We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "value for money place"”
Review of Bananki Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bananki Homestay
Ranked #1 of 21 Shimoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were a group of 12 and we travelled from Bangalore to thirthalli via chickmagalur. The road was not in the best condition. Bananki was however a very pleasant stay due to the below :
- the place is the same as it looks on the website !
- the family running the homestay is extremely friendly and hospitable
- place is clean and very well maintained
- the service boys are some of the best I have seen in quite some time
- arpita and her mother in law are great cooks ........ We were fed with some of the best malnad cuisine
- lot of good space to do morning and evening walks around the estate
- good advises from Arpita, Rachan & Mr Vijay (rachan's father) on the sightseeing and other details of the places around
- Arpita has eye for detail and is very very focused on client satisfaction. We had one infant in the group and the Bananki family was very accommodative

This is a place we would go back to again and also recommend to others

-dileep satya

Room Tip: - the bathroom in the 1st room inside the house has a ventilator on one side which is common to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DileepSatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 237 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

Service, food and hospitality everything is great in this homestay. We had a great time My family enjoyed a lot. Tasted all malnad delicious dishes.They have a beautiful estate and best place for the nature lovers

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ushathulasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

First of all we would like to thank Arpita, Rachan and their parents for the wonderful hospitality. We had a good time at your place.

The homestay is nice with a Lilly pond, swing and sitting area. The rooms are clean. The staff is eager to help, so is the host. The food is excellent. We were surprised to find that the host themselves make the food most of the time. The host take care to pack lunch if you are sight seeing and wont be able to make it back. Arpita and Rachan's father guided us accurately for all our sight seeing trips. We especially enjoyed talking to Rachan's father who would explain to us the significances and mythology related to many places around Thirthahalli.


We do not want to paint an all rosy picture. It is good to set the expectations right.

* The swimming pool is not functional. It is more like a waterfall / decoration arrangements.
* Power fluctuations can be expected. Nothing major, but sometimes power trips happen.
* The room inside the house on 1st floor does not have an attached bath. But there is an exclusive bath room which is accessed from outside the room. No big deal but we felt that room is more suitable for family with kids.

Room Tip: Initially we checked in to the room inside. The room is cozy and spacious. We preferred a bit more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anandvnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I like the service , food and the way they maintain such a huge property ..it is really appriciable.
I am going to visit it again ..
Especially thanks to Arpita , because of her I am able to make food for my 9 month old son.
Thank you Dear

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NamitaSathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stay at Bananki was excellent ... Arpitha and Rachan are perfect hosts ... very very friendly .... Hospitality , food, people, nature everything was extremely good.

The service is excellent, the boys working there are very friendly tooo ...

- Anitha

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnithaRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were thinking of a long drive during the early november long weekend (in Bangalore). We came across this homestay via travelmalnad.com. Our decision to go was done previous night so we were convinced that we may not get the best of places to stay and hesitantly we booked this place over the phone. I had previously been to a homestay in Coorg, which was in mid of the coffee estate. Considering my previous experience my expectation was quite low on homestays.
When we reached here after nearly 400KM drive from Bangalore and at a very first instance we realized that this was different place. The entire place was well maintained and the room was very clean, which we were very particular about. We observed that there was lot of "attention to detail" given in the room and in the bath rooms. We were initially thinking of staying for 1-2 night and then move to a good hotel, but ending up staying 3 nights as we were pretty much happy. The food was outstanding particularly the non-veg part.
We were trying to google for places around this resort, on our way from bangalore, but later found that it was not needed. Thanks for the hosts (Arpita / Rachan) we got a complete plan on how we need to spend our day trips.
Would recommend people to hire a local vehicle to really enjoy your day trips there (which is what we did). As the driver knew the place, it made the trip very efficient.
Only thing which was bothering was the low Airtel signal.
Overall a wonderful and quality vacation for us, and this resort exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GirishKamath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The place is great and of course stay. We had a very nice time in Bananki. Hospitality was awesome, food is great. People there are very accomodative. Arpitha and Rachan helped us a lot in driving directions.
The service is excellent, the boys working there are very helpful at any point of time.
Good place for week end with famliy.
Waiting for next trip and stay in Bananki :)

Manu

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manuhuskur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimoga
28 mi away
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
29.1 mi away
Green View Clarks Inn
Green View Clarks Inn
#2 of 7 in Shimoga
22 reviews
28.7 mi away
Hotel Jai Maata Grandeur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.1 mi away
Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls
0 mi away
Akash Inn Shimoga
Akash Inn Shimoga
#3 of 48 in Shimoga
61 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Highlands
The Highlands
#1 of 2 in Thirthahalli
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananki Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananki Homestay

Address: Devangi Post, Shimoga, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Shimoga District > Shimoga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Shimoga
Price Range: $33 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bananki Homestay Shimoga, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing