We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best spot in Yorkeys!”
Review of Villa Marine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Marine
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yorkeys Knob
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
cairns
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best spot in Yorkeys!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

my second time at Villa Marine, and a very last minute booking to get away from Cairns for the week end. A great pleasure to spend time chilling on the beach go to to the yacht club for lunch, looking over the Marina. Fantastic service and attention to details, I just feel like home there, relaxed and safe :) Peter is a great help and an awesome host! Recommended!!

Room Tip: the one next to tropical garden is very calm and perfectly surrounded by rainforest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraleo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    34
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
77
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2012

After sleeping in hostels of Cairns it felt so relaxing to come here and have a good sleep. There are only 8 units in this hotel so you are able to enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of this place and you will also get individual service from the helpful manager, Peter. I’m a female traveling alone, so for me it was important that I felt safe immediately after arriving here. The apartments are self-contained so it saves you money to be able to do your own cooking. Kitchen had the basic things needed and you are able to do your own barbecue in the evening while listening the incredible sounds of rainforest. The beach of Yorkeys Knob is just 50 meters away and although it was very beautiful beach it was not crowded at all. I would recommend this place for anybody who wants to get a good value hotel accommodation near Cairns without hustle and bustle.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Minna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Good friends from Georgia, USA came across Villa Marine on the net and suggested we make this our accommodation whilst in Cairns. Well! What a superb find! The units are absolutely stunning from the decor right through to a fully equipeed kitchen to the amazingly comfy bed. The patio, as well as the pool & BBQ area become a natural meeting place to enjoy the coolness under the tropical canopy. The Manager, Peter, is most welcoming and very keen to make sure you enjoy your stay 100%. He has a treasure cache of local knowledge and shares info willingly with his friendly nature. A beautiful place to relax and enjoy the tropics, and comes highly reccommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequenTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

After traveling around Australia for a few months, we ended in Cairns. We decided that we'd like a more relaxed and quieter stay rather than staying near the CBD. So we chose to stay in the Northern Beaches. We came across Villa Marine on Trip Advisor and figured we'd try it out from what we read.

It's very easy to get to, with a bus stop no more than a minute away on foot. The main shops of the small town (Yorkey's Knob) are less than 10 minutes away by foot. Best of all, the beach is about 50 meters away. The beach here, versus further North (like Clifton or Palm Cove) is still pristine. There's not really any kind of esplanade along it at all. It's just forest, sand then water. No shops, no car noise. From Villa Marine, it's easy to get to those beaches, but if you're looking for relaxation and beauty, this is where you want to be.

On the property itself, there's a great pool if you want to take a quick dip without getting all salty and sandy. It's really big considering the size of the resort.

The villas themselves are amazing. We stayed in one of the cheaper villas, but it still had a really comfortable bed (we only used the queen sized, but there were two singles in the room as well), and the furnishings were all very nice. The TV (we didn't use it, but I some would I imagine) was a very big flat screen. The kitchen had everything we needed. It wasn't your standard kitchenette, but rather a kitchen. Oven, 4 ring stove, all gas, big sink, pots, pans, crockery, microwave, bar fridge/freezer, toaster and kettle.

Decor was very nice, with a few books, magazines, art on the walls, plenty of lounge space, terrace with a lounge and two big chairs and tons of room inside. There's a dining table which seated 4. As a chef, it was awesome to be able to cook again. Australia can be pretty expensive to eat out, and annoying to eat out of supermarkets all the time. The room was also really clean when we checked in. There's definitely an attention to detail.

Best part about Villa Marine, like most have already mentioned, was Peter, the owner. He's one of the friendliest people we had met on our journey and he was never too busy for any guest it seemed. He doubles as a tour booker, so be sure to ask him about tours. He'll give you the run down on prices/quality/value, so don't forget to ask.

Considering that you can comfortably fit a lot of people in the rooms, it's a wonder why anyone uses hostels in the city. It's only a few dollars more to stay here and you have your own kitchen. You end up saving money in the long run really. Thanks for a great experience Peter!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I spent one week at this fantastic complex towards the end of the wet season. While I was staying in a fantastically furnished appartment I always had the feeling that I was in the centre of the rainforest because of the luscious surroundings of Villa Marine. The pool is set infront of towering rainforest greenery where you can swim, relax or have a barbeque. The appartment itself was aboriginal themed with some antique furniture and ornaments. It was very cool even in the high humidity. It was spotless when I arrived and presented to a high standard.
While i stayed here I made a trip to the rainforest which I booked through Peter the owner. He gave me a great price and advised me on how to get there. The rainforest skyrail to Kurunda is only a 10minute drive away and accessible by public transport. I would definitely recommend it!
It is a great area just to walk around with rainforest trails, mountain scenery and river and seafishing within walking distance. Yorkeys knob is a quaint little area, great for a relaxing break away from the city.
The best aspect of Villa Marine has to be Peter, the owner, who was extremely helpful with any questions and extremely knowledeable on the local area. Make sure you go to him for your tours and trips, he offers the best prices I could find!

Shane

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Villa Marine offers so many things. Extremely comfortable accomodation for its guests with a beautiful large pool. Surrounded by Rain Forest, and only metres from the tropical beach which is magnificant for walking and other activities. One important feature is the quietness and peacefullness of Villa Marine and its surroundings.
If like me you are interesting in boats of any description, The Yorkeys boat club is only a short ride away in their courtsey bus to magnificent views from the deck, great meals and also entertainment. The owner/ operator of Villa Marine, Peter is a brilliant host who will be able to answer any queries, advise you on any tourism activities and is probably one of the nicest people you will come across during a North Queensland visit. David C

Room Tip: All room are spacious, perfectly cleaned with all amentities provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is a small collection of cabins overlooking a superb pool (which we used a couple of times) and not far from the beach (which we didn't have time for as we unfortunately only stayed one night). The pool and cabins are set in a garden with lots of tropical plants giving a truly 'tropcal feel'.
The cabins don't overlook each other and have a small patio with comfortable chairs and a table etc. The rooms are well equipped with a mini kitchen and were large and comfortable. We would stay longer next time. This is way different (better) than all those enormous hotels and motels closer in to Cairns.

Room Tip: THe room types on the website are somewhat confusing. We had a beach apartment overlooking the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin49uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorkeys Knob
3.4 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,117 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
170 reviews
7.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
5.6 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 11 in Palm Cove
563 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 11 in Palm Cove
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marine

Property: Villa Marine
Address: 8 Rutherford St, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Yorkeys Knob
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yorkeys Knob
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Marine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 1 of our 9 villas facing rain forest and 50m from the beach with fully self-contained facilities, including kitchens and bathrooms. Our villas are suitable for couples, singles, families, and small groups, and we have a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets from budget to luxury. Located just 10 minutes north of Cairns by the beach, our environmentally friendly accommodation faces rain forest with diverse wildlife including kangaroos and many different rain forest bird species. Our tourist information center offers free tour bookings and car hire. Tours pick up at our door. Tap into our extensive knowledge on the best reef locations or our diverse range of every tour in the Cairns region! Friendly, helpful service, shops, supermarket, restaurants and buses very close. Villa Marine is located so close to Cairns, yet by the beach away from the hustle and bustle of the city center. Ideal for those seeking a more natural environment. Come and stay at Cairns' quirkiest holiday accommodation! Awards: Cairns Tourism Association Annual Award 2011. Best standard Accommodation for the Region: 2012, 2013, 2014. Tourism Tropical North Queensland Hall Of Fame 2015. TripAdvisor certification For Excellence: 2011, 2012,2013,2014, 2015. TripAdvisor Hall Of Fame 2015. Eco-Friendly Certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marine Yorkeys Knob, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing