We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We had a fantastic time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments

The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments
Peterborough, UK
1 review
“We had a fantastic time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

At first sight there's not a lot at Yorkey's Knob but you soon realise that there's a supermarket, bottle shop, take-away, a couple of retaurants and a beach cafe within walking distance. The beach is superb and there's a well flagged lifeguarded area within 5 minutes walk. And there genuinely are patches of rainforest dotted about, kookaburras just across the car park and a family of wallabies just up the road.

The pool and grounds were safe and well maintained, there were a huge range of guides and leaflets and Karen always provided hints and tips about which tours to take when as well as taking care of all the tour and hire car bookings.

The apartment was comfortable with plenty of space (and 2 TVs) which meant that co-existing with our 2 children was relatively easy. Kitchen was well equipped and there was also a washing machine. The apartments, as with the whole of Yorkeys Knob, are are very relaxed and relaxing place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
perth, western australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We had a wonderful holiday at Yorkeys Knob and would like to thank Karen & Graham for their help & guildance during our stay. This accomodation is the secret of Cairns, it is slightly north of the airport. It is perfectly situated for day visits to Port Douglas & the BEAUTIFUL Hinterland Areas. The beach is directly across the road waiting for long relaxing walks or swimming in a life guard patrolled area (there is also the in-house pool). Rooms are fully equipped for a very easy-living holiday with all the requirements for a great time. As we were there in December with a small cyclone, the Reef was not an option BUT that will wait for our next trip, so we will return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank earsrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

The apartments are clean with homely touches, the managers have provided the small things that make a stay really comfortable like kitchen plastic wrap and ali foil, pegs and lots of coat hangers. Karen and Graham make you feel like one of the family and nothing is too much for them. If you like a quiet holiday, this is the place. There is a local bus that seems to drive past all the time, if you have a car it is about 20 minutes from Cairns and 10 minutes to a large shopping centre to stock up on food if you want. Tour buses will collect you if you don't have a car. There are two brilliant restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Resort has a great pool. Don't expect a 5 star resort or a raging nightlife but if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday for the price this is fantastic value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill_chris58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

My 17yo daughter and I spent 5 nights at the York apartments escaping the southern winter and were most reluctant to leave. The apartments are clean, bright and spacious with good facilities and lovely touches like the complimentary chocs and bubbly. We arrived very late and left very early due to revolting Jetstar flight schedules but this was not a problem with the management. Karen and Graham are fantastic, down to earth and always happy to chat and recommend places to eat, things to do and answer all manner of questions. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The pool is beautifully maintained and a very pleasant place to spend time. The beach is just across the road and it is wonderful relaxing on the balcony or in the lounge with the doors open listening to the ocean.
We hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judi-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

stayed for 7 nights, very comfortable, great location, walk to shops, beach etc, we spent most of the time relaxing in the quiet garden atmosphere, our hosts were very accomodating and assisted when asked, Karen and Graham took time out just to chat. We look forward to returning

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

I am writing this review for my elderly father and his friend who stayed for 9 nights. They were overwhelmed by the friendliness of the managers and all the help and support they received with information, transport, bookings etc. The location is great for public transport, and of course accessing all the wonderful attractions in the area. The apartment had everything they needed, and dining out there were choices at different price points. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Workforholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We will certainly make it at least an annual holiday destination.
The rooms were large, bright and clean.
We loved the beautiful warm and large pool right at our apartment door, and walks along the beach right across the quiet road.
It was very easy to stroll around Yorkeys to the shops, marina (beautiful meals and views) and golf course - enjoyed them all.
We found Yorkeys to be perfectly positioned to get to all the attractions of the area - from Cairns and the Barrier Reef to Port Douglas and Cape Tribulation.
Tying all these things together were the nicest "nothing is too much trouble" managers - Karen and Graham.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucei7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorkeys Knob
0.1 mi away
Villa Marine
Villa Marine
#1 of 1 in Yorkeys Knob
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
A Villa Gail
A Villa Gail
#1 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cairns Beach Resort
Cairns Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Holloways Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beachfront Apartments Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments

Property: The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments
Address: 61-63 Sims Esp, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Yorkeys Knob
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Yorkeys Knob
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful seaside village of Yorkeys Knob are our 4 1/2 star rated fully self contained beachfront holiday apartments. All have stunning views of the Coral Sea from their entertainer balconies or garden courtyard. They contain complete kitchens and laundry for that relaxing self sufficient holiday. An ideal spot to step off for trips to the Great Barrier Reef and Rain Forrests, there are attractions and activities galore. Relax on your balcony overlooking the pool or enjoy the awesome beach, it's all too easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments Yorkeys Knob, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing