We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Shimoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Best place in Shimoga.The rooms are top notch. The restaurants have a good ambiance and the food tastes good too. The prices in the restaurant are a touch expensive but not by much.
The breakfast buffet is good and has an extensive spread.

However the toilets do not have a bucket and mug. I dont think there is a high percentage of Indians who shower eveyday :) When we requested, the housekeeping brought one which was pathetic. So maybe the management can have a few new/good ones stocked up for guests who request for them.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sid098in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear your appreciation for all aspects of services and product in general on offer.I have also made a note of your observation about the washrooms and the matter has been taken up seriously with all concerned for correction.

It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have pleasant experience during their stay and we assure you that due diligence has been given to your observation.

Once again thanking you for the encouraging feed back and we look forward to welcoming you back at Royal Orchid central, Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 495 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We got a good deal in one of the coupon sites for this hotel and so decided to go to Shimoga to visit Jog falls and other surrounding areas. We were a family of 4 (me, wife, 2 kids). Stayed for 2 nights in this hotel.

For what we paid this is a good "value for money" hotel. Central location, easy access to site seeing places, courteous staff, neat rooms with clean linens are all positives. Breakfast and lunch buffet are elaborate too. Dinner is a-la-carte and has very limited options though - in both restaurants and pricey too.

Only hiccup we had was with room dining service - where we ordered something from the menu and what we got was completely different. On asking the room dining service manager about it - he tried to cover up saying what they served is indeed a variation of what is written in the menu. On further demanding to talk to his boss the head chef apologized for the goof-up and offered some complimentary stuff. This left a bad taste in an otherwise overall good stay at this hotel.

Only other thing we felt missing was any options for entertainment - like pool tables, TT, swimming pool (pool is under construction right now apparently).

Overall good value for money..

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Prabhueswara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying with us and taking out the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. It was really good to know that you were happy with our services and product in general on offer.

I have also made a note of your not so good experience with in room dinning food and regret the inconvenience caused.Please accept our most sincere and heartfelt apologies for not being able to completely satisfy you on this aspect of our services however we have taken it very seriously and we are in process of putting up better system in place to avoid the recurrence of the issue.

Once again thanking you for the feed back and we look forward to welcoming you back at Royal Orchid central, Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This Hotel provides a better Alternative option other than Jewel-Rock for holdinf Business-Class meetings in Shimoga. The Hotel Staff have been accomodative, Reasonabl Tariff with an Added tag of Proffessionalism is a Hallmark, I have seen in this Hotel.
We have done around 5 Business meets in the past 3 years.. Quiet good Bangquet managers....Mr .Praveen & team have done an effective job in getting our Customers satisfied & Delighted......

Room Tip: Plan well in Advance, so that U get a desired Occupancy or hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lokesh kumar r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear your appreciation for all aspects of services and product in general on offer.

It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have pleasant experience during their stay or celebrating any special occasion with us and reviews like yours encourage us to walk that extra mile in creating delights for them.

Once again thanking you for the encouraging feed back and we look forward to welcoming you back and hosting your future events at Royal Orchid central, Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Royal Orchid, Shimoga is undoubtedly the best option to stay in Shimoga. Stayed there for 1 night and the experience was excellent.

I came to know about this hotel through a friend who is from Shimoga. The photos were awesome and booked it for one night when I was travelling to Shimoga. The entire experience, right from booking to check-in to check-out was good.

It is a new property and is maintained very well. The lobby, rooms and aisle are very spacious. Rooms are well appointed and furnished with good themes. Staff was courteous and offered food service. Food was also great and we enjoyed it.

I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is planned to stay over in Shimoga.

Room Tip: Booking online might get you a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gopikrishna_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear your appreciation for all aspects of services and product in general on offer.

It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable stay with us and reviews like yours encourage us to walk that extra mile in creating delight for our esteemed guests.

Once again thanking you for your feed back and we look forward to welcoming you back at Royal Orchid central, Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Royal Orchid group has brought in a new dimension to hospitality to this city, hitherto people had to settle for hotels like Jewel Rock etc. The hotel located centrally is walking distance from the main bus stand. The rooms though not big are well maintained and neat & clean. The rooms are equipped with a coffee maker, small fridge with the mini bar. The hotel has 3 options for dining having tried the Mix Bar which is not a great shake but fairly good fro a place like Shimoga and the multi cuisine restaurant Pinxx which serves variety of food but nothing extra ordinary taste. The breaksfast was included in the room package and the buffet spread was a good mix of variety of food, but again the food was ok type. They do have another restaurant called Tiger Trail. The hotel has a good parking space for cars. Check in and check out were speedy and the staff were attentive to the needs and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranjalrajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear your appreciation for all aspects of services and product in general on offer.I have also made a note of your feedback about the food and we will definitely work on it to exceed your expectation during future visits.

It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable stay with us and reviews like yours encourage us to walk that extra mile in creating delight for our esteemed guests.

Once again thanking you for your feed back and we look forward to welcoming you back at Royal Orchid central, Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

In a small town like Shimoga, its a delight to find an international chain hotel. And they have more than maintained the international standards. Food all through was great. Room rate is great value. But, the room is not as big as one would expect and is cluttered. Whats really amazing is however, the staff. Really hardworking. Really positive. Really friendly.

Room Tip: Does not have gym. Does not have a lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear your appreciation for all aspects of services and product in general on offer.

It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable stay with us and reviews like yours encourage us to walk that extra mile in creating delight for our esteemed guests.I will share your feed back with the team and I am sure it will be a good motivation for them.

Once again thanking you for your feed back and we look forward to welcoming you back at Royal Orchid central, Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Agoda provided me a really good rate and at that price this hotel was a great value for money. Positives - Attentive and helpful staff, fairly decent food spread, good internet connection Negatives - Free internet connection only for one device.Ideally it should be 2. Not flexible on late checkout. Unnecessary bathtub in bathroom makes it cramped

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ixigo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear your appreciation for all aspects of services and product in general on offer.

It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable stay with us and reviews like yours encourage us to walk that extra mile in creating delight for our esteemed guests.

Once again thanking you for your feed back and we look forward to welcoming you back at Royal Orchid central, Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimoga hotels
1 mi away
Green View Clarks Inn
Green View Clarks Inn
#2 of 7 in Shimoga
22 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Jai Maata Grandeur
55.6 mi away
Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Akash Inn Shimoga
Akash Inn Shimoga
#3 of 48 in Shimoga
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sanman Lodge
Hotel Sanman Lodge
#12 of 21 in Shimoga
8 reviews
0 mi away
Mathura Central
Mathura Central
#17 of 48 in Shimoga
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga

Address: B H Road, Opposite Vinayak Theatre | BH Road, Shimoga 577201, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Shimoga District > Shimoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Shimoga
Price Range: $41 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing