We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we're back”
Review of Villa Marine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Marine
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yorkeys Knob
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This weekend we decided to head back for a couple of nights to Villa Marine. Villa Marine is self contained. It is a Jewell found in Paradise. Is it so relaxing, peaceful, and like a home away from home. Peter the owner is a top host and nothing ever is too much for him. Surrounded by rain forest, one can listen to the frogs croaking and other noises made by different insects little animals and many fruit bats travelling through.
Highly recommend Villa Marine, It is also 50 metres from the beach and a courtesy bus is available to take you to boat club and back for meals.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janjanCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Villa Marine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 197 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

Villa Marine has a wonderful tropical environment and only minutes from the beach. The room was clean, comfortable, spacious and most importantly, excellent value for money!

The entire resort has a friendly and relaxed atmosphere whether sunbathing by the pool or enjoying a book in the shade of your villa garden.

It was very easy to get into the centre of Cairns by bus for a day of shopping and sightseeing.

This is a resort I would highly recommend to both family's and couples, young and old.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharRich407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Beautiful tropical setting, you could forget about the surrounding properties - and close enough to hear the sea at night when no traffic around. And at Villa Marine the Dawn Chorus is very real! The accommodation we stayed in was spacious, clean, and well kitted out - we cooked for ourselves both evenings (after a very expensive few days in Uluru and Alice). The laundry room and washing line (which looks out on to trees) is the most picturesque we have ever seen in an hotel! We didn't book any trips as we had already planned how to spend our two days in Yorkeys Knob, but Peter had a vast range of suggestions if we had had more time; in any event he was very hospitable and helpful with a range of local advice and information.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Spent four very nice days at Villa Marine staying in the Rainforest apartment - absolutely beautiful being surrounded by the trees. It was quite a novelty (for Kiwis) to be woken by the 'laughing' of kookaburras and to see two of them on a branch outside our bedroom window one morning. Very spacious, clean and nicely presented unit, full kitchen (great for having a meal 'at home') and a nice patio with very comfortable chairs to sit out. Lovely pool which we made very good use of. A short walk to the beach and the Yacht Club. An ideal place to stay if you wish to be out of Cairns city - very quiet and handy to all local attractions. Other reviewers have said it all regarding Peter - a most friendly and helpful host and a wealth of local knowledge.

Room Tip: The Rainforest apartment is seperated from the other units by the laundry so there is the feeling of...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Our first point of stay here in Cairns. Greeted by the most friendly person you could ever meet - Peter thank you so much for your hospitality and making us feel very welcome. We loved staying here, the gardens are beautiful and tropical, the unit we stayed in was very spacious and clean, providing a complete kitchen was great as we then got to cook up what fresh ingredients we bought at the local shops and markets. Having an on-sight laundry was great. The beach is so close to walk to and wonderful any time of day. We had our own transport - but there are buses that run to town and northern beaches not far from Villa Marine.

Thank you Peter :)
Elizabeth & Russell

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takemewithyou61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

my second time at Villa Marine, and a very last minute booking to get away from Cairns for the week end. A great pleasure to spend time chilling on the beach go to to the yacht club for lunch, looking over the Marina. Fantastic service and attention to details, I just feel like home there, relaxed and safe :) Peter is a great help and an awesome host! Recommended!!

Room Tip: the one next to tropical garden is very calm and perfectly surrounded by rainforest!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandraleo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

After sleeping in hostels of Cairns it felt so relaxing to come here and have a good sleep. There are only 8 units in this hotel so you are able to enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of this place and you will also get individual service from the helpful manager, Peter. I’m a female traveling alone, so for me it was important that I felt safe immediately after arriving here. The apartments are self-contained so it saves you money to be able to do your own cooking. Kitchen had the basic things needed and you are able to do your own barbecue in the evening while listening the incredible sounds of rainforest. The beach of Yorkeys Knob is just 50 meters away and although it was very beautiful beach it was not crowded at all. I would recommend this place for anybody who wants to get a good value hotel accommodation near Cairns without hustle and bustle.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
Thank Minna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorkeys Knob
3.4 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,136 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
172 reviews
7.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
2.3 mi away
Cairns Beach Resort
Cairns Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Holloways Beach
292 reviews
5.7 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marine

Address: 8 Rutherford St, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Yorkeys Knob
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yorkeys Knob
Price Range: $101 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Marine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 1 of our 9 villas facing rain forest and 50m from the beach with fully self-contained facilities, including kitchens and bathrooms. Our villas are suitable for couples, singles, families, and small groups, and we have a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets from budget to luxury. Located just 10 minutes north of Cairns by the beach, our environmentally friendly accommodation faces rain forest with diverse wildlife including kangaroos and many different rain forest bird species. Our tourist information center offers free tour bookings and car hire. Tours pick up at our door. Tap into our extensive knowledge on the best reef locations or our diverse range of every tour in the Cairns region! Friendly, helpful service, shops, supermarket, restaurants and buses very close. Villa Marine is located so close to Cairns, yet by the beach away from the hustle and bustle of the city center. Ideal for those seeking a more natural environment. Come and stay at Cairns' quirkiest holiday accommodation! Awards: Cairns Tourism Association Annual Award 2011. Best standard Accommodation for the Region: 2012, 2013, 2014. Tourism Tropical North Queensland Hall Of Fame 2015. TripAdvisor certification For Excellence: 2011, 2012,2013,2014, 2015. TripAdvisor Hall Of Fame 2015. Eco-Friendly Certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marine Yorkeys Knob, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing