We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxation for a small group”
Review of Inchara Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inchara Homestay
Ranked #8 of 22 Shimoga B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a great place to go with a small group of friends or family. Tucked into the plantation with greenery all around and lots of places to just chill, relax, sleep, etc. It is actually a bird lovers paradise if you go in the correct season.
This is a place to just relax, eat, drink, sleep, go on nature walks, enjoy some badminton, TT, etc.
The food was awesome and so was the hospitality of the hosts-Mr. Ramesh and his wife. We stayed there for 2 nights and absolutely loved it.
If you are searching for luxury, this is not it however for nature, warm hospitality, great food, chilling out go there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chiknifaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a truly rustic laid back home stay for those of you who just wants to kickback for a weekend and just laze around. Note that this place does not score high in terms of comfort owing to some of the beds and pillows, which are rather hard as well as the bathrooms which don't seem necessarily top end. However for those who enjoy living in a slightly antique kinda place (reminding one of their ancestral homes) this will be a great experience. The hosts are particularly kind and pleasant to interact with whereas the staff are courteous. The space is generous and there are provisions to play badminton (there are three courts!), table tennis, basketball etc. For bird watchers there are excellent opportunities for that here since I was able to spot several varieties in a couple of days.

It's a large place capable of easily accommodating even 25 - 30 people over a weekend comfortably. It is located close to Mandagadde bird sanctuary and some of the other major attractions are an easy drive away from here. Highly recommended! :)

Room Tip: Selecting one of the farther independent rooms might prove helpful since you will be able to stay aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sidhu_911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have been to Shimoga and consider ourselves lucky as we choose inchara homestay for our 3 day accomodation.
Covered with full of greenery, 15 acres land with various plantations, to walk around their garden is a pleasant experience in itself. It's located just at the banks of River Tunga. The lush green scenery on route to reach the home stay too is so amazingly beautiful.
The property Owner Mr. A U Ramesh was very courteous and helpful. He helped us in planning our itinerary for 3 days and arranged for transportation as well. Once you reach their home stay you feel like home as the hosts really treat you that way. They do all the service with service motive and not at all commercial. We just didn't feel like leaving the place, we rather felt like skipping the tourist spots in order to spend more time in the home stay.
Still there is lot of room for development.
1. A T.V in each room would definitely be big plus.
2. There are 3 cats roaming around always which at times kind of disturbs you while u have your food by running in between your legs.
3. The Beds could be replaced with better ones and ceiling is lil dirty , which definitely can be improved.

But amidst couple of flaws, i enjoyed my stay there and given a choice i would definitely prefer to visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms adjacent to Dinning space is avoidable, rest all the room are really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cerebral007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Inchara for 2 nights. We had booked 2 rooms which were away from the main property. The place is absolutely beautiful and surrounded by a plantation of Mango, jack fruit ,flowers and potted bonsai plants.

The owner Mr. Ramesh and his wife were warm, hospitable and courteous. We loved the simple home made food especially the neer dosa, akki roti, and country chicken.

The rooms were basic and clean. The only issue was with the pillows which were hard as stone. The rooms didn't have television but then you don't need one when you are in a place like Inchara.

I would recommend Inchara for people who are looking for a break from the hustle bustle of city life and need a quite place to relax and enjoy the simpler things of life. The place is an absolute value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abhishekshukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I with my family stayed here for 4 days. This was our first stay in Inchara. Beginning with Mr & Mrs. Ramesh to Sujatha and Susheela, they are very courteous. We liked the stay there and planning to visit as and when we go. There is ample space for parking the vehicles for guests.

My daughter enjoyed the stay there playing with kittens, Badminton, Cards, table tennis and took photographs as many as she needed. Sport items are available there for the guests to make use of them. Couple of swings tied to the tree are also there.

Food was good & tasty. Specially, Akki Roti, Mango Chatney (Sweet), Kadabu, Neer Dosa and of-course Coffee and Tea. Unfortunately, we (My family and I) don't eat Garlic which was the most difficult times we had during Lunch and Dinner. However, Sujatha and Susheela were very co-operative and changed the method of cooking when we said, we don't.

The entire team was good to us throughout our stay and available all the time. Their treatment to the guest is appreciable. Mr.Ramesh shared his future plan of constructing swimming pool which is a good thought and hopefully he will speed up the plan before our next visit. The only problem there is that of Electricity. My suggestions to Mr.Ramesh is that to think of this very seriously and have the best alternative.

Also, if Television is made available in each cottage, then it will add to the existing comfort reason being as of now there is one TV which needs to be shared and may be disturbing to the other guests staying around the place where this is installed.

Room Tip: Corner suites are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sudheendra_bn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I zeroed on Inchara after a lot of googling and my first hand experience with Mr.Ramesh on phone was good enough to know that we were in good hands. The place is rustic and raw. nature at its best. It is a 15 acre estate plantation of arcaenut, Mango, jackfruit and a milion variety of flowers. The weekend was a family outing of 5 members, my parents, sister, husband and I.

We had booked 2 rooms and they were super clean. The food was homely and delicious. Mr & Mrs. Ramesh were always there to help. I have to specially mention the staff Sujatha and Susheela who cooked for us and cared for us. Extremely helpful staff and very courteous.

There are so many places to see around and so many activities to do inside the estate but i just chose to relax on the jhoola and hammoks :) I recommend this place to everyone. Truly worth every penny.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main house are the best though all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShwethaJadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I travelled alone to Shimoga for a weekend and this stay proved to be the best choice for a holiday. The property is set amidst plantations and forests with its own little streams, ponds and arches. Gorgeous cottages with all amenities, very reasonable tariff and home cooked meals add to its charm. Since I was a solo woman traveller, I could also arrange for a convenient and trusted cab service to see attractions in and around Shimoga and Sagar. The owners and staff are extremely caring, polite and the service is great. This place is ideal for nature lovers, wilderness photography and leisure tourist travel for groups of friends/colleagues. I shall definitely be heading back there as soon as I get time on my hands!

Room Tip: Depending upon the number of people, you can choose between larger rooms with more beds or quaint on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nam_gypseagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimoga
0 mi away
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
0 mi away
Green View Clarks Inn
Green View Clarks Inn
#2 of 7 in Shimoga
23 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Jai Maata Grandeur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls
0 mi away
Stay @ Matthuga
Stay @ Matthuga
#2 of 2 in Talavata
163 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Sanman Lodge
Hotel Sanman Lodge
#11 of 22 in Shimoga
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inchara Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchara Homestay

Address: Mandagadde Post,, Shimoga 577220, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Shimoga District > Shimoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Shimoga
Price Range: $71 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Inchara Homestay Shimoga, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing