We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Knowsley
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed 5.12.12

I seem to be spending the majority of my weekdays at Holiday Inns at the moment. When I see I'm booked into an Express Hotel my heart does sink a bit. However the staff here have more than made up for things. Warm and friendly welcome, a smoking room so that I dont have to stand outside in the cold sucking on a roll up with nipples like chapel hat pegs and they offered to sort out some breakfast half an hour before the officially start serving because I have to leave early. Frankly I wouldn't be happier if you covered me in honey and threw me to the lesbians.

Free internet and parking as well!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    115
    96
    30
    19
See reviews for
80
71
24
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I agree with some previous favourable comments, staff were helpful and friendly, if at times coping under pressure, as in the over-full breakfast room at the weekend I was there.
The room and bed, were average, reasonably comfortable.
However, coming to the hotel after a 250 miles drive on a Friday, was made more difficult by inadequate signage from a major roundabout to the access which is along a service road into the surrounding business park.

Beware, if you visit at a weekend. All that was on offer for an evening meal was a takeaway. I was shown a menu for either a Chinese meal or an Indian meal, which was then ordered by a member of staff on the telephone. A wait of 45 minutes followed.
This, despite the hotel advertising on its website that it has a restaurant, and is still doing so without qualification.
My e-mail detailing my complaint ( advised to do so by staff on duty at the time), plus a further letter to Holiday Inn Customer Services, to date , remain unanswered.
Next time in the area I shall return to the Premier Inn; comfortable, friendly, and with a fully functioning restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed one night last weekend, found the hotel very clean and the staff were all cheerful and polite
Breakfast was busy, but well stocked with food continually being replenished.
Check in and out was super quick, will definitely choose to stay here again- great service- great value, great find.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanexhi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear John J, Many thanks for your review of our Hotel, it's always a delight to hear our Guests have enjoyed their stay with us, we encourage feedback from our Guest's to maintain our customer satisfaction which is our upmost priority. I do hope if your in Liverpool in the future you would choose to stay at Holiday Inn Express Knowsley once again.

Many thanks

Susan O'Boyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.Abondance
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed one night here, having travelled far we were very tired, we found tbe staff to be excellent, not wanting to go out to eat, they offered to order us a take away and also supplied the plates and forks, they couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were what we expected, clean and inviting, the only fault are the pillows, they could have been softer.

The breakfast had plenty of choice, typical of a buffet.

Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlynnf50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanexhi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Mlynnf50

Thankyou for taking the time to share your review with us, I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay & our Staff were helpful. Thanks for your feedback about our pillows, we will look into this as we offer both a firm and soft choice of pillows.
We look forward to welcoming you back into our Hotel in the future should you be visiting the area again.

Thank You

Susa O'Boyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

As Holiday Inn Express hotels go id say this one offers pretty good value for money, having only paid £32.50 for a Thursday night.

Unlike a lot of express's the room was much bigger, walk in shower rather than the tiny shower cubicle in others, bathroom was much bigger in general. The bed was very comfortable, big flat screen tv on the wall.

Staff very pleasant, the bar looked busy when I checked in and offered a basic dinner service which I didnt try but the breakfast was the usual express standard, basic but free.

Plenty of car parking but difficult to find your way into if its your first time here, it enters via the Knowsley Business Park off the A580 or a roundabout at the back. Its quite a bit out of the city if you dont drive

Id recommend and will use again for business at these rates.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is about what s expected for the money.We booked a living social deal which included a family room with free child entry to the safari park. We were kept awake until 4am by the same people slamming doors running up and down corridors and screaming and shouting.Our 3 yr old was crying she was so scared.Despite one trip to reception and 3 phonecalls nothing was done. After 3 hours sleep and a cold breakfast we complained whilst checking out and were assured the situation would be looked into by Susan the General Manager.Since that time Susan has been strangely unavailable apart from a conversation today where she stated there was nothing she could do and shes not bothered if it stops us staying at other holiday inns as thet are franchises!
Oh and the safari was ruined as the kids were to tired.
At a time when businesses are struggling and people have limited money for treats should customer service not be paramount?

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanexhi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Kiz36

Thank you very much for your comments and your feedback. It is only by receiving feedback that we are able to improve our standards or product and service.
As you will see by the other comments, our feedback is normally of a very high standard and I can only apologise that your experience with us was disappointing.We take these issues seriously, and sincerely regret we did not meet your expectations.

Kind Regards
Susan O'Boyle

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Knowsley hotels

England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked here through a living social deal (£39). I have a feeling that due to this cheap rate we may have been given a slightly poorer room. We were in 119, which was right next to the stairwell so u could hear noisy people banging their way up the stairs. The door at the top of te stairwell would bang that loudly it was as if our room door was opening and slamming shut. That said I had my ear plugs so once in bed and ready for sleep this wasn't too much of an issue for me and my partner is a heavy sleeper. Very quick check in and check out. Plenty of parking. We spent te day in Liverpool first then checked in around 6pm. There is a showcase cinema a couple of miles down the road along with frankie & bennies & KFC. Breakfast was adequate. There was not much room when we went down - everyone else must have had the same idea!! Breakfast self service area got overcrowded quickly. We stayed here for the handiness to the safari park, which it was. Room was clean and sufficient so can't really ask for much else for the price. Just thought I would mention the door banging in case the management see this so they could perhaps fix this issue out for future guests.

Room Tip: One to near a stairwell
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loopyloz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanexhi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Loopyloz283

Thank You for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, It is always a pleasure to read our Guest comments, and we appreiciate all comments, I do hope your Family had a great day at the Safari Park & in Livepool City Centre.
Thanks for your note in regards to the door banging - We are addressing this issue to prevent any future disturbance to our Guests.
We hope you welcome you back into our Hotel in the future.
Kind Regards

Susan O'Boyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley
Address: Ribblers Lane, Knowsley L34 9HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Knowsley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Knowsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers all the comforts associated with the Holiday Inn Express brand: contemporary style and facilities & services to meet the needs of today's business and leisure guests. A total of 86 non smoking well appointed bedrooms to choose from and rooms for the physically challenged. All rooms have Free High Speed Internet Access, Modem points, Power showers, Direct dial telephone, 26'' LCD Remote control television with Freeview, In-room complimentary tea and coffee,Hairdryers & Priority Rewards Programme.Many rooms have sleeper sofa's capable of accommodating additional guests and children. The Great Room offers the ideal place to relax and enjoy a drink from the bar & a meal from our restaurant. A complimentary continental breakfast inclusive of selected hot breakfast items is available in the Great Room, together with a free daily newspaper. A choice of 4 modern, fully equipped meeting rooms are available for up to 40 delegates. A warm and friendly welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, IHG, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley Hotel Knowsley
Holiday Inn Express Knowsley
Holiday Inn Liverpool
Knowsley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Knowsley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing