panna National Park, though they do have a pool. If you are looking for a remote place to unwind in luxury, this is the place, though it is a journey to get here. There are not a lot of cats in the park to spot, and they are spread out over a huge par, so if you spot any you will be lucky. We only saw deer and monkeys and some birds, but we enjoyed ourselves anyway. The Pashan Garth driver for our game drive was Manvendra. He had an outstanding personality, he was friendly, he remembered our first names the next day, and he was clearly knew his wildlife. His enthusiasm made up for the fact that we saw no cats on our one game drive. We wish we could have gone out for a second game drive in the early morning the day of our departure, but time did not permit. Would definitely recommend this place. It was also our home base for seeing the temples at Khajuraho, so you can do a few things from the same location. Cell service is spotty if available at all. Internet is only available when the gift shop is open, and even then it is only available near the gift shop, and not available all of the time if it is windy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are remote cottages--mostly you can not see other cottages at all from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gdmack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 115 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

A dozen spacious stone cottages with very attractive design, complemented by great service form the backbone of this special Taj property. The team is very attentive to all the visitors' needs and it is quite amazing to see how comfortable they can make the stay there. In particular the customized Indian food is absolutely great. The early morning safari was an interesting experience with numerous sightings of various forms of deer, a mongoose, Indian birds (no tiger even though we did see a fresh paw imprint). Internet is available gratis in the central lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojo2018zabivaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The stone cottages were very attractive and they set the heat at a comfortable level when we arrived (not for the bathroom). I never could see the heat controls in the room. The service was excellent during our two night stay and the chef was very helpful. However, the road to get to the property is very bad, with almost no rest stops and constant passing and dodging very large trucks with the bus. Although the staff could not have been more helpful, the safari ride to the park consisted of seeing a few large antelope and deer, and monkeys and was not worth the long ride to and from the park. So even if it is an excellent property, it is not worth getting there for the park.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have mixed feelings about the Pashan Garh. First, the service was outstanding. We so enjoyed the whole staff of the Pashan Garh and appreciated their collective kindness. Dilip in particular attended to our every need and everyone was helpful and kind. Second, the food was amazing and some of the best we had in India. Mukesh the chef is superb and kind. Every meal was a treat. The rooms and general feel are outstanding and unique and though the shower makes a watery mess in the bathroom the rooms are well designed and beautiful. You feel you are somewhere unique and this is very civilized camping. The lodge and whole "camp" are superb and we enjoyed relaxing and being there. The downside it is hard to get to on bad Indian roads and it is some distance from the Panna Park entrance. Indian roads in this area are terrible and though we had an excellent driver the 45 min drive to and from the park can be harrowing. Just getting there is a trek. On top of that we did not see a tiger so perhaps this review is jaded in that we traveled a great distance and survived the roads of the area and never saw a tiger. So this perfect resort and perfect service is balanced with the difficult location and distance from the actual park. My hats off to the staff though as they are some of the best in the world.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Pashan Garh for 4 unforgettable days and nights this October 2013. Having stayed in Tajsafaris, Bhagvan 4 years ago, our expectations were very high. Pashan Garh does not disappoint. The rugged stone cottages are superbly appointed and luxurious without being ostentatious. The property itself is located in the forest and amazing. However, what truly sets Pashan Garh apart is the amazing people. We were swept off our feet from the moment we arrived with their enthusiasm, mile-wide smiles and heartfelt hospitality. We were so comfortable that we played pranks on them and they in turn had us in splits with the pranks they played on us. We were accompanied by several staff on a safari drive inside the property under the stars on the pretext of star-gazing, only to have a bunch of them hiding in the darkness to leap out at us and scare us silly. We all laughed so hard! The next moment they revealed the true reason for the set-up, dinner under the stars with a personal butler, 2 chefs, lanterns hung on the trees while they left us to a romantic dinner in the moonlight. It was simply pure magic! Our safari drives were no less spectacular with amazing wildlife, each one enthusiastically spotted and identified by our articulate, fun and brilliant naturalist, Yaju. Breakfast every morning in some picture-postcard locations in the park, overlooking the Ken river from the plateau, or the gorge, was simply breathtaking, not to mention the delicious breakfast that was magically set up with elan, with sandwiches, muffins, fresh muesli, exotic coffee and more.The amazing food deserves a mention with the focus being of traditional, regional recipes with Taj's trademark style. Chefs Mukesh, Khaniah and Rajendra will whip up anything you desire and they had us licking every lorsel off the plate. The last night before we left, our soft-spoken butler Dilip arranged a private farewell dinner for us again under the stars, but this time on top of a little lookout tower, candle lights, wine, it was simply breathtaking! Our profound thanks to Camp Host Amit Namdeo and the Lodge Manager Amit Kumar for the creating such a magical experience for us. A special mention must be made of Amit Kumar, who not only leads a fantastic team, he also actively participated in every little experience and sets an amazing example that hospitality is a state of the heart, not just a brand. We left with such heavy hearts, to the point that we were actually choked with emotion when we left. Pashan Garh means 'house of stone', but to us Pashan Garh means people with hearts of gold, undertated luxury, amazing safari drives and the place where we left our hearts.

Room Tip: 1. Ask for cottage 11. It overlooks a small lake and has amazing birdlife. Plus you may get to spot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zhayynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stone cottages scattered around the grounds. The open shower was in the middle of the bathroom, water everywhere when it had water. Rooms were cold and the bathroom freezing especially when you were standing there and the water went off. Would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bbmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful and memorable anniversary weekend at Pashan Garh in December 2012. The luxury safari experience was wonderful, as were the beautiful accommodations in the middle of the jungle, the five star cuisine, and above all, the warm and friendly staff, which, under the excellent leadership of the properties Lodge Manager, felt like a family. The staff even organized a surprise anniversary dinner for us, making our sixth wedding anniversary unforgettable! Throughout our visit, we were assigned our own personal attendant, who anticipated every need we had. Our naturalist was also excellent. I'm not much of an outdoors person, but Pashan Garh allowed me to enjoy nature while experiencing 5 star luxury and service. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: All the stone cabins are just gorgeous and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kavi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panna
0 mi away
The Lalit Temple View Khajuraho
0 mi away
Radisson Jass Hotel Khajuraho
0 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#6 of 23 in Khajuraho
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Clarks Khajuraho
Clarks Khajuraho
#8 of 23 in Khajuraho
414 reviews
0 mi away
Mahua Kothi
Mahua Kothi
#7 of 36 in Bandhavgarh National Park
208 reviews
0 mi away
Camp Panna Resort
Camp Panna Resort
#2 of 6 in Panna
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pashan Garh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pashan Garh

Address: Amanganj Road, Panna 488333, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Panna District > Panna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Panna
Price Range: $308 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pashan Garh 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Indian Hotels Company Limited, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pashan Garh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing