We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Yorkeys Knob B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Very disappointed in our stay here. We stayed a few years back and had heard the location was great for windsurfing and kitesurfing (which it is!). There was also a little restaurant where we could have a late afternoon drink and the staff were great.
Don't expect any of that! No restaurant or bar and no facilities other than the pool (unfortunately there is a real mosquito problem so there is no option to relax around the pool)
It is certainly not a 'resort' ( no facilities) - there are also many people living here permanently so it feels too much like a rental unit block.
Yorkey's Knob is a beautiful beach and the locals are great. I would say you would be better off based in the city and drive or catch a bus out to the beaches for a day or two - it's only a 15 minute drive and you will have much more access to other activities from town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sonny222013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenBoy1214, Manager at Golden Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

we are very sorry to hear your experience
We just took over the business and thank you very much and we look forward to see you again under new management
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 97 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

It has been a couple of years since we stayed at the Golden Sands Resort; the place looks quite fresh, Roy our manager was great to deal with and the stay was very pleasant indeed. The exterior has had a spruce up; the two units I have been staying in had fresh tiles and the tired furniture has been updated; clean & bright.
I love the location, it is great that the cyclone did little visual damage to the area; a few trees have disappeared from the view and the beach looks even closer! The restaurant is not functioning at present due to the cyclone event; but it really is business as usual in every other way!
This is still my lodging of choice in the Northern Beaches area, the local food and restaurant offerings - including the new Thai Star of Siam are great and I never miss a visit to the Boat Club; but not Monday nights as that is the big local evening and it is difficult to get a seat! Yorkey's Knob is hard to beat; the Golden Sands Resort is the icing on the proverbial cake!

Room Tip: I always book directly with the Roy - his rates are more than fair and you always know you will be l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanW-QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenBoy1214, Owner at Golden Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

We just took over the business and thank you very much and we look forward to see you again under new management
Cheers

Syed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I booked a room at the Golden Sands Beachfront Resort through HotelClub.com in January 2011 for the weekend of the Cairns Challenge triathlon race (5 months ahead of the race). I received an email confirming my reservation and my credit card was debited for the full cost of the stay. I called the resort the day before I was due to book-in just to make sure that everything was ok. I was told on the phone that they did not have any reservation in my name. After HotelClub contacted the Resort, I was told that the Resort would not be honoring my reservation as the reservation had not been recorded due to a "computer glitch". This caused a great deal of inconvenience as we were travelling with an infant and all decent accommodation was gone the day before a triathlon weekend. Make sure you call to confirm ahead of your stay with this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
5  Thank Benjismum2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenBoy1214, Manager at Golden Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

We just took over the business and thank you very much and we look forward to see you again under new management
Cheers

Syed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Large, clean apartment which was bright and airy. Owners were really friendly and accommodating. Free wifi. Large balcony with nice, comfortable furniture - makes a pleasant change from plastic ones.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoniaG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenBoy1214, Manager at Golden Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

We just took over the business and thank you very much and we look forward to see you again under new management
Cheers

Syed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed at the Golden Sands for 7 nights in january 2011. The whole experience was wonderful. The owner (Roy) and staff were very helpful in every way. The accomodation was of a good standard. The pool and gardens, outstanding. The Waterdragon restaurant offers haute cuisine. We highly reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowpup6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenBoy1214, Manager at Golden Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

We just took over the business and thank you very much and we look forward to see you again under new management
Cheers

Syed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This motel was perfect for us..Nice and quite.Great rooms.Best pool ever.Service was the best.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaandameila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenBoy1214, Manager at Golden Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

thank you very Much
We just took over the business and thank you very much and we look forward to see you again under new management
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

This property is located in a quiet area in Yorkey's Knob, and is in a convenient location if you have your own car. The sign on the front says "Holiday Apartments" rather than "Beachfront Resort" which I think is a more accurate description. To me, "resort" implies luxury and facilities that these apartments don't have.

As others have said, the staff are very friendly and helpful. However, the room was slightly below my expectations. There were several little things like providing tea and coffee facilities, but no milk. There weren't any tissues. The air conditioning wasn't very cold. And ants got into the kitchen. On the plus side, it does have free wifi but it's pretty slow. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need to prepare simple meals. The room is comfortable but not modern.

The pool area was very pleasant, and although you can't see the beach from the room it's only a very short walk away. We ate at the restaurant one night and it was very good.

So overall, we were satisfied with our stay, but compared with our hotel in Port Douglas it was a bit more expensive and a bit less luxurious.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevePER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenBoy1214, Manager at Golden Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

thank you very Much
We just took over the business and thank you very much and we look forward to see you again under new management
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorkeys Knob
0.3 mi away
Villa Marine
Villa Marine
#1 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
203 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cairns Beach Resort
Cairns Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Holloways Beach
310 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
#4 of 21 in Trinity Beach
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Fitzroy Island Resort
Fitzroy Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fitzroy Island
1,384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Resort
Half Moon Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
The York Beachfront Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Beachfront Resort

Address: 12-14 Deauville Close, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Yorkeys Knob
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Yorkeys Knob
Price Range: $98 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Beachfront Apartment Resort is located at Yorkeys Knob, just 15 minutes from the Cairns CBD and airport. Offering one and two bedroom self-contained holiday apartments, Golden Sands Resort Cairns is right on the Yorkeys Knob beachfront with only open lawns and gardens separating your holiday apartment from the long stretch of golden sand that is Yorkeys Knob beach. Soak up the ambience of a secluded lush tropical garden setting right on the beachfront at Yorkeys Knob... enjoy the tranquillity while knowing you are within easy reach of all the excitement and grandeur that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Laze around the lagoon style “SOLAR HEATED” salt water pool, a constant 30 degrees year round or take a leisurely 30 second stroll to Yorkeys Knob Beach, enjoy a game of tennis or basketball. Large and spacious one and two bedroom air-conditioned holiday apartments with self contained catering and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Sands Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Golden Sands Beachfront
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort Yorkeys Knob, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing