We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Gem in Far Nth Queensland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A Villa Gail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Villa Gail
Ranked #1 of 2 Yorkeys Knob B&B and Inns
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Gem in Far Nth Queensland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

You could be mistaken and think you are in the Mediterranean at this stunning B&B..
This is a beautiful spot with uninterrupted views from every room of the Coral Sea with Green Island on the horizon.. The beds are comfy too, which is so important..

When you first arrive you are greeted with the warmth of Gail, the owner..
Gail makes you feel so at home with her engaging personality.. She can't do enough for you..

With her knowledge of the Cairns area Gail will recommend the right day trip for you and will even book it for you if you wish..
Each day for breakfast you are served a healthy fruit platter with toast and tea or coffee to start your day..

I can't say enough about this beautiful B&B, only that for those who are blessed to come by it, you won't be disappointed..
After a week here it was beginning to feel like my second home and I will certainly be back to visit Gail her beautiful B&B one day soon..
The memories will stay with me forever!!

Room Tip: My favourite is the room directly above the pool if you are a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welby1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    15
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
25
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I have just spent a few days with Gail at Avilla Gail. She is a lovely person who will talk and give you tips on how and where to go and get the best out of Cairns. The view is amazing and just the most fantastic. We stayed in a room with windows opening out to an amazing morning sun rise. Had breakfast on the deck over looking the ocean and the shore line. We loved the healthy fruit breakfast. We enjoyed the hill climbs, good exercise. Not for everyone. Thank you Gail and hope to stay there again. Will share our photos with family and friends in Perth.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Our stay in Cairns was made memorable by our choice of accommodation –A Villa Gail. The view from the bed is fantastic, the sunrises and the moon over the sea. Gail made us feel at home and provided a healthy fruit breakfast. If we can, we will be back. As the Villa is built on the face of a cliff, one needs to climb a few stairs to get to the room or pool.

Room Tip: No kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASR777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

My friend and I stayed here in July 2011, it was great. The owner is a very caring and hospitable lady. And the estate was amazing, image waking up in your bedroom with the window facing the sunrise!

Justin

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justino_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

What a fabulous surprise! We are frequent visitors to the Cairns Beaches but had never tried a b&b option before as we like our independence. Avilla Gail offers ensuite apartments with 5* views with a fab breakfast provided for the guests to enjoy at their leisure. The rooms are not modern but don't let that put you off. They are clean, fresh and very functional. It's at the top of a steep hill so you will need a car or a donkey but the views are worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

What a fabulous surprise! We are frequent visitors to the Cairns Beaches but had never tried a b&b option before as we like our independence. Avilla Gail offers ensuite apartments with 5* views with a fab breakfast provided for the guests to enjoy at their leisure. The rooms are not modern but don't let that put you off. They are clean, fresh and very functional. It's at the top of a steep hill so you will need a car or a donkey but the views are worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Loved eveything. Gail was extremely helpful with transportation, restaurants and tours. Fabulous location, what more can I say but thank you Gail, we enjoyed your hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerreakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorkeys Knob
0.5 mi away
Villa Marine
Villa Marine
#1 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
7.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.7 mi away
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort
Golden Sands Beachfront Resort
#2 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cairns Beach Resort
Cairns Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Holloways Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Villa Gail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Villa Gail

Property: A Villa Gail
Address: 36 Janett St, Yorkeys Knob, Queensland 4878, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Yorkeys Knob
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Yorkeys Knob
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — A Villa Gail 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your A Villa Gail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Villa Gail Yorkeys Knob, Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing