We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible, they did not keep our reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Yorkeys Knob B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible, they did not keep our reservation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

I booked a room at the Golden Sands Beachfront Resort through HotelClub.com in January 2011 for the weekend of the Cairns Challenge triathlon race (5 months ahead of the race). I received an email confirming my reservation and my credit card was debited for the full cost of the stay. I called the resort the day before I was due to book-in just to make sure that everything was ok. I was told on the phone that they did not have any reservation in my name. After HotelClub contacted the Resort, I was told that the Resort would not be honoring my reservation as the reservation had not been recorded due to a "computer glitch". This caused a great deal of inconvenience as we were travelling with an infant and all decent accommodation was gone the day before a triathlon weekend. Make sure you call to confirm ahead of your stay with this resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Benjismum2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    20
    4
    8
    7
See reviews for
28
25
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Large, clean apartment which was bright and airy. Owners were really friendly and accommodating. Free wifi. Large balcony with nice, comfortable furniture - makes a pleasant change from plastic ones.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoniaG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed at the Golden Sands for 7 nights in january 2011. The whole experience was wonderful. The owner (Roy) and staff were very helpful in every way. The accomodation was of a good standard. The pool and gardens, outstanding. The Waterdragon restaurant offers haute cuisine. We highly reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowpup6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

This motel was perfect for us..Nice and quite.Great rooms.Best pool ever.Service was the best.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaandameila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

This property is located in a quiet area in Yorkey's Knob, and is in a convenient location if you have your own car. The sign on the front says "Holiday Apartments" rather than "Beachfront Resort" which I think is a more accurate description. To me, "resort" implies luxury and facilities that these apartments don't have.

As others have said, the staff are very friendly and helpful. However, the room was slightly below my expectations. There were several little things like providing tea and coffee facilities, but no milk. There weren't any tissues. The air conditioning wasn't very cold. And ants got into the kitchen. On the plus side, it does have free wifi but it's pretty slow. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need to prepare simple meals. The room is comfortable but not modern.

The pool area was very pleasant, and although you can't see the beach from the room it's only a very short walk away. We ate at the restaurant one night and it was very good.

So overall, we were satisfied with our stay, but compared with our hotel in Port Douglas it was a bit more expensive and a bit less luxurious.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevePER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

We recently stayed for 15 days with another couple at Golden Sands. It was our 8th time staying there. We have experienced a change of 3 operators during this time frame. All of the operators have been excellent and made improves during there era. The present operators Roy, Adam & Tanaya are excellent! We found found them extremely accomodating and friendly. Nothing was too much for them to make our visit pleasant. We feel their improvements with solar heating for the pool and taking over the restaurant is excellent. Their refurbishing the units has made the whole complex seem 'new' and pleasant. We will continue staying at Golden Sands Resort in the future and often recommend the place to friends who are considering visiting Cairns.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorverden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

We couldn't have asked for better. My cousin and I were to share a unit however upon our arrival another apartment was available so we were given one each at no extra cost. We dined at the resort Restaurant and enjoyed the beautifully prepared meals. The owners, Adam, Tanya and Roy were very helpful with advice and answers to our many questions. Adam drove us to the departure point for our tour up to Kuranda and he was there to collect us in the afternoon. Roy drove us to the Airport on our departure from the resort. We enjoyed strolling along the beach and wandering around the small township of Yorkey's Knob. I would thoroughly recommend the resort even if you just wanted to stay put and enjoy the surroundings there you would find it had everything you required.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretD81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorkeys Knob
0.3 mi away
Villa Marine
Villa Marine
#1 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
7.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
0.7 mi away
A Villa Gail
A Villa Gail
#1 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mediterranean Beachfront Apartments Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Beachfront Resort

Property: Golden Sands Beachfront Resort
Address: 12-14 Deauville Close, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Yorkeys Knob
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Yorkeys Knob
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star, 32 self-contained holiday apartments, 1 and 2 bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Sands Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Golden Sands Beachfront
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort Yorkeys Knob, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing