We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Argentinian hospitality at its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cerro Del Valle Hotel Rustico
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly Argentinian hospitality at its best!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night after visiting Valle de la Luna and wished we could have stayed longer! The place is absolutely amazing, the room super clean and nice and quiet. There's even a stereo for your iPhone to listen to music. The owners are very friendly and they give you a warm welcome when you arrive. There's plenty of things to do in that area but if you wanna unwind after your day trip, the place offers a beautiful garden with olive trees, garden chairs and a swimming pool, just awesome!

Their breakfast is by far the best we had in Argentina, not to mention the coffee! They offered home made bread, fresh fruit, home made jam and much more!

To sum up, this place exceeded our expectations and we would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prapbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    39
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
138
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

San Agustin del Valle Fertil is the closest place if you want to visit the national parks Talampaya and Ischigualasto. It is a small town and when we found the hotel, we were positively surprised about the warm welcome by the owners Marisa and Mario and also about the nice and well-equipped room we got for our two-night-stay. Unfortunately the weather was not too good, so we could not use the pool or the garden. Because we also had a car accident, we got so much help from Mario and his wife and without them it would not have been possible to solve our problems. Whatever we asked for, we always got friendly support or information. They also know the region obviously very well and could give use useful recommendations where to go and what to do. All in all, we enjoyed our stay there very much and, as we are travelling quite often, we would be happy if we would get such a personal and friendly service everywhere like we got from Mario and Marisa. If you come to San Agustin, stay there in the Hotel Cerro del Valle Rustico.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobby004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

After 200km of driving across barren desert encountering nothing more than the occasional tiny settlement our expectations were not high. How wrong could we be?

St Agustin did not look much as we entered the town. A petrol garage, a coach having its tyre changed, a roadside cafe, some single storey dwellings, and the usual run of stray dogs. Our B&B took some tracking down on account of the fact the owner had taken down the signs for repainting, but when we turned in to Cerro del Valle Hotel Rustico, we were in for a pleasant surprise. We were met by Mario, the owner, who showed us to our room. It was possibly the cleanest room we have stayed in during this holiday and Mario had made all the furniture himself. This included the beds, the table, the chairs, and the light fittings. Moreover the price was very reasonable ($80US), and Mario could not have been more helpful in offering us advice, giving us directions, making suggestions for the next day and so on. His breakfasts, too, were excellent, including fresh baked bread, a selection of fruit and good tea and coffee. There was a guest swimming pool which we did not get the opportunity to try, although like everywhere else it looked very clean.

On Mario's recommendation we ate at the roadside cafe opposite the gas station. Once again appearances were misleading. We had the best steak we had ever eaten, and the creme caramel desert was delightful. Mario's advice to order only one steak between us was spot on. It was huge, at 750gms more than enough to feed a family of four. Washed down with a great bottle of Malbec, and with change from $20US, it was the best value, best tasting meal we had enjoyed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AandAKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Hotel Rustica is well located to explore the parks of San Juan, Argentina including Ischigualasto/Talampaya. The parks are about an hour away and accessible via bus (the nearby bus station is not a deterrent) but also by car. Don't miss the rock/mineral museum on the way.
The rooms were really comfortable and well equipped with travel luxuries including a good stereo.
The owners were enormously helpful, knowledgeable about the country, engaging, smart and honest. They generously accommodated our needs on many counts, including late departure, travel suggestions, and navigating the phone system for bookings elsewhere. The swimming pool and garden were an oasis in town which we needed after a scorching day in the parks.
As passionate defenders of both human rights and the environment, the owners Marissa and Mario were a wonderful and unexpected addition to our travel experience. People like them anchor the earth!
Diane and Paul (Canada)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeDCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
400 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

A lovely boutique hotel with the nicest owners I have met in years. Perfect location to explore Ischigualasto and Talampaya, and certainly the only quality place around: Great rooms, spacious and with self-made furniture, quiet with breakfast in the garden near the pool (unless you want to stay by yourself).

It’s easy to arrive here as the Hotel Rustico is just next to the central plaza and the bus station (don’t worry, there is no noise spilling over). But you might well come by car to make your way to the National Parks that are just an hour away. San Augustí is not recommended in many travel guides, and in fact there is not much to do or see here. Even better to have the Hotel Rustico where you get all the good tips you need, great breakfast and we even had a joint dinner on 31 December, which was lovely.

The owner couple, Marisa and Mario, is originally from San Juan and they manage their little hotel with their souls – and with competence. As the village has not much to offer, it’s even more important to have a comfortable place to spend an afternoon or evening. The large rooms and the garden with a pool are just perfect for a rest and to meet other guests. The owners give great tips what to do and have even arranged a park tour for other guests on 1 January (as they seem to know the right people).

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the garden, but two also the parking which I probably would recommend not to ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanDiversity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Our time in san agustin was greatly enhanced by Mario and marrisa at hotel rustico. They were friendly and helpful, offering great advice on tours, restaurants and activities. The room was cosy and clean , the bed very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

It's a small hotel, run by the owners. The rooms are large and there is a very nice, quiet, green garden, where you can relax and where you get a wonderful breakfast, not to forget the well maintained swimming pool. The regional park Valle de la Luna is not far away and really worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfredSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Agustin del Valle Fertil hotels
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Valle Fertil
Hosteria Valle Fertil
#2 of 2 in San Agustin del Valle Fertil
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Valle de la Luna
Hostel Valle de la Luna
#5 of 17 in San Agustin del Valle Fertil
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
C&C Apart Hotel
C&C Apart Hotel
#4 of 17 in San Agustin del Valle Fertil
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Finca La Media Luna
Finca La Media Luna
#1 of 4 in San Agustin del Valle Fertil
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Cabanas y Hotel Ebemys
#3 of 4 in San Agustin del Valle Fertil
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Luna del Valle
Hotel Rural Luna del Valle
#8 of 17 in San Agustin del Valle Fertil
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Del Valle Hotel Rustico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Del Valle Hotel Rustico

Property: Cerro Del Valle Hotel Rustico
Address: Santa Fe entre Mza y Entre Rios, San Agustin del Valle Fertil, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of San Juan > San Agustin del Valle Fertil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Agustin del Valle Fertil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerro Del Valle Hotel Rustico 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cerro Del Valle Hotel Rustico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Del Valle Hotel Rustico San Agustin Del Valle Fertil, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing