We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
186
73
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
186
73
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews packed lunch home away from home the main house home stay malnad cuisine the cottages places to visit hill top a wonderful stay sirimane falls methi nice garden every meal local delicacies sight seeing tourist spots one word
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 264 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2019

A beautiful property to visit.. very good hospitality well maintained place.. more importance given to cleanliness.. very tasty food with authentic malnad style.. we had an amazing experience.. a must visit place.. must appreciate the owner’s effort for maintaining this place so well..

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank MeghaC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2019

We were a big group of around 25 people and we eventually zeroed down on this homestay after evaluating around 10 to 12 other places. Well, hoping this review serves as a precursor for someone who's looking to pay a visit to this place anytime soon. This review is going to be very verbose and a prolonged one since I’d like to highlight every single experience we had out there.

1. Location - Poised exactly at the heart of Malnad region, the choice for the location of the home stay couldn't have been more precise. This place is around 15 to 20 minutes from Thirthahalli and serves as the perfect choice if you are looking to navigate to some major places around Thirthahalli such as Writer's Kuvempu's place , Kavuldurga fort , kavishaila and Bheemanakatte . All the said places are within the vicinity of 15 to 20 kms. Adding to it, this is situated in the midst of 10 acre lush green farm. The sere atmosphere and the scenic beauty is something to reckon with.

2. Stay and Hospitality - This is definitely worth a special highlight. We were treated more like their family members than like any other guests. It really seems like were more at our own house than at a homestay. We'd started our overnight drive from Bangalore at around 11 and we were expected to reach the place early morning around 8. But, thanks to our unusually empty roads on a late night drive - We landed up at the place quite sooner than expected at odd early morning hours. A sincere acknowledgment to Arpita mam and her team - We were welcomed without a word of dissent and the rooms and breakfast was ready within a Jiffy!

3. Cleanliness and Hygiene - Have nothing to complain here absolutely. Since we were around 25, the entire homestay was occupied by us. All the Rooms were neat and tidy. Each bed had a separate charging port. Due care was given to the hygiene and there was 24 hours hot water supply.

4. Food - This was the best part of our visit! We were served with authentic Malnad special dishes for every meal and our team loved it the most. You can place a special request if you need something particular and you rarely get a no for that! You need to inform them well in advance if you need something extra for your evening snacks since they've to fetch the required groceries from the nearby town. The quality of the food and the taste was truly worth cherishing.

5. Price - Since we were around 25, we were offered a comparatively competitive price and i must tell it was worth every single penny! The price that we paid was truly a value for money considering the comforts, food and the treatment we were subjected to.

6. In-house ambience: The place has a very unique set up. The wooden pillars and the heavy teak wood doors reminds us of typical Malnad region ambience with a huge outhouse. This was a different experience compared to our usual tiny balconies and penthouses.

Areas for improvement – In order to cater to the guests who’d prefer to spend their entire time at the home stay, I’d suggest the management could consider getting in some more fun recreational activities which ensures that the guests are kept engaged within the home stay.
Overall experience - Definitely a must visit place if you are touring in and around Shimoga and Thirthahalli. Special mention to their employee Pratap who made sure that he attended to all needs and queries. It really felt like a Home away from home and I’m sure our next visit is not too far away.
If you are looking to pay a visit here, do it right away without any second thought. I’m sure you will be up for a very pleasant off city experience.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prashanth_aradhya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

This home stay is located in a great area. The food served at the home stay is FABULOUS. But the cottages are POORLY maintained. Though very light on the pocket in terms of the stay costing but the apparent disinterest on the part of the home stay owners to keep the cottages SPICK & SPAN is a dampener. They are extremely friendly but the lack of interest to do the basic upkeep of the cottages is just not on! Best to AVOID the place if you are bothered about cleanliness.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank TigerRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019

We had a wonderful stay in the Bananki Homestay...The rooms are clean and spacious.The food is great. We enjoyed varieties of typical malnad food.The hosts and staff are very hospitable. The homestay is situated amidst plantations and surrounded by beautiful flowering plants. A nice place for relaxation and also for visits to nearby attractions like kuvempu's house & memorial, Kundadri etc. I would definetely revisit the place.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veenatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

AWESOME is the word which goes well for my stay at Bananki Homestay. The place is beautiful and there is abundance of peace out there. Food was simply delicious and the owners of the homestay make you feel like home with their simplicity and wonderful nature. I would love to visit this place again and again and would recommend to all those who aspire for a beautiful stay ably supported with awesome delicacies. All in all, a complete paisa vasool stay at Bananki Homestay.

Room tip: All rooms have good view and a nice layout though I opted for AC room but non-AC too is fine due to the cool weather
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhireshpoojary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews