We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Shimoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very comfortable, international-standards hotel with a good selection of restaurants. It's probably the only hotel with urban, 4-star comfort in this relatively remote region. We stayed here for about 3 nights and found it to be a pleasant hotel to return to.

Staff were very polite and helpful.

Good choice of restaurants which were pretty good value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It was good to know that you were happy with our services.

It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable stay with us and reviews like yours encourage us to walk that extra mile in creating delight for our esteemed guests.

Once again thanking you for your feed back and we look forward to welcoming you back at Royal Orchid central, Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 495 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is located at a walking distance from the bus stand and on the bustling BH road. The surrounding marketplace has rare options to offer either for shopping or eating-out. The rooms were spacious and well maintained. We stayed in the hotel for 2N/3D and spent most of the time outdoors and so the staff interactions were very limited. Complimentary buffet breakfast spread was good. For a small town like Shimoga, the dinner buffet though seems overpriced both for guests staying in the hotel or outsiders. All said and done, this hotel seems to be the best stay option available in Shimoga though a tad overpriced and does not live up to the Royal Orchid brand name.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayanoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It was good to know that you liked our rooms and buffet breakfast at the Hotel.We have also made a note of your feedback about the pricing. Though we always try to ensure that our guests are getting good value for money spent but will re look at this aspect and definitely improve on it.

It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable and hassle free stay with us and we do understand how you would have felt on this account.Please be rest assured that we have taken your feedback with our utmost importance and we are committed to improve the quality of our services.

It will be my personal privilege to make your next visit's arrangement and welcome you back to Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga.


Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed there for a night on my way from hassan to pune. the room(206) is ok bult the bathroom fittings are falling off and the flooring needs a replacement.

As for the food , its ok. we ordered room service . Soup was cold and so was the main course and insted of a veg pasta was served a chicken pasta . Grilled fish turned out to be deepfried and cold. bad .....

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiraji1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

At the outset please accept my most sincere and heartfelt apologies for not being able to live up to your expectation and the standard Royal Orchid Hotels are renowned for.

I have raised each of the points right from the loose fittings to the food served in the room with my concerned teams. We will ensure that corrective action is taken in areas where we faltered in service and prevent similar situation from re-occurring again in the future.

It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable and hassle free stay with us and we do understand how you would have felt on this account.Please be rest assured that we have taken your feedback with our utmost importance and we are committed to improve the quality of our services.

It will be my personal privilege to make your next visit's arrangement and welcome you back to Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga.


Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was here over a weekend last month for an event and to visit Jog falls
The hotel is located in the centre of this dusty bustling town and is easy to locate
Rooms are clean, comfortable and fairly large in size.
The food is not quite upto the mark as is the service and the staff could do with training at The Royal Orchid's bigger City hotels.
Still with the limited choice in Shimoga, this is the only place to stay when visiting Shimoga
.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main road facing the side or the back of the hotel, since the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nina827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Madam,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

At the outset please accept my most sincere and heartfelt apologies for not being able to live up to your expectation and the standard Royal Orchid hotels are renowned for.

It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable and hassle free stay with us and we do understand how you would have felt on this account.Please be rest assured that we have taken your feedback with our utmost importance and we are committed to improve the quality of our services.

It will be my personal privilege to make your next visit's arrangement and welcome you back to Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga.


Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in September 2012 along with my wife for 3N/4D. The hotel is located in the heart of the town very near to the bus stand. The hotel is nicely done up and up to the mark. Though it may not fit into the bracket of other Royal Orchid Hotels that are in the metros , it still is an excellent place to stay in Shimoga. The rooms were spacious and very clean.The service was prompt most of the times, though it needs a little improvement. The food served at the coffee shop Pinxx was good. They were running Chinese food festival when we where there and the food during the festival was also good. However, they have a restaurant by the name Tiger Trail which is open only during the evening hours. The food there was awesome and the service outstanding. One should try this restaurant out.The hotel arranged for our tour of Jog falls and other places nearby at a reasonable cost. The hotel reception was helpful in selecting places where we wanted to visit.
Overall we had a great visit to Shimoga courtesy Royal orchid and recommend this hotel to everyone travelling to Shimoga.

Room Tip: Rooms at higher floors are definitely better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holysmokerule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It was great to know that you were happy with most of our services and product on offer.

We have also made a note of your suggestion about the need of little improvement in our services and will take it up seriously with the team.Please accept my most sincere and heartfelt apologies for not being able to completely satisfy you on this aspect of our services. I will also be sharing your feed back with the team about Tiger Trail food and service and I am sure they will be motivated to give their best in creating delight for our esteemed guests.

Once again thanking you for your feed back and we look forward to welcoming you back at Royal Orchid central,Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was here for a weekend for an event and so there were a lot of us staying at the hotel. Although it is meant to be a business hotel catering to people coming to Shimoga for work it also works as an excellent base for exploring the surrounding region. We were there for leisure and from the looks of it, this is the best place to stay in town. The rooms were really nice and well appointed with all the modern amenities expected from a good hotel room. The size of the rooms were also very generous as there were a lot of us partying in the rooms. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The other thing is that if you arrive in town by bus (or vice versa), the main Shimoga bus stand is a 5 min walk from the hotel.
The only negative was that one person in our group's wallet was stolen from the room. To be fair it happened after a night of heavy drinking :) However, CCTV caught everything and the thief was subsequently caught and the wallet returned. This guy was also not on the hotel staff and was some random outsider. Just be sure to keep everything in the safe to be on the safe side.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It was great to know that you were happy with most of our services and product on offer.

We have also made a note of the unfortunate incident and want to reassure that we have all the latest technology available with us to efficiently handle and prevent any incidence of this nature. We also have a proper system to maintain the record of all visitors in the premises which helped us in nabbing the culprit. We are also planning to further improve our system to ensure that such incidents are not repeated again.

Once again thanking you for your feed back and we look forward to welcoming you back at Royal Orchid central,Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in January 2013 and found the room and food average for the price charged it is unfair. The Rooms need to be spruced up in terms of comfort (as in other Royal Orchid hotels in prime cities). I would not choose to stay again

Room Tip: Do ask for higher floor and front facing rooms as the side rooms do not have any good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdgidwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandan C, Manager at Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

At the outset please accept my most sincere and heartfelt apologies for not being able to live up to your expectation and the standard Royal Orchid hotels are renowned for.

It is our constant endeavor to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable and hassle free stay with us and we do understand how you would have felt on this account.Please be rest assured that we have taken your feedback with our utmost importance and we are committed to improve the quality of our services.

It will be my personal privilege to make your next visit's arrangement and welcome you back to Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga.

Regards,
Chandan Chaudhary
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimoga hotels
1 mi away
Green View Clarks Inn
Green View Clarks Inn
#2 of 7 in Shimoga
22 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Jai Maata Grandeur
55.6 mi away
Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Akash Inn Shimoga
Akash Inn Shimoga
#3 of 48 in Shimoga
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sanman Lodge
Hotel Sanman Lodge
#12 of 21 in Shimoga
8 reviews
0 mi away
Mathura Central
Mathura Central
#17 of 48 in Shimoga
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga

Address: B H Road, Opposite Vinayak Theatre | BH Road, Shimoga 577201, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Shimoga District > Shimoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Shimoga
Price Range: $41 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing