We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out zone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Yorkeys Knob B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chill out zone”
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We booked Golden Sands as a chill out time at the beginning of our tour of Australia. We were not disappointed. Brian and Qui Qui were the perfect hosts, helping us to book a wonderful day at the Barrier Reef (operator Reef Magic) and superb views of the Rain Forest from the Skyrail.
The appartment offered everything we needed and the restaurant downstairs served lovely meals with great service (although I don't know how they made money because there were only ever a few people in there).
Yorkie's Knob beach was beautiful and windy!
We would recommend hiring a car (Brian will organise one to be dropped off at the door) as eating out options will otherwise be very restricted and there are some great beaches nearby which would otherwise be missed.
We recommend Golden Sands for a peaceful, relaxing break in beautiful surroundings.
Jas and Diane (26.07.08)

  • Liked — Friendlinness of hosts and setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Director-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    20
    4
    8
    7
See reviews for
28
26
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

We had a lovely 1 bed apartment on the third floor overlooking the gardens. Apartments have everything including washing and drying facilities. Brian was very helpful and recommended lots to see and do. I could not fault Golden Sands but one thing to note is that the location is at least a 10 - 15 mins drive to Cairns. there is a bus service but really you need a car to get into Cairns from Yorkey's. The village of Yorkey's is ok but there is not alot in it, really I think for those who want to sample Cairns you need to stay much closer and you must rent a car if you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Level Contributor
135 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

We had a great time in Yorkeys Knob. The apartments were great, location great, accomodation clean, spacious and showers were powerful!! Kitchen ideal and washing facilities really helped!! Brian massively informative and helped us get the most out of our stay. We would definately stay here again. The beach is clean and great location. Short drive to cairns, Sky rail to kuranda, brians advice re trip to great barrier reef also very helpful.Enjoyed our drive to atherton tablelands but should have asked brian about the roads before we went- interesting!! The accomodation was absolutely fab

  • Liked — Brian and spacious clean accomodation
  • Disliked — internet access was variable
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nikiandpauldundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Stay at Golden Sands for only 3 days and were glad we didn't have to stay longer. Hosts Brian and Qi Qi are very friendly and helpful. The taxi ride from the airport was $40 AUD. They helped us rent a car (which you need staying here) and recommended Reef Magic for our Great Barrier Reef trip. We had a two bedroom suite which was spacious. The rooms were very simple with wicker furniture. The bathrooms needed to be updated. The TV remote did not work. There were ants all over the kitchen cabinets. In the very small gameroom/exercise room there was a ping pong table, a stationary bike and a broken weight machine. To get to the beach one had to go into the basement garage and up stairs to get to the public beach. Lifeguards were a good 1/2 mile down the beach. The pool on the website looks a lot bigger than it is and it is VERY COLD. We didn't eat at the very expensive restaurant on the property. We had to drive to restaurants and the grocery store. Nothing was within walking distance.

  • Liked — Host Brian & QI Qi
  • Disliked — location and access to beach
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

After reading the reviews, I was a bit disappointed. In general, we have found trip advisor to be extremely accurate, except for this time. The hosts (Brain & Qi Qi) are indeed very helpful, nice and know the attraction around very well. They gave us very good information and every time we followed their advice, we were pleased.

The hotel itself is ok - but it is a bit run down. Our room needed repair of several things (one of the cupboard doors was broken, etc etc) and in general the furniture was a bit minimal and flimsy. The beach is near (2 minute walk), but not that nice and the pool is very cold and even my kids did not find it very appealing. Also, there is no good place near by to eat. The restaurant at the hotel is very expensive (25 - 30ozzie$ for a main) and in the area there is next to nothing, so we ended up driving into Cairns.


Overall, we were a bit conflicted since we did like our hosts, but the room is nothing special and needs work. Would we stay there again: no - I think we'd stay in port douglas instead - closer to most of the action or in cairns itself.

  • Liked — our hosts (Brain & Qi Qi )
  • Disliked — the room quality and location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank helia_bunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton On Hudson ,NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We spent 5 days in late May at Golden Sands based on Trip Advisor reviews. Our large, clean 1-bedroom third floor apartment had full sliding glass doors opening from the living room and bedroom onto a large balcony overlooking the pool/gardens. Brian was very helpful in securing a rental car which is a must for this location (note to Americans: right handed steering wheel cars are not as hard as you think and you will be surprised how quickly you adapt). He also helped us plan a half-day trip to Barrons Falls, a full-day trip to Mossman Gorge/Cape Tribulation (start early) and another full day diving expedition on the Great Barrier Reef (highly recommended: Reef Magic).

We ate at the GSBR restaurant twice (Chef Peter) and both meals were fantastic. For some local color, we tried the the Yorky's Knob Yacht Club one night and this restaurant is also recommended.

If you are looking for a really nice quiet tropical location with a great balcony that is away from the Cairns crowds and close to highway for day trips north, this is the place!

  • Liked — Large living room and balcony
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrleee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2008

You are made to feel so welcome by Brain & Qi Qi from the minute you arrive till the minute you leave. Brain was fanstasic at arranging all our trips, acr hire etc. The room was fantasic - so much space! We had a one bed apartment & found it to have everything we needed & then some more. The food in the resturant was absolutley gorgeous - they even cooked me a meal that wasnt on the menu! Lisa & Paul (the restaurant owners) were lovely and chatty. The pool area was perfect, very scenic & peaceful - just be careful when actually getting into the pool, because it is on the chilly side.
We will definatley be returning.
Thank you Brain, Qi Qi, Lisa, Peter & Nu-Nu (hehe) for the holiday of a lifetime!

  • Liked — how at home you felt!
  • Disliked — the fact that we had to leave :(
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank caitlin_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorkeys Knob
0.3 mi away
Villa Marine
Villa Marine
#1 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
193 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,102 reviews
7.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
2.1 mi away
Cairns Beach Resort
Cairns Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Holloways Beach
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mediterranean Beachfront Apartments Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Beachfront Resort

Property: Golden Sands Beachfront Resort
Address: 12-14 Deauville Close, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Yorkeys Knob
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Yorkeys Knob
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star, 32 self-contained holiday apartments, 1 and 2 bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Golden Sands Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Golden Sands Beachfront
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort Yorkeys Knob, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing