We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coooooool place”
Review of Simha Farms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Simha Farms
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
“Coooooool place”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Simha Farms is a amazing place with all variety, lots of greenary, calm and beautiful place. enjoyed completely. one of the best Home stays. its very near to kodachaadri... we spent more time playing all varienties of games..foood is also very good... (Only veg :)) Go ahead u will like it :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pradeep82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked 2 cottages for 2 families and we enjoyed our stay there during christmas long weekend.
The greenery all around the cottage (village hut kinds), helped us relaxing from our daily busy and hectic city routine. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all awesome, simple but tasty food.
Aditya, Simha Farms owner, had arranged a jeep for us to see the sunset at kodachadri peak, going through the jeep was an amazing experience, as there was no road at all.
In the cottage, they have these old method of heating the water, using wood fire, and we were happy to have hot water bath after returning from kodachadri peak.
In the farm itself, you can spend a day atleast doing many activities. We had to cut short our trip to 2 nights (initially 3 night planned), so we couldn't spend much time in farm, but it was nice whatever time we had there. Aditya and family were very welcoming and accomodating, and we were treated like guests.
I would recommend anyone going towards kodachadri, staying at this place.
We had stayed here, and visited to murudeshwar and maravanthe beach and back here in the night.
A few suggestion to Aditya, Simha Farms -
(1) They can have some "lakshman rekha" or something like that on the walls of the room, as sometimes, ants come. Not much of a problem, but still this solution can work well.
(2) A few boards (signages) on the road towards the farm, so as to help people coming to form and can't read local marking boards.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

On our recent trip to Mookambika Temple we needed a place for an overnight stay - and hit upon Simha Resorts.The website itself was so alluring,done with so much care and detail..
The stay was excellent - The Villa was more than comfortable for our family of 4..
The outstanding Malnad cuisine served only added to the awesome setting - lush greenery all round ..The sculptures very meticulously crafted by Udaya Simha are to be seen to be believed..
Wish we had time for another night stay..will go back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustangcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We were in Simha farms because we were returning from Udipi and wanted to visit Kodachaadri before we headed back. Kodachaadri has always been a favorite haunt of mine since ages. I've trekked on it a few times and have enjoyed the experience each time. But I wanted to go with my family this time, my wife and sons(5 and 2 years). We chose to stay in Simha farms and it was a choice we've come to relish. WE stayed there for two nights and three days. The first day we went to a barrage landing on Sharavthi backwaters. The second day we went to Kodachaadri and the third we hung around the farm, before leaving early for the day.

Personally, I liked the stay in this place because of multiple reasons:
- I liked the farm environment and the amount of greenery you see in the farm.
- Respected Shri Simha's sculptures are amazing art work that can tend to amuse the kids and interest the adults.
- Shri Aditya's wildlife photography was amazing too.
- Customizing the food to our tastes was also very important to us (since we had gone with two kids and we did not want anything spicy for them) and it was done very well.
- The cottages have the old method of heating through firewood (through what is called as hande in Kannada) and this retains the heat of the water for a long time. So when we came back from Kodachaadri, dipping our feet in hot water was relieving.
- Shri Aditya's contacts and influence in the surrouding ensured we got a very good guide and this was extremely helpful. He carried our 2 year old son throughout the 12 km trek.
- You should also try out any local produce (like red rice or organic honey) if available in the farm.

Post the trip I have recommended Simha farms to many people and all of them have thanked me.

Room Tip: if you have more people, choose the dormitory
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinaybv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Simha Farms located close to Kodachadri Hills is an awesome place for a weekend getaway from
Buzzing crowd & streets of metropol...., The place is in amidst of a Lush Farm with lot of Art & Sculpture designed by Mr. Udaya Simha the Pride owner of Simha Farms..

Food is great... for a veggie its a delight with Malnad Cuisine. People who would like to have Non-Veg will not be let out as they would order it from outside... its same even for some good chilled beer or on the rocks !!!!..

Rooms are very spick & span with all facilities... they have 2 cottages, One Huge Villa, A big Dormitory which has around 16 beds, if someone is planning for a corporate trip & off course some 5 to 6 Tent houses in the middle of the farm. Its an awesome place to stay especially during winter & monsoon... Beauty & Tranquil Place i would say.....

Regards
Suhaas.CS

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuhaasCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Simha farms is one of the best home stays I have visited. It is located at a very good location close to kodachadri hill, hidilumane falls and the hosanagara fort where the a song from Kannada movie GAALIPATHA was shot. The Simha farms is very special in all aspects right from the heritage kind of accomodation to the services available. They have cottages with the classy touch of tiles instead of the normal RCC. This makes you feel much closer to the nature. Not to forget the cottages are in the midst of thck farm. Food and hospitality tell you what exactly a home stay means. One can literally feel like being at home with the wonderful hospitality which they provide. You dont feel like being at a commercial place at all. The services they provide in terms of arranging jeeps and planning your trip be it to the kodachadri hills or hidlumane falls is also excellent. One need not worry about planning, all you need to do is just go and check-in :) They also cater to diffeernt tastes of people in terms of accomodation. They have cottages for couples, small tents which can accomodate 6-7 people, a dormitory which can accomodate around 20 people. They have also introduced a luxury cottage recently. All in all a very beautiful home stay (yes home stay is the right word instead of calling it a resort, because you feel like being at home) which you can visit without second thoughts. Given a chance and time I would love to visit Simha farms every year :) All credits to the sweet couple Adithya & Anusha who are running this home stay. I wish them a great success. All the very best.

~Anantha

Room Tip: Dont worry about the rooms, just walk-in :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnanthaJois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimoga
41.8 mi away
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
9.4 mi away
Hotel Mahalakshmi Residency
23.1 mi away
Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Wild Woods Spa and Resort
23.4 mi away
Sai Vishram Byndoor
Sai Vishram Byndoor
#1 of 1 in Paduvari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
41.4 mi away
Sri Mahalakshmi Residency
Sri Mahalakshmi Residency
#9 of 46 in Shimoga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simha Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simha Farms

Property: Simha Farms
Address: Simha Farms, Kodachadri, Nittur, Hosanagar, Shimoga 566452, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Shimoga District > Shimoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Shimoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simha Farms is specialty farm stay situated in the thick forests of western ghats. Equipped with cozy cottages and luxury villa, it offers an excellent stay near the foothills of Kodachadri. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Simha Farms Shimoga, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing